*Originally posted by funguy: *
Pakistan in disarray?. Isn't that a bit of an exaggeration?
hey, they have to sell the story too, you know. :)
*Originally posted by funguy: *
Pakistan in disarray?. Isn't that a bit of an exaggeration?
hey, they have to sell the story too, you know. :)
come to think of it - it's not just Shoaib and Sami - Pakistan has been plagued with inconsistence bowling over the years when even Wasim and Waqar were playing - however both Ws knew how to dig themselves out in bad times - interesting to see Imran raising the point of bowling coach - i wonder what did he tell to Shoaib and Sami when him along with Wasim paid visit to the Pakistan training camp?
to be honest - i think it comes down to individual effort - have a look at Irfan Pathan - he took the lesson from Wasim - so did Nehra and Zaheer but Irfan is at top!
*Originally posted by Captain1: *
Well, I agree to some extent. It shows that Miandad didn't "coach" them about such tactics during practice sessions and other methods, and instead he was "coaching" (or instructing them) while player is already in the field and about to face the delivery.
We cannot say that he did not tell them that before!! Maybe he was 'reminding' him to look for the slwoer ball. I m not advocating his continuous gestures to the batsmen but deducting that he did not tell him/them this earlier is wrong.
*Originally posted by Captain1: *
kewn bhai? If his foot land in right place without disturbing his run-rhythm why'd he fail to pitch the ball where he wants to? If he adjusts his foot-landing just before throwing to avoid the no-ball then yes he won't be able to pitch where he wants to but otherwise I don't see any problems.
And dont you think that its the major problem if a bowler cannot determine where the ball is gonna pitch??? A bowler MUST analyse where the ball is gonna pitch!! tentatively.
Re: Re: Re: Pakistan in disarray as India set up dream finish
*Originally posted by armughal: *
make that 145 extras in 4 games....
Former Pakistani captain Imran Khan and current coach Javed Miandad differed on the idea of appointing a bowling coach for the team after the hosts sent down a staggering 58 wides and 40 no-balls in the four matches
I was just talking about the wides and noballs which are genuinely bowlers' mistake
*Originally posted by karina: *
IMO Pakistan needs a better coach and not a bowling coach. don't jump down my throat anyone, but miandad's style is a bit hatke. the other day i read yasir hameed's interview and he said (very humbly) how great miandad was and how hameed didn't know that a slower one was coming from irfan but miandad did. 'he gestured to me from the balcony but i made the mistake of not looking at him' said yasir.
I agree with you for a number of reasons apart from what you just mentioned. It is great that Miandad is passionate enough that he can't sit down when the boys are batting but to do it all the time indicates that he wastes time in the nets where such things should be ironed out.
I'd like to see a certified, professional coach. Just because someone was a great player does not make him a great coach. In the past, mediocre players have made great coaches. I would personally prefer to see someone like Wasim Raja or Asif Iqbal take over the coaching. Miandad is doing pretty good with a young team but we must move away from this culture of just winging it. We need a professional approach in the long term or we will be left far, far behind.
I think it was Chappel or Dean Jones who said that an analysis should be done after eevry match of where the opposition bowled to specific batsmen. And this responsibility lies with Miandad. I think I can say with some confidence that it is highly unlikely that Miandad does or is even capable of doing this kind of analysis.
*Originally posted by sambrialian: *
I agree with you for a number of reasons apart from what you just mentioned. It is great that Miandad is passionate enough that he can't sit down when the boys are batting but to do it all the time indicates that he wastes time in the nets where such things should be ironed out.
I'd like to see a certified, professional coach. Just because someone was a great player does not make him a great coach. In the past, mediocre players have made great coaches rather than vice versa. I would personally prefer to see someone like Wasim Raja or Asif Iqbal take over the coaching. Miandad is doing pretty good with a young team but we must move away from this culture of just winging it. We need a professional approach in the long term or we will be left far, far behind.
I think it was Chapper or Dean Jones who said that an analysis should be done after eevry match of where the opposition bowled to specific batsmen. And this responsibility lies with Miandad. I think I can say with some confidence that it is highly unlikely that Miandad does or is even capable of doing this kind of analysis.
Just to add to this.it is not the best time to coach ,when your player is right in the middle. If you have to do it then it is too late.
Just my 2 cents, or Zilch as FG would say it.
When Miandad can work with his batsmen showing all the techiniques then why not a bowling coach who can do the same with his bowlers?
It's all about Miandad's ego. In the past he had huge fights because of similar situation. Recently he also indulged himself in the trash talk about indians having a bowling coach!!
Forget about a bowling coach. Miandad's ego wont let that happen!! And as long Miandad is the coach then also forget about Wasim akram's services for long term basis
Miandad is a C* who doesnt want anyone else taking any credit for anything. His ego doesnt let him have any help, and hes too traditional and 20th century in his approach.
What is the reason behind him for not getting another bowling coach? When you know your bowlers are struggling, why not get help. You yourself dont know jack about bowling.. so y not get someone who does know a bit?
and hay,,, inzi is just saying what miandad told him to say.
some good news, guys.
Personally I’d like to see Aqib become the bowling coach. he did a wonderful job with the U19 and he was a smart bowler and is a smart guy. Imran has said as much too.
the fielding and physical fitness trainers would have to come from South Africa or Australia.
‘PCB considering to hire specialised coaches’](Daily Jang: Urdu News - Latest Breaking News update Pakistan - jang.com.pk)
LAHORE: Pakistan Cricket Board is considering option to hire specialised coaches to improve the overall performance of its senior team, chairman PCB Shaharyar Khan said on Monday.
“We are seriously considering to hire not only a bowling coach, but also a fielding expert and a physical trainer as well to overcome weaknesses in these departments,” he told a press conference here on Monday at the Gadaffi stadium. Also present on the occasion was Chief Executive PCB, Rameez Raja.
To a question about the need of a bowling coach for the team as the performance of bowlers in the ongoing series against India was not up to the mark, the PCB official, said proposal is under consideration to hire coaches for different fields besides a physical trainer to address fitness problems.
“But we cannot do its all of a sudden and it would take some time to implement these decisions and hopefully we will be making some decisions after the India series,” he said.
He said such decisions cannot be made in haste and PCB has also given top priority to groom its team in a winning combination.
Shaharyar said after being 2-2 the series Pak-India becomes thrilling and tough and due to these factors both the sides are under pressure. “Now both the sides will be making extra efforts to attain glory and the fifth and final one-day game on March-24 (tomorrow) is going to be a big thriller,” he said.
*Originally posted by sherrybaba: *
It's all about Miandad's ego.
absolutely correct. but on the other hand, I'd much rather keep our youngsters away from Wasim Akram too because of his dubious past.
A relatively cleaner Waqar Younis and a completely clean Aqib Javed should be forerunners for this position.
^ You are worried that Wasim will give them the contact info of the bookies? ![]()
Come on. Waseem is a national asset, or close to it. He is a master of swing. Aaqib is not in the same league. Waqar, yes. I say get both Wasim and Waqar to help our bowlers. You know if Pak doesn’t utilize Waseem and he goes off to another country, then the very same people here will pant uttaring Waseem for being a ghaddaar and what not. Karay tau kiya karay banda. ![]()
some very good points by Aqib. sounds like a semi-smart guy.
Bowlers trying to do too much: Aaqib
LAHORE: Lack of aggression has let Indian pacers down in the ongoing one-day cricket series against Pakistan, feels Aaqib Javed. Their body language has not been positive, according to former Pakistan pacer and Under-19 World Cup 2004-winning coach.
“Indians have never been aggressive. Even Jawagal Srinath, who often bowled at 90 mph, lacked necessary aggression. Zaheer Khan struggled in first three games and Lakshmipathy Balaji is timid. The only exception has been Irfan Pathan who has it in him to be successful,” Aaqib said.
Aaqib, who returned dream figures of seven for 37, including a hat trick, against India in Sharjah 1991-92, also feels **bowlers have been trying too much on batsmen-friendly wickets in ODI series which has led to huge tallies of extras.
“It’s run-up up that gives you confidence. If you err there, it up sets entire rhythm. There shouldn’t be no balls at this level. The wides also occur because of wrong wrist position. In first few overs, one should concentrate only on natural swing and not try anything special,” he observed.
To minimise no balls and wides, Aaqib is even thinking of inculcating take-off board used in long jump. It should be regarded as point of delivery. If you mark your run-up and run in there, you can get it right in just a couple of days.
Shoaib Akhtar, Aaqib feels, is struggling with rhythm. “He is going flat out for pace too early in the innings,” Aaqib said adding, “Pakistan’s strategy should be simple: Shoaib is strike bowler, so the rest should only look to contain Indians. During our playing days, Wasim Akram and Waqar Younis were strike bowlers and my role was not to give away more than 40 runs in 10 overs.”**
Aaqib believes it is because of genetical, cultural and socio-economic factors that Pakistan have regularly produced quality fast bowlers. “We’re generally tall and strongly built and that helps a lot,” he said adding, “Besides, there is diet and Pakistanis eat lots of meat. You get lot of aggression from beef and red meat.”
“We also get to play a lot of tennis ball cricket at a young age. The lighter ball needs power to be thrown at a distance. It helps develop your muscles and gives flexibility to joints and ligaments,” Aaqib observed.
“One also has role models to fall back on. I grew up idolizing Imran Khan. Today’s boys have Akram and Waqar to emulate. Among current lot, Shoaib is most famous. Fast bowling instils thrill and style,” he said.
The discussion invariably switches to reverse swing. "It’s something not easy to explain. The wrist position is very important. It should be directed towards first slip so that it creates an angle. This is besides maintaining shine on one side and leaving it dry. Bowlers who are side-on, will always get advantage, Aaqib said.
How come Waqar's name is here.I thought he is still playing and was even considered for ODI team.
Dont force him to resign before he does it himself.
Everything is fine ... but this bowled me over
"Besides, there is diet and Pakistanis eat lots of meat. You get lot of aggression from beef and red meat."
Errr.... Dr Aaqib Javed is eating ......what?
I know my opinion is bound to be unpopular among Pak fans. But I stand by it despite being a huge Wasim Akram (the player) fan myself.
Without rehashing all the old BS, Wasim Akram should not be employed in any coaching role. He was a genius, the greast bowler cricket every saw. But if Miandad is too problematic a person to have as coach, Wasim Akram will be ten times worse.
So you have no problems if India or any other country hires Wasim Akram to be their coach and teach them all about swing and fast bowling. You can't expect t a 30-something man to sit on his arse for the rest of his life. Do you? :)
I was a bit embarassed by that too. he ruined a perfectly good interview by talking about stuff that he has no clue about.
Originally posted by Faisal: *
**So you have no problems if India or any other country hires Wasim Akram to be their coach and teach them all about swing and fast bowling.*
no, I don't. if he wants to go coach any team in the world, I have no problems with it at all. I would really prefer if he were to not coach India but then again I would rather that our musicians not cross the border either. what I say doesn't really affect anything, now does it. :)
But you don't really see top teams like SA or Aus tripping over themselves to hire him. heck, even the counties are not going after him. Donald got hired as a coach as soon as he retied. Fleming became a coach just as he retired. so, maybe there is a reason why Wasim is not getting any offers? :)
There is a lawyer lose in Pakistan who’ll sue him the next day. No doubt about that.
Samby, maan lo, you are the exception rather than the rule ![]()
I was watching a TV program the other day (I forgot whether it was Prime or Geo), where they had Shahriyar Khan and Akram among others. Someone in the audience asked why isn’t Akram appointed a bowling coach for Pak, and Shahriyaar replied that (I am quoting verbatim from memory - advance apologies for any mistakes) “Meri tau khawahish hai ke Wasim abhi aur khelein.. masha Allah, abhi jawaan hein.. magar agar yeah nahi khelna chahtay tau hamm haar mumkin koshish karein gay ke jiss tarah say bhi ye hamaree madad karna chahein hamm in ke skills ka faida uthayein - jaisa bhi ye chahein”. Waseem then added “There comes a time for everything. I played to my heart’s content. Buhat cricket kheli. My playing time is over. I will talk to the board as to what they want me to help with”