Re: Does it matter 2 u what
trooper bhai : The whole of the ummah is split into pieces because of sects.
May Allah(swt) guide us all - Ameen
trooper bhai : The whole of the ummah is split into pieces because of sects.
May Allah(swt) guide us all - Ameen
all i know is that i follow the religion of my Prophet Mohummad (pbuh&up) and His Noble Family...................i am friends with sunnis and i dont have any problems iwth them..but when it came to choosing a life partner..my wife had to be a shia for sure..
I'm an Ahmadi muslim. For me it doesnt matter what ur skin colour is, it doesnt matter what background ure from ....doesnt matter of wat group of muslim u belong. All that matters is u have to be honest, try to lead others right path by goin on a right path urself, and most importantly respect humanity thats all what it matters to Allah. If Allah is giving food to Hindu,Christian,Sikh and everyone....if the sun can give sunshine to them, I mean if Allah treats every1 of us equally then who are we to judge where sunni or shia prays. They are the ones who have to answer for their deeds not me/us.
wouldn't marry a shia, other than that, I could care less.
Nilu, how do you define just a friend.
I also have a Shia friend who is an extreme shai person. but he will call me and ask for my help and shall do me a favour if i call him and ask for one if i am out of town.
I dont think we have ever talked of our faiths I dont thhink we will ever.
Apna deen choro nahi doosray ko chairo nahi
Shoaibi like u read my topic he asked my opinion about shia’s suddenly.
I never mention about his faith i mean that shia thing. So i gave my opinion about it that i dont know what to think about that they crying and hurt themselfs.
Actually i dont want to discuss this thing with him coz bohot bhess hotey hai.
Like Sunni’s says that its Haram that the shia’s crying and hurt themselfs.
And the Shia’s says it is’nt haram. I also hear that a Sunni & Shia can’t do nikaah is that true? And why is that? Coz Shia’s are also muslims. Just a question.
Ok, I am still curious about the reasons why one will be friends with and hang around with a person in a different sect, but why won't one marry someone in a different sect.
Is the religious practice between the two so different? Or is it just because your society says no?
Not to me. You don’t have to stop at shia vs sunni. It doesn’t matter to me if they are qadiyani or whatever have you.
Last night my aunt was watching Alim online on geo and I asked her if one molvi was shia and one sunni and how do you know which one is which? She told me that she can just tell by looking at their face!!
I have no idea how from someone’s face you can tell if they are shia, sunni, etc.!! The differentiation into sects in Islam is just beyond me.
I am really disappointed here.
The only ones who answered were the one's who believed there was no difference. I was seriously looking for a reply, definitely curious.
Anyway all, have a great day.
In terms of who to be friends with, it doesn't matter at all.
In terms of a spouse - I would marry neither a shia nor a sunni who has religious views different to my own. I would only marry someone with religious beliefs very similar to mine.
I believe that a marriage between a sunni and a shia would be religiously acceptable, but would involve tension in the same way that a marriage between 2 sunnis of differing fiqhs or other viewpoints would.
Answer to you question is really simple and straight forward. I am surprised that you even asked.
Friendship is the type of relationship where you can define the boundaries of this relationship. It is up to both the parties to decide how close they both are. Marriage is different. It is perhaps the most intimate relationship you’d ever have. Two friends can get together and chat about their mutual interest, and help out each other once in a while at the end of the day, they go to their respective homes.
In marriage, when you have childern, and if you are a firm believer in your faith, it would be natural that you’d want your childern to follow that path. You would never want them to follow your spouse if you believe that he/she is misguided/liar. If you do not believe that your spouse is misguided, then why would you not want to follow his/her faith? hope that was clear enough.
It is true. Often times we can tell the difference between Shias and Sunnis just by looking at their faces. As time goes on, this divide will become greater, up to a point where these two (also other sects of Islam) will be very different from each other in terms of their practices, faith, even appearances. How is peace possible between different ideologies? It is not in human nature. There is bound to be conflict in opinion, resulting ultimately in violence and bloodshed or a complete abandonment of respective faiths by each of the conflicting parties.
What people do not realize is the fact that it is impossible to get rid of this divide, and all Muslims have to believe in one version, not 72 or 73 versions of Islam to attain peace that is genuine. It is not humanly possible to do that, or else it would have been resolved in the last 14 hundred years. We need Devine intervention here. Imam Mahdi is divinely appointed for this task - of not only correcting the wrong beliefs between Muslim sects, but also correcting wrong beliefs that followers of other religions hold - and to gather them under the flag of Islam. Muslims today really have a choice, either to believe in Imam Mahdi who has already appeared or keep fighting with each other and keep waiting for him to appear in their respective sects for eternity. Help is already here, grab it.
Trooper - Sorry, why surprised?
I said I was Catholic married to a Sunni. Raising kids and the religion was discussed before that mess happened, minimizing it greatly.
My question was, what is the difference between sects? Is it that drastic a division between the two religious sects (even if both are Muslim) that marriage and partnerships are thrown out the window?
Yea i also wanna know that.
Come on guys, you are taking it way too seriously and talking in absolutes. I have seen atleast 3 couples within my circle of friends where the guy is sunni and the wife is shia (or vice versa) and they live happily together. It all depends on how serious you take the whole thing and whether you plan to shove your beliefs down the throat of your partner or not.
This one couple I know, the wife attends majlis, the husband stays home watching basketball. And at some other point, the husband is out attending eid-milad-ul-nabi celebrations and wife goes out shopping. The kids grew up respecting both shia traditions and sunni traditions.
Hmmm nice to hear that version but my cousins told me once if a sunni and a
shia marry the nikaah is not valid is that true? Coz i see no harm in it if a shia and a sunni gonna married they are both muslims beliefs in Allah.
There are people who would announce nullification of nikkah, at any thing they don't like. They are the same people who issue fatwas of "you are kaffir" anytime they don't have a reasoned argument to support their intolerent views.
Hmm.. yea my cousins are like that ![]()
Faisal - I know this, but I was asking this of the people who were saying it doesn't matter EXCEPT for marriage or relationships with others.
I want to know what their reason's are and if it is something having to do with religious teaching or with societal/family norms.
Mega-curious now that I haven't had a straight answer, having to start googling, lol
minah_pa.. there are no right or wrong answers. These are all personal opinions and choices. Some people want their spouse to be an exact replica of themselves. Some cherish differences. So anyone's answer is only valid for the 3 feet radius around them.