Do we need Shoaib Actor?/ Not a certainty for the Indian tour.

Re: Do we need Shoaib Actor?

i m not a fan of shoaib akhtar and i m really sick of his attitude. But PAKI team desperately needs him. Just imagine urself batting against that guy. i call him a CHEETAH for that. If i was a captain i would have put him out of squad for a lil while to just let him understand his so called AUKAAT. but truth is truth we do need him eventhough our other bowlers are getting fit there is no replacement of shoaib,s attacking.

This is the kind of attitude that an average Pakistani cricket fan cum anti-Shoaib Akhtar sheep has; no wonder the bandwagon is overloaded. Dog? Ass? Do you ever see Australian fans referring to Warne by such names (God knows he has had a lot of “off-the-field” activities!)? These are the same people who weren’t satisfied even after Shoaib had picked up two five wicket hauls in two test matches againts the Aussies; the excuse:“If a bowler bowls for that long, he is bound to get wickets…”. No, he is not. Sami is there for you sheep to see. It takes a special bowler to get wickets against the best side in the world. It’s too bad that our people are too busy cursing him off like he is the second coming of Satan. People, That Is All.

W.O Shoab Aktar, there's little difference between Pakistan and BD teams.

We can do better without him

people in this forum have lost it...kick shoaib akhtar out...HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA.
Man, he is one of the most feared bowlers around the world, and us Pakistanis talk about kicking him out. I really mean this when i say this, its so unfortunate that Pakistanis treat him with such disrespect. He plays his heart out, and he still gets critisized. Leave his personal life out of this. Their are millions of Pakistanis abroad that do stupid stuff, your not responsible for all of them. There is no team in the world that would not make him their main strike bowler. He just does wonders...i remember a phrase my dad said to me. He said "If one pakistani does something good, 10 pakistanis come running behind him and drag him down." The same is happening to Shoaib Akhtar. Learn to appreciate raw talent, otherwise more people will leave pakistan like the millions who moved abroad and artists like adnan sami.

Ahhh, Another Shoaib Bashing thread!!

Bhai Logo! As much as I am pissed at him for breaking down yet another time, I know that he is a very good bowler who is our most valuable bowler these days. And If we want to succeed in this VB series, his contributions will be important in this regard. So I hope he gets fit for remaining matches.

Having said that, I was VERY susprised the way Inzi reacted after Shoaib's injury yesterday. He was not concerned at all, just had a look at Shoaib and asked Azhar to carry on. I dont like to speculate but all doesnt seem too well between those two.

This is the kind of attitude that an average Pakistani cricket fan cum anti-Shoaib Akhtar sheep has; no wonder the bandwagon is overloaded. Dog? Ass? Do you ever see Australian fans referring to Warne by such names (God knows he has had a lot of "off-the-field" activities!)? These are the same people who weren't satisfied even after Shoaib had picked up two five wicket hauls in two test matches againts the Aussies; the excuse:"If a bowler bowls for that long, he is bound to get wickets.....". No, he is not. Sami is there for you sheep to see. It takes a special bowler to get wickets against the best side in the world. It's too bad that our people are too busy cursing him off like he is the second coming of Satan. People, That Is All.

look at his one day record. he is not a oneday cricket bowler. he likes to bowl freely. all over the 4 feet area around the wickets. The reason he get away in text match is coz of no wide balls. Look at his one day record. Very OK avergae. Very high (almost 5 runs.over) average.

He is just not a 1day player. i agree he has some capabalities, we can use them only in text. He is egoistic and thinks that this is his "Ehsan" on us that he is playing for our country. This man is just simply not a sportsman.

I was checking stats and was astonished that this guy has not bowled a sucessful yorker in almost 2 years. Know any fast bowler who doest ball a yorker? This is a specialy of fast bowler. Know Imran, wasim, waqar? they always did. even wasim and waqar bowled wicket taking yorks in the last days of their crick. Now know the ball dillon bowled out salman butt. Thats what a fast bowler bowls like.

Shoiab and sami both bowls Short picth and outside the leg or off stumps. even more pathetic. shoiab has NO place in 1day macthes, he might have in test.

His inconsistency with bowling, and attitude and no fighting spirit has led us to loose this series. Thanks God he got injured, lese we would have been chasing over 300 runs for sure.

We need to have him send back to pakistan. he need to feel as much insult as those 3 players did when they were sent after test matches.

SHOAIB JUST SUCKS V V V BAD

O what fools these mortals be!

All this talk about the only Pakistan player to be selected in the World XI? The only guy in the Pakistan team who can walk into ANY nation's test OR one day squad. Damn, you guys need your head checked.

After the departure of the two W's, matchwinning bowlers have been extremely scarce, so don't kill off a dying breed.

when the breed itself is eager for self-destruction, where do we stand to help or not :P

Those who consider him the most dangerous bowler in the world, think again plz. All I see is the so called scared batsmen hitting him all over the park in his first and last spell. We hardly see probing, once in a blue moon I would say. And don't make an excuse of not having a supporting bowler from the other hand. Do what you can do the best. Give in 100%. The country has spend millions on you moron, even had you your own trainer/physio. Itnay nakhray tou Imran ya Wasim ne bhi kabhi nahi kiye. What he is proud of, I never get it. And the difference b/w Warne and him is professionalism and dedication. Yes, Sami has become a flat bowler, but one can clearly see the dedication in his efforts and body language. There are cricketers who say the cricket is in their blood, and then we have this stupid telling Channel 9 that he didn't want to play this game to begin with. Like he is just enjoying the attention and fame with no serious thinking or efforts in the game.

Those who think we will be another WI without him, think this way. Three medium pacers with swing and seam under their belt would make a very good bowling attack. If Aussies can make Lee sit for 8 months using their Medium fasties and winning throughout that period, we can do it too. Its just the mater of grooming youngsters. We can't afford a player who is not serious for the game and who breaks down every third match.

If we can pick this poondibaaz off a Pindi street, why can't we groom some really hardworking teens playing their hearts out in clubs and regional teams. There should be Fast bowling talent hunt program in all the major cities of Pakistan one by one. They should held it for 15 days atleast in each city and give an open invitation to the fasties of the city and select 3 to 5 from the lot. Look at Munaf and Pathan, they both were discovered in a similar program. Take an example of Wasim Akram, he was picked up by Miandad from Lahore's ameture cricket ground, and we all know how big did he make.

In this forum we bash shoaib akhta more than we talk about sports...honestly this thread made me realize how stupid people can get. Shoaib Akhtar is a warrior, you can see his warrior spirit when he bowls, He has the ability to demolish a teams batting order, and this ability is limited to only a few great bowlers around the world. What do you guy want to do, replace Akhtar with Rana...what a joke. THE WORLD HAS ACKNOWLEDGED AKHTARS GREATNESS, WHY CAN'T PAKISTANIS???

acha jee, this is really new information :eek: . Shoaib Akhter:clown: will never be among all time greats like Wasim Waqar and Imran

I disagrea, his strike rates are much better than wasim akram's, waqar younis's and imran khans. By strike rate I mean how many runs he gives up before he gets a wicket. This in many ways proves that he is indeed a better bowler than those three. Also you must keep in mind that unlike the two W's and Imran, Akhtar has never really had a solid bowling partner. Thus it was him, the sole bowler applying pressure to the batting order. In my mind Akhtar will be a legend.

i am not disagreeing to the fact that hes an excellent bowler when hes giving his 100 percent. my ONLY problem with akhtar is that at times, he doesnt give his 100 percent…

yes hes deadly when hes charging in at full pace… but he isnt when hes just jogging to the wicket to deliver a 135 km/h thunderbolt :rolleyes: and when he does that, u can tell that hes bwoling half heartedly and not giving his 100 percent… the match against australia, did u guys see him bowl… i dont care if ur getting hit for a six when i know ur giving ur 100 percent, but dont be half arsed. and then watch his couple of overs against west indies, and he was pretty good, looked like he,s into it, trying hard. so why cant he try hard in every match? har ganday match kay baad zaleel hona zaroori hay? before giving a good performance again? why not aim for a great performance everytime ur playing a macth???

lack of commitment… thats inexcusable.. no matter how great u are… so get ur act together actor boy. or pack up.

Those who consider him the most dangerous bowler in the world, think again plz. All I see is the so called scared batsmen hitting him all over the park in his first and last spell. We hardly see probing, once in a blue moon I would say. And don't make an excuse of not having a supporting bowler from the other hand. Do what you can do the best. Give in 100%. The country has spend millions on you moron, even had you your own trainer/physio. Itnay nakhray tou Imran ya Wasim ne bhi kabhi nahi kiye. What he is proud of, I never get it. And the difference b/w Warne and him is professionalism and dedication. Yes, Sami has become a flat bowler, but one can clearly see the dedication in his efforts and body language. There are cricketers who say the cricket is in their blood, and then we have this stupid telling Channel 9 that he didn't want to play this game to begin with. Like he is just enjoying the attention and fame with no serious thinking or efforts in the game.

Those who think we will be another WI without him, think this way. Three medium pacers with swing and seam under their belt would make a very good bowling attack. If Aussies can make Lee sit for 8 months using their Medium fasties and winning throughout that period, we can do it too. Its just the mater of grooming youngsters. We can't afford a player who is not serious for the game and who breaks down every third match.

If we can pick this poondibaaz off a Pindi street, why can't we groom some really hardworking teens playing their hearts out in clubs and regional teams. There should be Fast bowling talent hunt program in all the major cities of Pakistan one by one. They should held it for 15 days atleast in each city and give an open invitation to the fasties of the city and select 3 to 5 from the lot. Look at Munaf and Pathan, they both were discovered in a similar program. Take an example of Wasim Akram, he was picked up by Miandad from Lahore's ameture cricket ground, and we all know how big did he make.

v well said. he has no place in our cricket team. i dont care how much revenue and publicity he brings to the match. Just care how well he performs. He is not serious. Kick him out...

Frankly, I used to be Akhtar's fan, but not anymore. I think, he needs to keep his priorities straight. He puts more time in media defending his run-up than anything else. He needs to listen more. Secondly, he is 29 now and almost is his last stages. If he doesn't shorten-up his run-up, he won't be around for much time and injuries will continuously come his way.

BTW, when we talk about 2Ws and Imran, they were a different class. Their aim was to get the batsman out, not how fast they could ball. This made them try to throw all kinds of different bowls. This guy didn't even bowl one yorker length ball in all the tests and previous two one-days which used to be his and other Paki fast bowlers weapon.

^ ^ All bashers must ‘Re-learn’ their cricket if they love it.

Shoaib Akhter never had a ‘dope’ related problem. He has other activities of ‘showing off’ that pisses off many of ^ you guys. :rolleyes:

Wasim Akeram did have dope problems with Amir Sohail and Abdul kadir were even arrested for the offence while on a Caribbean tour. Pakistan’s high commission was involved for their ‘bail’ and release. :elmo:

Akram’s house was stoned in Lahore after the 1999 WC.

Inzi’s effigy was set a blazed in Karachi after the recent 1st test against Aussie.
Picture is found in the IMG or KK GS forum.

I don’t appreciate the fact that " Pakistani Fans " are capable of using such harsh comments and hurl vulgar, abusive comments for a player. Do this name calling on his face, and probably you’ll never watch a cricket match or smell a cricket ball again :devil:

Where are the elements of “Game enjoyment” “appreciation of a player”

Hell with you *Mailay (dirty) Coaches * :mad:

OK! No Shoaib Akhter then,:mad2: Bring/support who ever you wish,but stuff your statistics and match figuers,they prove F*** all.

“Quoting” match figures and statistics goes on to show how well you know your cricket at the ground level.

This very forum criticized ‘Naveed-ul-hasn’ during his debut and onto this day, but the guy is consistent performer and works very hard. His figures might not do justice to his game. His energy on the field and “foxy” style of bowling and batting is the main thing.

**I hope and I curse the “Loving Fans of Pakistan” that I hope that Pakistan doesn’t win a****nother game of cricket from here on. Why? Because you don’t deserve that little much fun of losing and winning. **

I’m proud to share the grand history of Pakistan Cricket referring to all the WC matches and the WC championship while ^ some of you were still in the cradle :mad:

Brother first get your terms straight. Strike rate is number of balls one bowls per wicket and average is number of runs one gives per wicket.

How come a single term means that he is better bowler than those three ‘in many ways’??? Am I missing something here?
Secondly, Look at number of matches Wasim Waqar played and then look at Shoaib’s. Shoaib has a long way to go before he can even imagine to be bracketed with these legends. Regarding your argument about the pressure from the other end, that is partially true that Ws performed in pairs but they single handedly won matches consistently as well. Mind you pro-shoaib here and I agree he is a great bowler and valuable to our team but I would advise you to come up with better arguments.

nice view saby

they way he broke down and threw the ball away and hopped away was pretty demoralising for the whole team, ok leave inzi out maybe he wasn’t very disappointed or ‘surprised’. :hehe:]

yet shabi has no injuries to worry about when partying hard at a niteclub a day or 2 before? imran khan was right, pitches in oz r hard and that torpedo like run up will put more strain on the hamstring before delivery. but one isn’t a pakistani if they don’t do man mani.

i’m not going to diss him or dat or say we don’t need him cos frankly speaking we do he is our premier bowler until someone else comes along and performs better then him, 'til then we have to stick with a wicket taking bowler in the shape of shabi.

he just needs to work on his fitness and learn to listen to ppl like imran khan when they offer muft constructive criticism. + ham watnau ‘everyday’ threads like these are disappointing to read cos not all players have a purple patch which lasts a lifetime we need to accept all athlete’s will have their off days 2.

i’m just waiting for shabeera, gul to return to full fitness and then shabi, shabeerta, gul 3 perfect seamers in1 lineup and with rana coming along nicely they’llk soon gel. i’d include sai only if he completely changes his rhythm and start taking wkts which he is employed 2 do.