Does Pakistani journalist deserve freedom of press?

Well, actually Pakistani journalists are not looking for freedom of press, they are looking for freedom to lie and make money by selling lies in the name of journalism. After seeing Pakistani journalism during last few years, I feel that most Pakistani journalists do not have any sincerity or respectability. They are mostly bikao maal, ready to sell themselves and their right to journalism, to the highest bidder.

If some one make speech that A is pimp, B is SOB, C is murderer, and than media broadcast that, and broadcast that repeatedly (in such way that for masses, it seems that all those allegations are true), while media absolving the responsibility by saying that they are just transmitting/writing what is said, it is not their opinion, means that media do not deserve to have freedom. In west, if they would do that, they would get sued.

Abdul Rahman Yaqub is owner of ARY. Now suppose if anyone makes speech, where that person says that Abdul Rahman Yaqub is Pimp who stole money to start his business, obviously ARY would not broadcast that. Nevertheless, if any channel, in the name of free press, broadcast that, and broadcast that repeatedly, without any concern what impression that lies would leave amongst masses, means that such channel is not doing journalism, but abusing freedom of press, and thus do not deserve freedom to broadcast anything, rather their licensee should get cancelled.

I am sure that no one amongst people, even we all who are writing on this forum with imaginary name, would like that if it happens regarding them. It is easy to enjoy what does not concern a person, but same thing becomes nightmare, if others start doing that to oneself. Throughout media freedom in Pakistan, media only abused their freedom, that’s all.

When that woman, Sherry Rahman movie was shown on this forum, where she was abused by ex-speaker, her co-party compatriot, I felt bad, not because that I care for Sherry Rahman, but because Sherry Rahman was innocent there. Even though that movie was based on truth, what really happened was wrong, and Sherry Rahman was victim. To enjoy victim embarrassment to me was wrong. Suppose if any person abuse Sherry Rahman or any person with lies, how a person should think about that? Would it be right to spread that lies?

Now let see the behaviour of Pakistani media: Just imagine someone comes to me and tell me that my son ‘A’ stole his book. I call ‘A’ and asked him if he did steal the book. A tells me that, no he did not. I told ‘A’ that, son just tell the truth and return that book, I will see what I can do, still A tells me that he did not. Hence I stopped A in my room and send my other sons, ‘B’ and ‘C’, to check A’s room. I held ‘A’ with me so that if he did steal the book, he does not influence his brother B and C. If B and C finds that A is innocent, I can tell the people that alleged A that they are wrong. If that would happen, no one can say that I did anything wrong.

Same happened regarding CJ. Allegation came to President regarding CJ. President asked CJ if allegations are right, telling CJ that if it is right, do not worry as he could resign and would get accommodated. But CJ tells that he is innocent. Hence, President asked brother of CJ, (other judges) to find out the truth about allegations, while suspended CJ (as in above case, I held A with me), so that CJ could not influence other judge brothers. So, what happened, there is nothing wrong there. If CJ is innocent, nothing could happen to him.

But media taking advantage of freedom of press, tried to put entirely different story in front of the masses. They labelled reference against CJ as Malafied reference as if they know the intentions. Suspension of CJ was presented as sacking of CJ, though suspension is suspension and not sacking. Impression to masses was given that President initiated reference (a big lie and propaganda), rather media should have told true picture to the masses, that allegation was made against CJ not by president but outside sources, and what President did was sent that allegations as reference to other judges, to find out if those allegations are right or wrong.

Even when President told CJ that if he resigns he could still get accommodated, media gave impression to masses that President had bad intention when he offered alternative to CJ, when if media has to mention that, they should have told the masses that it shows that President is not against CJ in anyway and even if there is allegations against CJ, President is still willing to accommodate him.

Media insinuation that reference is because of CJ past judgment, again is misuse of media and trying to give wrong impression to masses, when media or anyone have no reason to assume that, as no one can know intentions. Well, if there was no substance in reference, then CJ would come out fine anyhow, hence Media had no right to assume, but should have just mentioned the causes of reference. If CJ lawyer had said that reference has malafied intentions, media could have cleared that, by telling the masses that CJ lawyer are saying that but they have no proof other then their assumptions.

Well, even about 12th May, media only shown one sided story. They did not showed any cross fire, though MQM released video plus even press footage shows that firing did not happened one sided, but it was cross fire. Well, just to balance what they shown on 12th May, they could have showed MQM released video about 12th May on Channel repeatedly too, to correct the impression, but they did not, showing that their reporting are bias and purpose was to create friction amongst people (do not know whose agenda they were working here).

Actually, regarding many issues, throughout last many years, Media is trying to give bias views full of lies, to misguide masses, especially on economic progress as well as development performance. Till now, they have not shown in video what development has happened in Gowader, all roadworks done throughout Pakistan during last 8 years, or all those lining of canals and other development works done in Pakistan. Apart of PJ Mir, who showed some development work in Karachi, no journalists (or any privately held TV channels) showed any development anywhere in Pakistan. None till now compared the state of Pakistan in 1999 with what Pakistan is today. Rather, without quotation any figure, all channels throughout tried to give bad impressions backed by lies (lies that are so illogical, that it can easily be worked out by even idiots).

It seems that media was using that freedom of press to earn money from corrupts, rather than doing unbiased reporting. Hence, it seems that even though President Musharraf wanted to give freedom to media, media only used that to earn money, showed that they are irresponsible and bias people and does not deserve any press freedom, as for them they are not looking for press freedom; they are looking for freedom to lie and misguide masses (for whoever pays them). Most Pakistani journalists, just like Pakistani politicians and Pakistani bureaucrats, seems corrupts rather than journalists.

Re: Does Pakistani journalist deserve freedom of press?

Get over yourself. If you think something is wrong so will rest of the population. It is not yours or anyone else's decision to audit what they hear, see and conclude. Freedom is freedom, you are using free speech now. Someone could decide your post is propaganda, where it's removal does the world of good. How would you feel then?

People have dies to get these freedoms. Didnt just turn on during the night.

Yea, does that means what Salman Rushdie wrote, what those cartoons of Prophet (SAW) got published, all was right?

absolutely agree. this idiotic notion that Pakistani journalist doesnt deserve freedom, Pakistani person doesnt deserve democracy is contingent on a view that we are somehow inherently, compositionally inferior from the rest of the world.

The media is a watch dog... It makes sure the govt, and others behave.
By supporessing the media, govt is trying to hide its dirty laundry from the eyes of the general population.

Chudhri Atizaz and most CJ lawyers are lucky. He and most CJ lawyers made allegation that reference has malafied intention of President Musharraf. If I was President, I would have sued Chaudhir Atizaz Ahsan and all lawyers of CJ, with libel case, demanding one billion rupees from them (as value of libel represent the position of person libel is made) asking them to prove that reference has any malafied intentions.

I would have separately sued all media channels that made same assumptions, that reference has malafied intentions.

In reference there is nothing mentioned about reasons these lawyers are claiming, and it is impossible to prove what intention a person has. Hence, they could never prove any malafied intention, even if there is any.

Saleem sahib why have free press it would only bring out the shortcomings of the dictator to the public. Let’s hide them and all dance to the tune of His master voice and live happily ever after. :rolleyes:

Gone are the days when you could make fool of people by suppressing freedom of press. The world has moved on and the dictator and his supporters who would like to suppress the freedom of press now might need it them self one day. Remember that.

:k: great plan, wonder why Mushie doesnt go for it?

Oh wait, theres a cap of 50k rupees on libel in Pakistan. and it doesnt mention anything about important people getting more money :bummer:

Yea, that is the problem. I think that goernment should not allow freedom of media without first making libel law strong.

If Press and people demand freedom of press than it should come with very strong libel law, just like in western countries. Libel law should be such that anyone can sue on libel charges to any other person, and if anyone accuse someone or make statements in media, they should be able to defend that in court, and if they could not, there should be heavy fine, such that they could go bankrupt easily. Law should be such that journalist or person guilty of libel could be sent to prison too under certain libel charges.

Bhai, I am not against freedom of press. I am against lies in the name of freedom of press. I am in support of freedom of press, but I believe that freedom of press should come with responsibility. Strong libel laws along with freedom of press, would be fine.

Freedom of press in Pakistan at present is actually, Madar Pidar Azaad freedom of press.

On the contrary, the government did try to make libel laws stronger, but was shot down by western freedom of expression watchdogs.

Libel laws in Western countries, where they exist, and they dont exist in all western countries by the way, dont prevent people from expressing their opinions, they save you from misstatement of fact. Intent can never be a fact, it can only be a claim. Mushie wouldnt be safe from claims about malafide intent in a western country either, simply because you cant prove the case either way. If someone had claimed Musharraf was combing his hair at 4pm on Monday and Musharraf could prove otherwise, then that could be a libel case. Even then someone could say pretty much the same thing without getting a libel case on him very easily.

^^
Ravage: No, it is not like that what you wrote. Accused do not have to prove that what he is accused of is wrong, but accuser has to prove that what he has accused is right.

If a person says anything wrong about someone and is sued, it is he who has to prove that what he said is right. In west, no one can say that what anyone is claiming is wrong, even if it seems obvious. Reason is that, if anyone claims that someone is lying or assumes someone’s intentions, they can be sued, and than they have to prove in court that what they claimed is true.

In west (and that is principle of Islam too), one is innocent until proven guilty. Thus if one is accused, he is innocent until accuser can prove him to be guilty of what he accused.

oh **** yaaar, u mean I can set aside 50K rupes and give as many gaali galoch to whoever because they cant sue for that.

challo ji, toh doh teen darkhat naheen lagatay yarad mein aur politicians ki aisi taisi kar ditay hain internet par.

nawazish

Im not sure how much time you've spent in the West, but I assure you youre completely off about that. Intentions are guessed at all the time, and you arent sued.

You are correct about innocent until proven guilty. However, that is when your the defendent in court. If Musharraf was in court and Aitizaz wanted to convict him of having malafide intentions then indeed Musharraf would be innocent of that until proven guilty. But hazarding an opinion about someone's intent is not at all likely to get you a libel case.

The simple answer is libel laws are about misstatements of facts. Since good intentions cant be established as facts, your whole argument doesnt apply.

but they are not stated as facts, they are stated as assumptions, and there is a fine line there, the moment it becomes a declaration or can be construed as a declaration, a case of defamation and libel can be started.

here is a link

http://www.abbottlaw.com/defamation.html

I agree with you 100%
when people are calling Shahid Masood and telling him that they have Latha for his kufan------Give me a Brk

PAK ARMY ZINDA BAD
:mad:

media is a watchdog, but media needs its own watchdog too, nothing wrong with that. in US FCC does just that.

given that

you need to prove that the statement is false in order to prove libel, I dont see how you can prove that the intention wasnt malafide. At most you can say that there is no evidence to support malafide intent, which is not the same thing, and does not mean that the statement is false.

I am living in west since last 32 years (though been to Pakistan on and off in between). Is that enough to know laws of the country? How long have you lived in west? :)

As far as intentions are concerned, no one can tell about other person intentions, as that is to do with what a person has in his heart (or mind), not what can be proven. If something can be proven, it is no more intention but obviously known.

To know intention of someone, there is three ways. Guesswork, Person told his intention, or person wrote his intention. Only intention that can be proven in court without ambiguity is if a person wrote his intention, but that would be no more just intention, but obviously known or declared intention. It is also possible to prove said intention, only if person has told his intentions to many, who are willing to become witnesses.