as in really late into the early hours?
i dont think its right and dont think any reason is legitimate enough (other than emergencies)
what do parents think about it and how should they react?
i dont think its right and dont think any reason is legitimate enough (other than emergencies)
Re: Do you think its ok for girls to stay out late?
Nothing wrong with it at all. My parents are fine with my sister and me being out late at night.
Why the question specifically for girls? I don't believe in having double standards for boys vs. girls.
sorry ahmed bhai
- okay everyone this applies to boys too
come on people … what are your views on this?
i dont think its right and dont think any reason is legitimate enough
In my home staying out late has never been allowed for anyone except for when there is a genuine need and this rule applies to both girls and boys.
der se ghar aanaa koi achchhii baat nahiiN chaahe vo laRkaa ho yaa chaahe vo laRkii ho...vaise, agar vaalidain ko apne bachchoN pe aitabaar ho aur zaroorat ho [jaise job/study] to us meN maiN koi buraaii nahiiN samajhtaa...haaN, aisAAAAAA yaqeen honaa bahooot mushkil baat hai is liye bahtar yehii hai k bachchoN ko waqt se ghar lauTne kii paabandii karvaaii jaaye.
I dont see any reason to be worried if the parents know where their daughter/ son is at that late hour. If they are with friends cousins then thats fine. Its all about trust and ur upbringing. But if the parents sense trouble then they should put restrictions.
If they're safe, why not..
depends why they're out late, who they're with and where they are. and this goes for both guys and girls :)
I also agree no good for both gender mean boys and girls to stay out from house till late night.
I was never allowed to stay out late when I was younger, but when I turned 18, my parents sort of decided to give us a bit more freedom, so my parents are okay with me staying out late, as long as it's not every weekend ... so I stay out late from time to time, they don't mind they just want to know where I am and who I am with ... that's about it ... none of my other Pakistani friends are allowed to stay out late, so if Iøm out late, its with my white, black, or arabic friends ...
no
if the footpath is safe, would you sleep on it?
its not ok for anyone to stay-out late without any valid reason (no partying is not one of that). Why single out girls?
If my daughter or wife is at some girls-only-party during wee hours, I'd rather have them stay there till morning or I'll go pick them up.
^agreed..partying is probably the least valid reason for girls and boys both. I was allowed to stay overnight at my friends place for exams prep and group study in mt 3rd year of med school after my parents had become well acquainted with their families. I myself avoided staying late just for the sake of it or a random slumber party. On random day sessions, Id mostly be back by 8 or 9 in the evening.
Gained trust this way and thats the reason mum and dad then let me stay at my best friends place for her shadi for three weekends consecutively which was so much fun :D
I think it depends upon the location as well. Some places are more safe than others. My mom will be concerned if I'm out and it's past 10:30.
its not ok for anyone to stay-out late without any valid reason (no partying is not one of that). Why single out girls?
If my daughter or wife is at some girls-only-party during wee hours, I'd rather have them stay there till morning or I'll go pick them up.
make sense to me.
Well when I am living alone during the weekdays I am allowed to stay out late, for example for dinners, to see friends, the libaray, uni events etc etc. But I have to call my parents when I arrive, during the event and when I get back home lol. Same with my brother who is 19 and lives in central london alone for uni.
When my brother and I go home for the weekend, we dont even leave the house unless its with our parents, just out of respect for them.
Staying out late and hanging round street corners should NOT be allowed for anyone.
We were not allowed out till late as anything can happen nowadays and parents get worried
its not about if they can trust you, sometimes its just they are parents and can not help but worry
Enigmatic - I also was allowed to stay at a friends house overnight twice as it was her wedding
and my parents were family friends with them. It was great fun - we kept sneaking into the kitchen and eating mitai :P
I agree i dont think its wise to stay out late as anything can happen out there - mugged or even worse.
Where I live you see ppl walking their dogs at 1/2 in the morning.. It's so boring, nothing ever seems to happen..
Well You could say, dont cross the road because you could get run over by a bus?
If you cross without looking you will get hit by a bus. If you are taught how to be safe, which roads are safe to cross and to look before crossing the chances decrease.
Of course there is the occasional freak accident.
(p.s. This an analogy not literal)