Does being vegetarian affect a human?

So does eating veggies only diet has affect on a person’s physical attributes as compared to someone who eats meat? :hmmm:

Is there any vegetarian here who works out? How hard is it for you to eat only a veggie diet and work out in terms of protein intake?

Re: Does being vegetarian affect a human?

protein can come from lentils, no?

Acha? Didn’t know that :hmmm:

But e.g. 2 people:

Meat eater: Fish, meat, etc high protein diet

veggie: Lentils…aur kya? :stuck_out_tongue:

mainay aik saal say koi meet nahi khaya aur us ki jagga per lentil aur soya beans istamaal kiyya. main buhat acha feel keta hoon pehlay sey better even energetic

beans : black, pinto, chickpeas, soy (and soy products like tofu and tempeh)
grains/flours: buckwheat, bulgar, whole grain wheat, oats, quinoa
several vegetables: corn, broccoli, peas, spinach, sweet potatoes etc...
Dairy: milk, cheese, yogurt

hmmm i think veg is better than meat , chicken and fish ... and iam pure vegetarian :P

From personal experience, I've seen that veggies are no substitute for meat. I have a friend who started going to the gym almost the same time as I did and he eat's VERY LITTLE meat (but isn't a pure vegetarian as such). I have made considerably better gains than him and I suspect its cos of the difference in diet!

nah..its not harmful…

kya baat hai shak:aq: vegetarian banna hai kya:5:

Yaar shak .. you have a talents for finding discussion topics.

I was vegetarian for like a week...man it was hard.

Shukaria tuvaada baut baut

KP, why was it hard? Explain! :hmmm:

LP no, just discussing :smiley:

I am a vegetarian. Like someone mentioned earlier, there is a lot of food that when eaten in right quantity can meet your protein requirements. Our cultures, both desi and North American, believe in eating a LOT of meat, more than we need. Our needs can easily be met by simple things like whole wheat bread, lentils, beans, soy products, diary products (if the person isn't vegan), nuts etc.

As for working out in concerned, I haven't taken up proper weight training. But I would think that protein enhanced smoothies, more beans, more lentils would work quite well - as long as you are meeting your protein intake requirements.

It is Ok to be vegetarian if that is what people prefer, but it is unnatural to be vegetarian. Like living an asexual life. :hehe:

studies have shown you can become deficient in Vitamin B12 that is only found in meat and eggs and fish.

Inadequate dietary intake of vitamin B12. As the vitamin B12 occurs naturally only in animal products (eggs, meat, milk); a vegan diet can produce a deficiency unless one uses supplements or eats enriched food.

Wow ! what an argument.

:stuck_out_tongue:

Come on man, we didn't fight our way to the top of the food chain to become vegetarians.

@OP

You can easily find many sites on google which suggest suitable vegan diets for bodybuilders. I personally love eating unhealthy fat rich non veg food, but those who wish to stay healthy should definitely opt for vegetarianism .

@Jaanwar

Every urban civilization began with agriculture. Hunters and gatherers lived in caves.

LOL!

N3m3sis, I dont think it had anything to with agriculture, it had more to do with humans generally becoming civilised.

Shak ka kisi sabzi walay kee beti pe dil aa gayaa hai

^ LMAO!

TLK (aunty) is a rishtay waali aunty now?

-Vanishes from GS-