Do you want the Moratorium in place?

I know its irritating to see threads disappear. The Moratorium was imposed to restrict all kinds of sectarian discussions because the members end up fighting amongst each other and name-calling becomes rampant. Its just too much work to keep on removing post after post filled with gaali galoch and fighting. Plus, on top of all that, each party blames the mods for helping the ‘other’ party.

Anyway, in all fairness, we already have Rules of Religion Forum](http://www.gupistan.com/gs/showthread.php?t=172549) that are fairly clear and unbiased (hopefully). Tell me whether you guys want to see the Moratorium on top of those rules? If your answer is neither yes or no, then explain what modification you want.

Thanks

ps. This is a public poll, so everyone can see who voted what. Just FYI.

Re: Do you want the Moratorium in place?

i was with opyion #3....

some discussions r really made imposible here due to the moratorium....

as if one is not allowed to say "this is wrong" just cuz someone else (a small group) believes it to be right....

option 3.

you might see a lot of muharram related threads. by default they should not be locked or put away, unless the discussion turns ugly.

i think its time to impose the moratorium when 'kafir' starts being flung around the place. so yeah, moderate and restrict discussions to remaining 'peaceful' but dont limit them completely.

Well, you are the moderator of this forum, and I do see your point. You posted this right after deleting the thread “knowing the mahdi” so I assume it’s an attempt to justify your decision.

I, however, completely disagree with your decision to delete the thread “knowing the Mahdi”. Even though I did not start that thread, I spent a lot of time trying to educate people about Ahmadi beliefs and providing irrefutable proofs that support Ahmadi point of view. It seems that all that just went down the drain. I did not see any foul language in that thread, and the discussion was quite civil. I am very disappointed in gupshup. I always thought that people here are open-minded enough to appreciate and consider a differing point of view - at least that has been my experience this far.

** If you saved that thread before deleting it, please email it to me.

I think that we should all grow up and understand that these are two different point of views about Islam and by just insulting and cursing each other it will not go away.

I have to agree with ravage. The point is Faisal ,that you are a mod of the forum therefore it is your job to make sure that people dont get out of line. You cant have certain topics and not others, because its a religion forum and other issues will come up whether you like it or not. I do agree that we should all respect each other while we have the discussions, however people do get hot-headed and they do say things in an uncilvilized manner. This is where you come in. The rules are fine for the forum, but again, sometimes other discussions will come up that might be related to the specific discussion at the moment.

It would be unfair and silly to limit us to a certain amount of issues related to religions. Its not going to get us anywhere if you delete/lock threads as soon as another topic is brought in. If people start religion bashing all you have to do is tell them to behave/warn them give them points whatever suits your fancy. However, they “should” be allowed to have the discussions, just make sure they are polite while at it.

(ps blame a certain somebody for bringing me back from my self imposed week long ban! :snooty: )

Thanks for your comments.

Just to be upfront, I do not like to keep the Moratorium in place. I think it suffocates discussions. Those of you who were here when I took over, I did remove the Moratorium for the duration of Moharram to allow shia members to present their thoughts. It was a disaster. Pretty much all discussions turned into shia-sunni riots, and then members complained why did I removed the Moratorium. Needless to say that it was re-imposed. The idea is to develop the forum in a productive manner.

I am open to changes in how Moratorium is applied. But this is not a one-way street. This is where all of you come in.

• Trooper wants a place where he paste all he can about Ahmadis.
  • armughal wants a place to tell Ahmadis how wrong they are.
  • zero1 wants to color code the entire shia doctrine.
  • And let-uz-chat wants to explain to us how sufism works, in all its olive-yellow glory.

Now all of these are fine discussions. But you have to remember, the moderator is not here to filter your thoughts. You are the ones who should have civil discussions on all of these topics amongst yourselves and come to your own conclusions. But if you want the mod to favor your point of view and censor everything the "other" group says, thats unreasonable. I don't want to hear complaints that this forum favors Ahmadis or Hindus or Sunnis or Shias or whatever. Or that the forum is a breeding ground of promoting one or the other faiths. And if people resort to personal attacks against each other or resort to taunts like who died in a bathroom or whatever, it just kills the spirit of discussion and you are left with just a place to rant and rubbish the other person. Not productive.

Think about it and let me know. If we change the Moratorium I want you guys to be proactive and let me know when a discussion erupts in a fight, rather then partaking in throwing *andaay tamaatar *and all the while cursing the mod for not stopping the fight.

Can we add another point of view making it a total of three? Since we are grown ups.

Although I have voted to keep Moratorium in place, my own point of view has a little different angle.

You see, it’s the matter of faith.

Moratorium is to prevent sectarian fights:)

I consider sects as groups like, Sunni, Shia, The four school of thoughts and the likes who believe in **Imaan-e-Mufassil **of which considering Muhammad:saw: the last of the Messenger is part of it.

However, I do not believe that groups like **Pervezies, Followers of Khalifa Rashad, Ahl-e-Quran, Qadiyaanis (Lahories, Ahmedies), Bihaai **and likes are sects of Islam; they do not even are muslims as per consensus and as per the teachings of Quran, Sunnah of Rasool:saw: and Sahaaba-Kiraam Ridhwaanulah ALiyehay Ajma’een. When Muselima Kazzaab was not considered muslim by the Companions of the Prophet:saw: neither can Muselima Punjab be considered otherwise. So the Moratorium should not apply on issues discussing such groups.

Again it is my opinion and no offence to anyone.

Thanks.

this just shows that u cant understand from examples…

and secondly, i think it is my religious obligation to tell Ahmadis that they r wrong…
not just ahmadis, others who r wrong as well…

but i think u did not take the example well…

or from the long reply i wrote to ehsan, u cud only read one line…

and after this, i dont really feel ur efforts r sincere…
sorry, but thats how i feel…

And it is my religious obligaton to tell ppl like you ^^ to put a sock in it. You are not a religious authority nor do you know jack about Qadiyanis/ahmadis except foul language and ridiculing.

Faisal based on the last two response keep the moratorium. It will take yeears till peple learn to accept other sects , religions.

Armughal, do you make a living out of telling people they are wrong and your right? It must be a tough life eh. You've made your point, theres really no need to shove it down people's throat.

Your 'know it all' attitude really puts people off more then anythign else, so your actually doing more harm then good.

Voted for modified morotorium...

In my opinion sensitive discussions should not be open for all * kas o na kas * ..any one trying to start galam galoch--derail a thread can easily do so by some other nick there by saving his major nick for being banned....
*kia kerna chahiye-? * ..... rate your posters so that only knowlegable posters, who are not known for gallam galoch should only be allowed to post in the sensitive sub forum..

HOw ever do not rate a poster negatively for posting some thing he only is quoting ( not misquoting ) for example---mirza sahibs abuses i normaly quote in ahmedi discussions should not be seen as a negative/ gallam galoch post as i am just quoting mirza sahib from his own writings....

How about a moratorium on the entire religion forum. Shut the Biyotch down… and actually move religiously inspired threads to Philosophy. None of it is fact.. no offense to bearded or yamulkah wearing freaks with big tilaks on their foreheads. :flower1:

*Chotay chotay dil hein, zara zara si baat pe toot jaatay hein *:(

Anyway, to be fair the highest number of votes so far are for keeping the Moratorium in place, the way it is. Lets wait and see if the situation changes.

bao bihari.. koi asaan sa hal bataya karr, yaar.

i wonder how the votes would be counted in the end, but to me it appears the majority vote (13 right now) are not in favor of keeping the moratorium.

so can we make it a little clear how it will be tallied in the end.. would we see like 20 votes in favor of keeping the moratorium as the “majority” vote and ignore let’s say 19 + 19 votes in the other categories?

if u ever see a post in which i claim to know it all, then be sure that it must have been someone else posting by my nick…

and no i dont think i’ve made my point…
if i did, i’d just shut up…

i'd like the moratorium off because i'd like a place to bring civilization back to my uncouth brothers, and have them come and worship stones and monkeys with me.

Theek hay..let me post all * allam ghalum * baqion kay liye keep the morotrium

saada-asan aur susta hal

At the moment I am not bundling choices. All are standing on their own.

And from my stand-point, folks voting for option #3 also want the moratorium in place, but only change the logistics/criteria based on each members views. Folks voting in option #2 are the only ones who want the moratorium to go and presumably only have Rules of Religion Forum to govern.