Do you support a ban on cellphone use while driving?

Re: Do you support a ban on cellphone use while driving?

More like corruption - it's a mutually advantageous arrangement.

Government is you. They don’t come from the skies to govern you. And secondly, San Francisco IS a mecca for gays. You don’t even have to waste money to sponsor a study for that or accumulate numbers. You can figure it out pretty easily just by being there. *Haur kuch? *:slight_smile:

They don't come from the skies to govern you

Actually in your case they do....Arnold dropping from the sky in Terminator 1. :)

Faisal, you are sadly mistaken if you think that Govt is us anymore. Govt. is lobbyist, big money, people with influence and yes the big evil corporations.
Laws like these are just another source of revenue for the cities who are running the budget deficit. I am so glad that a similar bill in Houston never saw the light of day.

Oh, you mean that nanga banga Arnold? :hehe:

Anyway, I can give you brownie points for not wearing your own seat-belts. But talking on the phone.. if you get into an accident and hurt someone else, god forbid, I recommend driving privileges revoked for 5 years. Kaisa hai? Fair?

Faisal, does san Jose has this stupid law? Allah ka shukar hai, I have not been involved in any accident, as far as revoking driving privileges go....I dont think so. Like I said, Houston stopped this non sense before it became a big issue.

San Jose doesn’t have their own traffic laws yaar.. California law applies… and they had a bill like this on the table, but it went no where. For all your dislike for big business and lobbies, I think on this one issue you are in sync with cellphone companies’ lobbies! :k: :hehe:

^ Who told you I am against big business and big lobbies...I am all for them. I voted for Bush did'nt I. I am against big govt. specially Dems/liberal/leftist govt. :)

Bhaijaan, sometimes cities do pass their own ordinance....

Oh so ‘big evil corporations’ was a term of endearment? I am sorry. Yeah… big business zinda baad (atleast cellphone companies, in this case!) :biggthumb:

I dont thinkk cell phone industries were totally against this…it gave them a chance to sell hands free kit, bluetooth phones, wireless kits etc…Its all worked out for them. Plus, no big corporations and half of these dems will be sitting with their thumbs up their behinds(see Al Gore)
:bravo:

I don't know about Texas, but here cellphone companies lobbied hard and publicly against the proposed law. Most handsfree kits are after market and cellphone companies are more worried to scare people from using their anytime minutes doing bak bak while in their cars.

i dont think its a distraction..i mean maybe when i am driving to a place i have never been to but like going to school, i dont need to pay that much attention, i have been driving to that place for the past 3 years!

They should ban people (women) doing make-up while driving, reading novels/books/maps should be banned too!

and also watching DVDs

see dvd is different..its not like u watch it the whole time, only at a red light

says who? How can you be so sure about that? I don't trust those soccer moms in those monster SUVs with dvd screen in front. They are stupid enough to drive SUVs so I expect anything from them.

Hey hey hey… don’t call SUV drivers as stupid. Kaleem bhai ne apni Suburban ke neechay day daina hai… phir na kehna.

Sorry nothing against kaleem. Is Kaleem a soccer mom? I didn't think so.

He is a proud SUV driver. There!

He is a proud texan so he's got to follow the rest.

yea wats wrong with suvs!! and i think the only thing that really distracts me is when something drops on the floor n i try to pick that up while driving or talkin on the phone, eating and trying to find my way..its not talkin and driving its when more than two or three things are involved or picking up stuff from the floor or trying to itch your right foot or staring at a h2 on the other side of the road when driving 60mph in rain..stuff like this is bad I KNOW :D