I have heard quite a few people telling females in their house not to watch Star Plus dramas or Colours TV/Zee TV/Star One etc drama serials. Many men complain that they effect their wives behaviour and influence them.
We all agree that what is shown on some of the shows is beyond the decency limits some times, the story lines get dirty, the saas-bahu melo dramas influence thinking, the romance shown lifts expectations and other such daily life happenings.
I have noticed behaviour changes in some of the people around me who followed these serials religously. Slowly, their natures became more complaining, critical and impatient. I am not sure if the effect is of what they see and get influenced by. e.g. I once one of my colleagues laugh about what his son said. They were passing by a restaurant in Lahore and sajji was getting made. For those of you havent seen how sajji is made, seekhs of chicken are put over coals. Seeing this, his son said abu yahan koi mar gya hai kia? Following what he had seen on Indian Tv, he believed that some one’s burial was going on because of the ashes there.
Do you think these soaps influence minds and behaviour?
Re: Do you think TV dramas effect your behaviour & life?
Do you think these soaps influence minds and behaviour?
Maybe for some people who take impact from everything that happens around them even if they are not part of it. Personally because i dont watch them, I dont get affected by them.
To an extent yes. Remember everything around us affects our behavior and attitude. It also affects how we interact with others. TV shows are not exempt from being sources of external influence.
Well it would depend on the individual, how impressionable they are. Yes age also matters like when you are in your earlier teens most people get in peer pressure or totally influenced by what the see on tv. However at the end of the day no matter what you see on tv or of people around you, if you are self assured nothing can hamper you. I have personally been exposed to all kinds of things but i never felt like i was loosing a grip on myself and i would give the credit for it to a good upbringing and ofcourse a good self sensor and moral detector :).
This is sexist thread.....accusing women of being stupid and not intelligent enough to differentiate between reality and fiction, and gettting affected by indian dramas..
mods please take notice....
its your brother ...man.....
I was unconsciously being non-sexist, treating men and women the same way. Thanks for reminding me, back on track now: Women are stupid and impressionable.
Please...i am being very non-sexist too....just that the topic was about indian dramas...and this from the original post
I have heard quite a few people telling** females in their house **not to watch Star Plus dramas or Colours TV/Zee TV/Star One etc drama serials. Many men complain that they **effect their wives behaviour **and influence them.
This is sexist thread.....accusing women of being stupid and not intelligent enough to differentiate between reality and fiction, and gettting affected by indian dramas..
mods please take notice....
When the OP provided examples, she referred to both women and men being affected by dramas. If you read what she wrote, she also gave an example of a son being influenced by dramas:
I am not sure if the effect is of what they see and get influenced by. e.g. I once one of my colleagues laugh about what his son said. They were passing by a restaurant in Lahore and sajji was getting made. For those of you havent seen how sajji is made, seekhs of chicken are put over coals. Seeing this, his son said abu yahan koi mar gya hai kia? Following what he had seen on Indian Tv, he believed that some one's burial was going on because of the ashes there.
Yeah, I think it makes people stupider...I don't normally watch those dramas, but the few that I have, I think there incredibly STUPID!!!!!!!!!!!! It just completely amazes me how people watch them! The super SLOW MOTION affections, the long, long monologues! UGHHHHH!!!! Who does that in real life!!!
I don’t see what’s wrong with what the kid said…yes one will ask what’s going on, the father can simply tell him what’s happening…
But i still think dramas are really stupid, for the reasons listed, the slow motion, the stupid story lines those 50 takes of the same face done up in 80 kg of makeup etc. :nahi:
Do you think TV dramas effect your behaviour & life?Do you think these soaps influence minds and behaviour?
I think it the other way around. The writers pickup their materials and plots from real life and turn it into a soap. So it is the real life which influences the soaps.
I have heard a different version of this joke . After grandfather died , a kid asked his dad “Abbu abbu , dada jee ka kirya karam kub ho ga aur unn key chita ko aag kon laga-a ga.”
So here you go people exaggerate and dramatize to make their point more powerful. Can you believe that a conversation like that ever happened between a Muslim father and son really happened ? I don’t.
I think it the other way around. The writers pickup their materials and plots from real life and turn it into a soap. So it is the real life which influences the soaps.
True but I guess we're talking about the foreign culture that is being portrayed in the drama influencing people.
Yeah, I think it makes people stupider...I don't normally watch those dramas, but the few that I have, I think there incredibly STUPID!!!!!!!!!!!! It just completely amazes me how people watch them! The super SLOW MOTION affections, the long, long monologues! UGHHHHH!!!! Who does that in real life!!!
Word...I happened to watch a scene on Star Plus yesterday where one look of surprise on an actor's face lasted for a whole minute with dramatic music, only for the other actor to say another dialogue followed by another look of shock/horror for two minutes. Without the effects the half hour episode would probably last 5 minutes.