Do you golf?

So how many of you are avid golfers?

I remember kaka atom bum mentioned once upon a time, that he plays golf. I know Azkar plays it off and on.

Many of you may have golfed at some point. Some of you may even have bought clubs which are collecting dust in your garage. I am more interested in those who play regularly (once a week or twice a month, minimum). And especially those who keep improving their game.

By the way, here is a random factoid… 39 million people played 500 million rounds of golf in the United States alone in 2005.

Re: Do you golf?

does putt putt count? :)

Considering no one else stepped up in more than 30 hours.... dude, you da man! Not only will putt putt count, it will walk, stroll and run too...

wat about electronic putt putt :hmmm:? (i was once mastered in it :yahoo:)

I started golfing regularly last year, but after 6 months i stopped cuz the golf course is quite far from where I live.

I used play regularly in Dubai, but it's on and off in Oman, reason being unfortunately all the courses in Oman are brown. Even here weather permitting I golf whenever I can. I am not very good at it, the handicap is +21. And yes I do own my clubs, good old galloway.

Needs to buy a new putter but no time for it.

BTW have you ever heard the term "jabal iron"?

My other-half is a keen golfer, he was a Pro when residing in Kenya too - also he now has his own business in Golf Equipments - so if anyones interested in purchasing any latest product, PM me and you can contact him directly.

Yup. My home course's just a few minutes from me so I try to sneak in a few visits in the morning. I'm more suited to the driving range though.

Yes. Started playing 5 years ago.

I play Twice a week during April and September, and twice a month between October and March.

I am finding it difficult to improve on 11 handicap. Been stuck on it for the past 10 months :(

11 handicap is pretty good. Almost scratch.

This is probably one advantage of living where I live. Plenty of golf courses of all levels. From private country club settings to nicely maintained public courses to executive courses for a quick round during lunch break. There are about 10+ 18-hole golf courses (including 5 championship courses) within 25 minutes of driving distance from my home. Weekday twilight rates start at $13, and weekend full rate peaks out at about $150.

I started playing about a year ago. Driving is patchy, but can get good distance (300+ yards about 60% of time). Fairways hit about 50%. Approach shots are ok (GIR about 25%). Chipping and putting is passable, but nothing great (still occasionally 3 putt, especially on newer courses with hard greens).

Taylor-Made r7 460 driver and Odyssey 2-ball putter. Rest is just a beginners set (my driver and putter individually cost more than the rest of the set) that came with irons and woods. Added a couple of wedges (nothing fancy). Plan to get new set of irons (Ping or Adams) and get them fitted.

woods?

handicap is 17. driving range about 100m from the house and living in a place with one of the best golf courses in the world. I need to play more.

I just started playing this year, took some lessons when i was in Karachi in January but wasn't able to play till the weather changed so lost most of what I'd learned. Been watching a lot of videos on GolfLink.com. Last Sunday did pretty well, compared to previous ones. So its a good start. Currently just a starter set. And I know about the cost of those damned drivers. Have my eye on the TaylorMade Burner club that just came out. All one needs to do is touch the ball and u can easily do 200+. One of the guys had last Sunday so tried it out. Super club I tell u.

Does he deal with everything or is it restricted to certain brands? Do you have a website or examples of what he has?

lo ji gayee bhains paani mein, got invited by senior mgmt to join them and some clients for golf in sept..at this shindig done for client execs in some exotic locale each year..

and i suck..

I will just embarass myself on teh golf course, butr I am not going to miss out on the frikkin retreat .. may have to injure my hand or get strategic food poisoning...

and better start taking lessons so next time I can play somewhat decent :D

Pir Sahib,

Aap din mein theen baar in videos ko lein, har khaanay se pehle.

Aur nihar moonh issay istemaal karein:

Allah shifa day ga :slight_smile:

shukriya ji...

I play once a week since I started a couple of months ago. Have bought starter clubs and am slowly working on my handycap.

Do any of you guys use any software on your PDA’s for golf? I was thinking of getting one of those GPS enabled apps, e.g. IntelliGolf Eagle Edition or the GPS Golf Pro. Anyone have any recommendations?

Bhaijan, looks like you are a natural. For someone that has only been playing for a year, these are good stats.

I was using TaylorMade r5 (Neutral) driver for a year (until about a month ago), but now changed to Callaway X460 driver. It has added about 20 yards, and it is slightly more accurate. I am using Mizuno MX-23 irons (graphite shafts) and am very happy with tem.

Good luck with your game. I have a feeling with the stats you mentioned above, if you play regularly, your handicap will come tumbling down.

It is important to have regular lessons with the club pro, even if you feel your game is improving. It has helped me keep the bad habits out :)

Not playing as often as I'd like to,, but yes, still on and off... mostly just an occasional hit at the driving range these days.. I should get out on the course more oten.

Faisal bhai, I thought you already were a golfer and not someone who just took it up a year ago.... 300+ yards 60 percent of the time is pretty impressive... Other stats are OK as well,,,

As beginners, we all try to hit long and hard and sometimes forget about the main goal... to get the scores down. If you are a beginner... 3 wood/metal should be your best friend. An occasional whack on a wide par 5 with the driver is OK. 25 percent greens in regulation .. a bit low.. but then again, for a beginner, not bad. Chipping and putting is THE most important part of your game Putting alone is HALF your game. A standard par 72 has 36 putts in it... ... someone who can chip and putt well can dramatically lower their handicap.

You should play to your strengths... If someone hits good irons and knows he sucks with the driver.... he can still hit an iron off the tee and be on the green in regulation if the pressure is on and he wants to play safe... Its almost like chess... you against the course... and one shot can be hit 50 different ways using various clubs in your bag.

Lessons are great.... if you dont get them often... trust me... try a couple and you'll realize how great they are. When you start,,,, its crucial that you get the basics right and try and perfect your swing before anything else... once the swing is right,, the distance and accuracy will come automatically with time.

God, I should play more often! Keep us posted on how your are doing at the course... and guys.. lets make this a good golf thread... we should discuss issues with our swings, or anything else...

I have an old set of Callaway X-14 and Titleist 975D driver.... (have about 10 drivers and another full wilson set sitting at home gathering dust)

Oh, one more thing... as a beginner,,, i'd recommend oversized or regular clubs... dont go for a professional set... its a bit tough handling a professional set (they have significantly smaller sweetspots)... oversized/regular clubs are more forgiving for us beginners. I know PING has been around for a long time and is a very respected brand... dont know much about ADAMS or atleast didnt know they were in the same league as your PINGS and the titleists and the callaways and the taylormades etc.