==Do You Still Correct your Name Pronunciation for the Gora folk:)

Do You Still Correct your Name Pronunciation to the Gora folk:faizy:

Do you still do or have finally given up finally. I know I have. The only downside is if there is a Desi on the other end and I have already said my name in Engrezi style:bummer:

Re: ==Do You Still Correct your Name Pronunciation for the Gora folk:)

yeah, because Kamal is really not that hard to say, if they mispronounce it its just laziness on their part. I may have noted before that one of the sales guys at my previous companies kept calling me Kameel (camille) and when I had enough of it, Andy became Undie..and he sorted himself out pronto.

That sales guy did it on purpose :chai:

I still correct mine and will continue to do so :P

That sure was a good way of teaching a lesson.:cb:Did you not break out into laughter when you used to call him that. I cant imagine calling someone that with a straight face.

With my name I have tried telling them, but its usually an enlongated Aaaa sound that they start making…So finally this year I have stopped trying:bummer:

Good for you:)

My office friend's who are Filipinos they called me Aamir :(

I correct only those to whom I know I will have interaction for a long time.

no! kion ky man khud bhi un ky nam sahih nahi bolti tu woh kabhi correct nahi kerty tu main yeh nyki kion keron:D

No need to since I have an american name......my last name is a continuous struggle though...

Angrezi to choRo, even North Indians can't pronounce my name properly

for Sri they say siri,

some new people asks me how to pronounce my name before they say something

but old folks whom i interact regularly pronounce it properly

Aisha is well umm not hard but people still ahve a hard time in uni... my program's dean calls me ayii-eii-she ... it is kind of weird. i always tell him it is ayi-sha not ayii-eii-she but in vain.

some american professors of mine call me ashia or alisha even .. some call me ashi ..

not one has called me aisha, the way it is supposed to be pronounced.

HILARIOUS!!!! Thats so funny.

My first name is english anyway, so theres no problem. However my surname is desi and one day i gave a colleague my email add over the phone which was firstname.surname and company add.

He sounded really confused and first had to check he had heard right, after that he actually said to me "But u dont sound like a PATEL" (thats not really my surname!). He then proceeded to tell me how surprised he is and tried to find out if i was really originally ethnic or just married someone to end up with a name like that. By this time my manager could hear my rsponses and offered to report him bcos to her this was bordering on racial harassment.

Everyone try this, ask any westerner near u to pronounce the name "Zahoor", then let me know they outcome.

Well.. Goray Ppl always mess up my name.. my name is Farman and they call me FAR MAN... and usually only Goray PPL mess it up.. Kallus dont... but I always correct em. i dont even let them call me Far man aik dafa bhi nahin...

sme ppl actually hav a time pronouncing SARA. :(

my cousin’s wifey’s last name is Zahoor. i know goray people mess it up. at the wedding when we were at the hotel for the mehndi.. the manager came up to us and is like so it is the wedding of ---- za’ho with ---- gay’aaa?

he messed up both zahoor and gaya :grumpy:

Never met one who can pronounce Syed right ............ But they are fine with me middle name :)

As they have an irish version of that .

Paddy?

Zahoooooooooooo!!!

Za-wooooow!!!

Za-hor

I dont understand y ppl cant say Syed, that should b easy.

Sara - do they say Sarah?

Now that’s bit offensive … for many it like calling them Green Niger

anyway the irish version is Aidan ........ now ya r free to guess the real one :)