Does Pakistan need a bowling coach?

Faisal bhai, I never said that my opinion is the majority opinion. I think that lawyer dude is an idiot of the highest order and that Wasim Akram has every right to model in a liquor ad and endorse any product he wishes to in his personal capacity. He should be able to sell his services to whichever country that wishes to buy them. I’ve got absolutely no problem with his personal rights and freedoms. But when he starts manipulating Pak cricket things get a lot more serious. No one is bigger than Pak cricket be it Wasim Akram or Miandad or even the King Khan.

Wasim was a great player and the greatest fast bowler - I’ve conceded that much many, many times but I can’t say anything more than that about him as a person. I’ve seen some very strange matches involving him (sometimes as captain). I even posted the scorecard from one such match and gave a ball by ball description of Wasim’s inning in that match. That match actually resulted in the captaincy being taken away from him. And no one can convince me that that inning of his made ANY sense keeping in mind the stage of the Pak inning. But I would really prefer not to ukhaar garray huay murday. :-p

I saw that interview and I have no doubt that Wasim was a charismatic leader apart from being a brilliant, brilliant player as Shehryar Khan said again and again. I was really sad to see him to go too. To me it is very simple, if he plays, he’s one of a kind and no one can keep him out on cricketing grounds. But in coaching we have other options that are much safer and neutral and I would like to try them instead.

I know I’m treading very, very dangerous ground PR-wise here but hey, I’ve gotta say what I really think. :hehe:

FIRST

*Originally posted by sambrialian: *

I would really prefer if he were to not coach India .

THEN

I think that lawyer dude is an idiot of the highest order and that Wasim Akram has every right to model in a liquor ad and endorse any product he wishes to in his personal capacity. He should be able to sell his services to whichever country that wishes to buy them.

Hummmm... What a variation in statement. When It comes to coaching Indians then Wasim shouldnot have the right to sell his services otherwise it is fine.

wowwwwwww....Impressive

^ Well, to be fair what samby is saying is that Wasim has a “right” to do whatever he chooses, but Samby will “prefer” he not coach India. There is a difference. Its like saying, you have a right to post whatever you want, but I’d prefer you say something which makes sense. :hehe:

ps. I am talking about a figurative “you” and not “you” as in you, f&b :slight_smile:

f&b, read it again and this time in context. “I would prefer” with prefer being the key word. Also if you have a problem with my views, go take it up with the admin, I don’t have the patience for this any more.

thank you Faisal bhai for the clarification. at least someone understood what I was saying. :hehe:

I get you but point is Why such a special treatment for Indians.? We cant take so much love?

Also if you have a problem with my views, go take it up with the admin, I don't have the patience for this any more.
Itna ghussa nahi kiya karo bhai.. blood pressure barh jayay ga tau itni nanhi si umarr mein buhat bemaariyan ho jayein gi. F&B is just commenting on your comments as a member. :-)

*Originally posted by Faisal: *
Itna ghussa nahi kiya karo bhai.. blood pressure barh jayay ga tau itni nanhi si umarr mein buhat bemaariyan ho jayein gi. F&B is just commenting on your comments as a member. :-)

Faisal Bhai,
Some people have big EGO.You cant help it.

Acha .. ab jaanay do. I'd rather Pakistan cricket team in a disarray than the fantasy league :D

:D . You matlabi Insaan :p

Khitab leke rahoge !!!

*Originally posted by fair_&_balance: *
Khitab leke rahoge !!!
I don't want any khitaab waghera.... so that brings us to the interesting question, that if I actually end up winning this ODI fantasy thing (there is still a chance I will), who shall I give my "khitaab" to? :)

ps. I do retain the bragging rights, ofcourse! :-D

Aaqib Javed as bowling coach?

With our bowlers bowling as indisciplined as they can ever be, do we need a bowling coach. I always thought we do need a bowling coach. But I never wanted it to be Imran Khan, Wasim Akram or Waqar Younis because they had their own agendas against Miandad and are too self-centered. Besides there policy of attacking bowling has also not been successful with the present lot of Pakistani fast bowlers.

I was talking to my brother before this series and I told him that we need a bowling coach, especially since Sami struggled badly in the NZ one day series and Shabbir also had problems with his bowling action. And Akhter has alwayz been inconsistent with his form and fitness. I alwayz felt that neither of the three mentioned would be good bowling coaches and even if any one of them, if he ever coached, turns out to be effective, he would also have an adverse side effect on the team, so I just asked me brother what if Aqib Javed was the bowling coach? He said, well he's not that "well-established". Whatever that means!

Anywayz Imran Khan said the same thing a couple dayz back on Hum-FM that Aqib would be a good idea, adding that he's got a great cricketing sense and alwayz was a good disciplined bowler. Other then that, he also seems to be a "nuetral" type of guy. He was the coach of the junior team that won the World Cup earlier this month, which shows that he is a good communicator and teacher.

The only thing that can go against him is that he wasn't a premiere bowler when he played, so may be he would not be able to garner as much respect from stubborn guyz like shoaib n sami. But in general, I think his hiring seems to have more plus points then negative points, and therefore i think he's atleast worth a try, no?

Bowlers are trying to do too much: Aaqib Javed

LAHORE, March 22: Lack of aggression has let Indian pacers down in the ongoing one-day cricket series against Pakistan, feels Aaqib Javed. Their body language has not been positive, according to former Pakistan pacer and Under-19 World Cup 2004-winning coach.

"Indians have never been aggressive. Even Javagal Srinath, who often bowled at 90 mph, lacked necessary aggression. “Zaheer Khan struggled in first three games and Lakshmipathy Balaji is timid. The only exception has been Irfan Pathan who has it in him to be successful,” Aaqib said.

Aaqib, who returned dream figures of seven for 37, including a hat trick, against India in Sharjah 1991-92, also feels bowlers have been "trying too much on batsmen-friendly wickets in ODI series which has led to huge tallies of Mr Extras.

"It’s run-up up that gives you confidence. If you err there, it upsets entire rhythm. There shouldn’t be no-balls at this level. “The wides also happen because of wrong wrist position. In first few overs one should concentrate only on natural swing and not try anything special,” he observed.

To minimise no-balls and wides, Aaqib is even thinking of inculcating “take-off board used in long jump. It should be regarded as point of delivery. If you mark your run-up and run in there, you can get it right in just a couple of days.”

Shoaib Akhtar, Aaqib feels, is struggling with rhythm. "He is going flat out for pace too early in the innings. "Pakistan’s strategy should be simple: Shoaib is strike bowler, so the rest should only look to contain Indians.

“During our playing days, Wasim Akram and Waqar Younis were strike bowlers and my role was not to give away more than 40 runs in 10 overs.” Aaqib believes it is because of genetical, cultural and socio-economic factors that Pakistan have regularly produced quality fast bowlers. "We’re generally tall and strongly built and that helps a lot.

"Besides, there is diet. Pakistanis eat lots of meat. You get lot of aggression from beef and red meat. “We also get to play a lot of tennis ball cricket at a young age. The lighter ball needs power to be thrown at a distance. It helps develop your muscles and gives flexibility to joints and ligaments,” Aaqib observed.

“One also has role models to fall back on. I grew up idolising Imran Khan. Today’s boys have Akram and Waqar to emulate. Among current lot, Shoaib is most famous. Fast bowling instils thrill and style,” he said. -PPI

Source → http://www.dawn.com/2004/03/23/spt4.htm

*Originally posted by saby: *
And dont you think that its the major problem if a bowler cannot determine where the ball is gonna pitch??? A bowler MUST analyse where the ball is gonna pitch!! tentatively.

Saby, read my full message. It says that "if" bowlers try to adjust their foot-landing just before throwing the ball then they will have problem pitching the ball where they wanted to, therefore they should adjust their run up as suggested by someone by making it couple of inches/feet shorter or longer.

**Miandad wants Sarfraz as Pakistan’s bowling coach **

From our correspondent

MULTAN: Pakistan coach Javed Miandad has, in an interesting move, recommended the name of former fast bowler Sarfraz Nawaz to the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) to be appointed as bowling coach.

“Miandad has recommended that Sarfraz be appointed as national bowling coach so that he can divide his time between the senior and junior teams and also work at the National Cricket Academy in Lahore,” a PCB source said.

There has been lot of talk about appointing a bowling coach with the Pakistan team after the problems faced by Shoaib Akhtar, Muhammad Sami, Shabbir Ahmed during the on-going series against Inda.

PCB Chief Executive Rameez Raja has indicated that the names of Australian bowling coach Daryl Foster and former Pakistan captain Waqar Younis were being considered for the post of bowling coach but a decision would be made after the series against India is over.

The Board also had former captains Imran Khan and Wasim Akram work with the Pakistan bowlers before the series in short sessions.

But Miandad, the source said, felt otherwise and believed that Sarfraz who is an outstanding critic of the Pakistan board was the best man for the job of bowling coach.

“Miandad’s argument is that despite his problems with the establishment, Sarfraz was the pioneer of reverse swing and one of the best seam and swing bowlers produced by Pakistan who passed on the art to Imran, Wasim, Waqar etc,” the source said.

“He feels that Sarfraz for all his faults is a dedicated person when it comes to working with fast bowlers and helping them out and he has a deep insight into the technical aspects of the game,” he added.

Sarfraz two years back also served as bowling coach for the Board when Lt. General (retd) Tauqir Zia was Chairman and did some excellent work with the bowlers before he had a dispute with the board over money and authority matters and they had a fall-out.

As a result he has been a strong critic of the board and has even made match-fixing allegations against some Pakistan players in recent times with Rameez threatening to file a libel suit against him.

Why Javed wants Sarfraz as bowling coach?

Miandad wants Sarfraz as Pak’s bowling coach**

MULTAN: Coach Javed Miandad has surprisingly recommended the name of controversial former fast bowler Sarfraz Nawaz to the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) for appointment as bowling coach.

“Miandad has recommended that Sarfraz be appointed as national bowling coach so that he himself can divide his time between the senior and junior teams and also work at the National Cricket Academy in Lahore,” a PCB source said.

There has been lot of talk about appointing a bowling coach after the problems faced by pace trio Shoaib Akhtar, Mohammad Sami and Shabbir Ahmed during the on-going series against India.

PCB Chief Executive Rameez Raja has already indicated that the names of Australian Daryl Foster and former Pakistan captain Waqar Younis were being considered for the post but that a decision would be made after the series against India is over.

The board also invited former captains Imran Khan and Wasim Akram to work with the Pakistan bowlers before the series in short sessions.

But Miandad, the source said, believed that Sarfraz, who often criticises the functioning of the PCB and has even made match-fixing allegations against some of the players in the past, was the best man for the job, local daily The News said.

Why he wants crazy Sarfraz. Why not someone who played cricket in recently. May be Wasim,DeVillliars,Donald,Bruce Reid etc. Is this his Ego ?

He just wants more controversies. Recently Sarfaraz accused of match-fixing, if he gets this job then that would only confirm that there really was something wrong.

He wants sarfaraz before irfan the pest can get to him

Re: Why Javed wants Sarfraz as bowling coach?

*Originally posted by fair_&_balance: *
PCB Chief Executive Rameez Raja has already indicated that the names of Australian Daryl Foster and former Pakistan captain Waqar Younis were being considered for the post but that a decision would be made after the series against India is over.
Although the news story is from Times of India so I will remain skeptical about it, but why drag poor Waqar Younis in this. The dude has not even retired from international cricket, yet and they are talking about making him a coach.

Re: Re: Why Javed wants Sarfraz as bowling coach?

Although the news story is from Times of India so I will remain skeptical about it, but why drag poor Waqar Younis in this. The dude has not even retired from international cricket, yet and they are talking about making him a coach.

I agree.This is really unfair to him. Dont forc-retire him.
But this news of hiring Waqar has been there in Pakistani media too.

And if Wasim Akram is deemed unfit for coaching due to his betting controversy, then I am sure Waqar is not totally masoom panchi himself.

Anyway, Sarfaraz is a total jaahil. But making him the coach will be such a logical step for Shahriyar Khan, on the foot steps of having Bari as Chief Selector. We crave for morons. But Sarfaraz has one thing going for him. He is very creative when it comes to cursing. Miandad's Pepsi ad will be kidergarten stuff, in front of Sarfaraz's flowery lingo.