maybe not grocery shopping, but luxury items..even like makeup, clothes, whatever…
i dont tell my husband, he doesnt ask either, unless its a big purchase, if it is clothes, it has to be an expensive item for me to mention it, i dnt mention makeup, however expensive…he doesnt ask…he on the other hand will tell me every thing hes bought, but thats mainly because he doesnt buy many items at all, i do all the buying…
does your partner ever ask -yeh kaha say liya?, IF THEY dont recognise the item…?
Not everything but she ends up finding out about most of the stuff anyway. We end up consulting each other about most things we buy.
She won't usually ask me where I bought something from but she sees whatever shows up on my credit card bill, so if she doesn't recognize any of the transactions, she'll ask what they are.
Re: do you tell your partner of every thing you buy
I'm used to seeing my parents share what they've purchased. My dad never says no, and since my mom sees all the finances she knows perfectly well what she can afford to splurge on and what she can't. So, I've never heard the arguments of "why did you buy this or that".
cos of financial budget he always knows what i have bought and i know what he has bought, infact we make the effort to go shopping together so we buy things the other likes too getting each others opinions etc cos after all he is the one who will be appreciating me in the clothes, jewellery, makeup that has been purchased :)
i really dont knwo why desi partners are encouraged to hide stuff.. especially women ... they will adjust the budget accordingly if they have bought somethign expensive but dont tell immediately .. they weasel their way around it and then some months down the road they will say oh look what i got... this is especially true if a few major expenditures have taken place in a row.. i find it sad
husband and i share it all... cuz we care that much bout the other's opinions... i cant even shop by myself.. i have to take him with me...
myabe its true fro women or even men that cant buy anything without being told not to, or knwo their partner wont allow it nor like their taste etc..
my foundation costs me 30quid from a place in central london, even though hubby wont say anything, i still dont tell him, not that he cares but i actually feel bit embarrsed by it all, or maybe i believe its too expensive just for a foundation where i can get it cheaper elsewhere, telling other people ur purchases makes it more real....so i dont.
my husband wants to buy an iphone, and i said nooo, cos it was 400quid...big difference, anyway bichara is saving for it now.
not really. what one doesnt know might hurt other or both later on.... emotionally or financially or both...
personally, we share it all. If I am denting our budget by buying something, she should know so we can adjust accordingly.
Nadz, dont be embarrassed, do what my wife did. She hooked me up with the expensive Clinique moisturizing lotion she use and now i dont raise a eyebrow while buying the lotion, in fact I say "yaar 2-3 lai loo, phir kaun aayee ga dubara" :)
you shouldnt feel embrassede nadz... my husband has a philosophy... allah dera hai kharch kernay ke liye.. na karogay tho nahi hojayegi allah ki taraf se.
your husband doesnt care so it should be even mroe easier to tell him.. if u are worried he may think you only buy expensive stuff.. then also share with him cheap stuff you have bought... this hiding business is only for those that worry their partners wrath for spending money or have cheap spouses .... even if we cant afford to buy something immediately.. we still sahre it as a couple.. our desire to buy it... encourage each other ke inshallah miljayega.. so when we do get it.. its already understood and accepted. :)
thing is, my husband buys the cheapest stuff for himself, like the cheapest gel/deodrant...although he doesnt really ask the prices for the stuff i buy for me, but he will ask if i buy him something thats expe..so if i buy him gel that costs alot more than what he pays he will tell me to go give it back.....tumne 3pounds ki gel li, mein ek pound ki leta houn, is mein theen aajayenigi..........and the rest.:/
She tells everyfrin ..and i do also except those things which are to surprize her ..gifts etc .. and usually i buy the gifts with cash so she dont find out from recipts statements lol..
thing is, my husband buys the cheapest stuff for himself, like the cheapest gel/deodrant...although he doesnt really ask the prices for the stuff i buy for me, but he will ask if i buy him something thats expe..so if i buy him gel that costs alot more than what he pays he will tell me to go give it back.....tumne 3pounds ki gel li, mein ek pound ki leta houn, is mein theen aajayenigi..........and the rest.:/