Do you only cook desi food at home?

Or do you mix it up a lot?

Is it normal for you to cook only desi food on a daily basis and then only on special occasions you’ll find yourself cooking non-desi?

Re: Do you only cook desi food at home?

define DESI :snooty:

I make pakistani food some times. Some time burgers type stuff.

Desi = daal, chawal, biryani, sabzi, roti, paratha, etc.

DESI = reha

Every weekend is non-desi...during the weekdays it's desi. Works out easier for us right now. I think as my son grows older and starts going to school (lunches etc) then i wll just randomly mix it up.

Mostly Desi food is cooked in my home. Occasionally Chinese (rice, soup) or pasta. Baked chicken on the weekends using some Desi spices in marinaded, but I still don’t think that makes it an overall Desi dish. :hmmm:

And nah…even on special occasions and dawats…it’s still mostly a Desi menu. :hehe:

I put soy sauce in Qorma. Will that count as desi dish or Chinese dish? :hmmm:

PS: Desi + Pastas + Noodles + Chinese + Middle Eastern (begum has lived there for good 5-6 years before getting married so she learned) + Amreeki (burgers, steaks)

We also love Mexican food but never tried it at homes except for those hard shell tacos

Steak. Yum

Today first time I am making desi food tbh its pain in my butt. American dishes are so easy to make. You can just put that in oven and it cooks. In pakistan, "do ghante hogaye daal gal he rahi hai. Sab bhoke mar jaen ge"
gosh I am so bad at writing Urdu in english

^Dang. That was pretty decent Urdu.

I want karelay stuffed with qeemah. Haven’t had those in ages. :yummy:

yes, mostly desi. Husband would even want naan/roti with steak :bummer: so even the chinese and other cuisine is desified for him :smack: but I make other cuisines for kids and they mostly prefer that over desi

pure desi food. ....pulao, biryani ,haleem . vegetables, meat... daals .. and other desi snacks
.i tried roll paratha at home once

some time we rarely order pizza.

Definitely mix it up or it gets too boring & repetitive.

On this note, I can get away without cooking Desi food for at lease 2 weeks provided I get my "chatkhaara" through Thai or Mexican food. Otherwise you gotta have Desi. Nothing beats it.

Sure...no problem.

Desi = brown...anyone South Asian.

Depends on my timetable. If I am busy then no. If I have time then desi food all the way.

like bhutan, nipal ?

Mostly desi food for dinner (unless mom is sick then pizza it is). For lunch, my mom mixes it up sometimes with pasta, Chinese rice, stir fry, burritos, etc. If we are out, we almost never eat desi food.

Only western food for my flat stomach.

Do you only cook desi food at home?

My mother only makes desi khanay @ home. So sometimes I made fusion and western stuff like pasta, lasagna and pizza for sisters. But I still prefer to make desi khanay like dal and sabzi.

Jo marzi Monk...koi aur thread khol lo is mauzu pe...vahan javab mil jayega.