Do we need Shoaib Actor?/ Not a certainty for the Indian tour.

really? I know he is the best “bowler” we currently have, but his injury / fitness keeps him away from playing any game without leaving field. He does not want to shorten his run up, because he is an aeroplane, but he crashes so frequently (more than Microsoft’s operating systems). With him in the team, we are mostly playing with 10 players.

I personally think that our batting is getting better and better (I’m not saying it after Akmal’s century alone) :alhamd: , our other bowlers are about to get fit i.e. Shabbir Ahmed, Umar Gul, Naveedul Hasan is getting better though he still needs much improvement esp no balls. Razzaq’s bowling is still going down, occasionally he bowls better, but still he lacks a lot…

Coming back to the “original” topic. Shouldn’t we find and groom more youngsters who are more reliable, who can at least finish ONE complete series without being unfit? Shoaib can’t play one full game, a series is a much farther cry. We don’t need someone to throw a ball at 161 Km/hr, anyone who can throw b/w 135-150 with accuracy (LnL) can do wonders.

Bring it on (ready for tomatoes :smiley: ).

Re: Do we need Shoaib Actor?

waisay ab tu shoaib 145 tak he hai....
he has gain a lot of wait [91 kgs]
meray khial say capt. bana dain tu perform karay ga...[remember wasim akram, uskay
bhi padhay thay tight walay aur phir A BIG RESPONSIBILTY]
ya phir shahid afridi cuz he is only guy... jo ussay sambhal sakta hai..
lkn abhi inzamam sahi hai.... west indies kay liye...

instead of cursing, sab bhai mil ke shoaib akhter ke liyay dua karen. ke usko khuda sehat de. uski roti rozi chalti rahey.

Roti rozi chalti rahay aur woh party baazi karta rahay at the expense of our team?

why don't we find someone who respects his job and really "deserves" that roti/rozi? :-|

Shoaib Akhter had quite a few ‘off the field’ problems in the past. Some of them get mounted so high in the media’s glossaries the poor guy suffers 'mentally and then physically. Who would take so much negitavity and criticism. I can ‘see’ him cry some times.
Now a new scandal of him visiting nightclubs during the 3rd tests is surfacing.
I consider this a premeditated onslaught, and interference with ones private life , as long as it don’t hinder his match participation
And I don’t even want to talk about his career figures, b’cause they’r so mixed and unjustified.

I bet my last scratch, you get another high caliber F.bowler who would also take wickets
From 1 end. It would be a different ball game I’ sure.

Shoaib can take quick wickets with an old ball, specially the tail ends. This was the scenario
During Wasim akeram and Waqar as well.
The problem lies with his sparing partner and perhaps some new mental approach. :smokin::k:

Ganday timaters and andayz pernay he walay hain ab :rolleyes::k:

Robert!!! kyon bhai woh kisi ka mama lagta hai kiya? PCB already spent some Rs. 22 Million (ghareeb awaam ka paisa) on this haram khor, fit hokar hi nahi deta salaa.

ab kuch bolonga tou saare teenage bachay uth kar aajaaingay shoaib worshiping ke liye :mad2:

He once said, that if he was in Austrailia, he would have more successful. By looking at Aussie selection panel, he might have been kicked out forever after first series, that too if he ever got a chance to climb all the way from under 16 - under 19 - Provincial team B - Provincial Team XI - Austraila A - Austrailia 16 squad and then final playing XI.

I know he is not playing well, some arguments with the team players nit/bit or injury as seen on tv while playing against WI during the 2nd Odi in VB series. Smooth guy as you mentioned about the Australian performance chain, you forgot he is just a part of Pakistani cricket team not Australian, however you can always argue would he ever be this brash/ injured = Shoaib AK-tOr if he was born and selected to play in Australia? I doubt that!

No one can deny that he has talent and can perform with the ball, How can you forget Sachin and Dravid stumps shattered the very first ball they faced. and there are many examples which you can find if you look back, Some of them are of recent past which tour of australia from the white-wash test series but they were good only for that session or (s). but still he can get you wickets.

The problem lies when it comes to managing him and his long tounge, so you can easily say that there are loop holes in PCB which say "Jee sir" "theek hai" "aap kay liya kuch bhi"

I can say this with assurity that Shoaib carrier wont be long enough as it was for the W's (even they fighted like cats with each other)
What is the answer to all this why keey such a spoiled brat in the team? you dont have a reliable alternative to him (for now) So let him sing his song, Good news is always at the corner but kiya karey salay hum log o ko Highways or Freeways ki aadat ho gay ha, we want to driver fast and want a fast exit

Dont be so harsh. All Shoaib needs is complete bed rest.

thats what I meant too “complete” bed rest :smiley:

In past 2-3 years, how many test or ODI series has Shoaib completed without breaking down? just curious.

I agree that when fit and when he delivers, he is really great, but then again that is a big IF and big WHEN.

I really think its time to move on.

Take example of Irfan Pathan, does he bowl in 155+? NO. He bowls smartly, and he was the highest wicket taker of last year!

We don't need him. A new fast bowler should be introduced now. Sami and Actor are nakaara.

Tomorrow if he takes 6 wickets against Aussies, sab ki hawwa phir nikal jayay gi. :p

That Rana is our best fast bowler right now is laughable.

At this point, only Robert got it right "sab bhai mil ke shoaib akhter ke liyay dua karen. ke usko khuda sehat de".

shoaib ko nanga kar kay jootay maaro. he aint worth b in our team. show baaz, draamay baaz na ho. lakh laanat hai uspar.

bring it on (i m not gonna defend him anymore)

his sample over.

W.NB.W. Ball1. W. Ball2. NB. W. Ball3 ........

****ing retarted.

We don't need him. A new fast bowler should be introduced now. Sami and Actor are nakaara.

well-said

Former drug addict-cum-poondibaaz-turned-cricketer needs to be kicked out as soon as possible. He is in the team, only because......

1. We still think that we are the nation who produces quality fast bowlers who can carry the legacy of Sarfaraz, Imran, Wasim and Waqar. We need to get out of this fool's paradise as soon as possible and take a look at the finger and wrist magic of the not-so-fast like McGrath, Gillipse, Irfan and even Balaji. We need bowlers like Shabbir and Umer, who know and who do stick to the basics using a medium pace to deliver goods.

2. The cricket sponsers are pushing PCB's behind to not to remove the biggest actor from the stage. Cricket is more commercial than ever. Some players are highly saleable, and unfortunately, this dog is among them.

Tell me another fast bowler who is capable of taking 5'ers against Australia, and I'll be damned if I still keep supporting Shoaib Akhtar. Really.

^ Of course everyone has to prove themself once in a blue moon like Afridi sahab.

These are ^ the very opinions and expressions that make and destroy a talent.
I met Shoaib twice in 1999 WC at Lords and than at Heathrow. The guy is little naive and childish so he felt quite bad after dismayed performance and had tears in his eyes at the end of the final at lords. So what? , You should have listened to some of the “Ganday” comments the crowd had to throw at him. No wonder the Players take different flights when returning home,
Than again at Heathrow with his ‘Girl Friend’ in a rather boyish mood but decent. Talked about his county commitments and ambitions to become a ‘Quality’ player.
If we could use less of the crown emotions in the game.

He is sensitive and reacts to his surrounding. Pakistani nation is well known for treating their players indifferently.
While you’re playing an ‘away’ game there’s no assurance of your family safety back home. Or at least the effigy burning and cursing is obvious.
Even Waqar,Akram,Imran and Inzimam where not spared by these fanatics.

So it’s all in a days work. He knows that if you perform well you’ll make the team; if you don’t then you’re sent off unceremoniously.

Shoaib Akhter’s kind of bowlers are one of a kind only, they are lethal if only used strategically and not sporadically like Inzi does. Can’t we learn from the Australian captain how he utilizes his quick or spin bowlers? You can not use such bowlers flat out in a test scenario, Shoaib is different and requires a plan for his each spell. If you just tell him to go and do his best then that could back fire on the team.
We mistreated Mohammad Zahid apart from his own injuries and poor physic, and we should learn some valuable lessons from such incidents.

In ODI such bowlers require a strategic bowling partner and they “tag” each other taking turns and thus unsettling the mid / tail to score any run s without losing their wickets.
It’s quite simple. But we chose to ignore these facts because he has ‘Personality clash’ with the rest of the world and Pakistanis. It can only happen in India & Pakistan.

Pakistan ZindaBad :jhanda:

Actually he is unique in his own way. I agree.
Okay...I do like him. He's a human and he can play not-so-well some time. Hoping he'll be fit soon.

Former drug addict-cum-poondibaaz-turned-cricketer needs to be kicked out as soon as possible. He is in the team, only because......

1. We still think that we are the nation who produces quality fast bowlers who can carry the legacy of Sarfaraz, Imran, Wasim and Waqar. We need to get out of this fool's paradise as soon as possible and take a look at the finger and wrist magic of the not-so-fast like McGrath, Gillipse, Irfan and even Balaji. We need bowlers like Shabbir and Umer, who know and who do stick to the basics using a medium pace to deliver goods.

2. The cricket sponsers are pushing PCB's behind to not to remove the biggest actor from the stage. Cricket is more commercial than ever. Some players are highly saleable, and unfortunately, this dog is among them.

yaar bilkul sahee kaha hai. This dog needs to go. I dont care how well he was. he is an ass and is the biggest actor. He doesnt even deserve to b in any kind of sports. just have him sit out as we are giving a rest to younas. if we loose a match, thats fine atleast we know we dont have somoen unreliable as he is.

he doesnt have any professional attitude. very childish, stupid attitude towards everything. he is not a player at all. yeah, he can b a mascot for sure.

These are ^ the very opinions and expressions that make and destroy a talent.
I met Shoaib twice in 1999 WC at Lords and than at Heathrow. The guy is little naive and childish so he felt quite bad after dismayed performance and had tears in his eyes at the end of the final at lords. So what? ,, You should have listened to some of the "Ganday" comments the crowd had to throw at him. No wonder the Players take different flights when returning home,,,,
Than again at Heathrow with his 'Girl Friend' in a rather boyish mood but decent. Talked about his county commitments and ambitions to become a 'Quality' player.
If we could use less of the crown emotions in the game.

He is sensitive and reacts to his surrounding. Pakistani nation is well known for treating their players indifferently.
While you’re playing an 'away' game there's no assurance of your family safety back home. Or at least the effigy burning and cursing is obvious.
Even Waqar,Akram,Imran and Inzimam where not spared by these fanatics.

So it’s all in a days work. He knows that if you perform well you’ll make the team; if you don't then you’re sent off unceremoniously.

Shoaib Akhter's kind of bowlers are one of a kind only, they are lethal if only used strategically and not sporadically like Inzi does. Can't we learn from the Australian captain how he utilizes his quick or spin bowlers? You can not use such bowlers flat out in a test scenario, Shoaib is different and requires a plan for his each spell. If you just tell him to go and do his best then that could back fire on the team.
We mistreated Mohammad Zahid apart from his own injuries and poor physic, and we should learn some valuable lessons from such incidents.

In ODI such bowlers require a strategic bowling partner and they "tag" each other taking turns and thus unsettling the mid / tail to score any run s without losing their wickets.
It’s quite simple. But we chose to ignore these facts because he has 'Personality clash' with the rest of the world and Pakistanis. It can only happen in India & Pakistan.

i disagree coz captain has nothing to do with it. he aint got any t alent. he doesnt have that charisma in his bowling left. i met him last year and i tell u, he is a showbaaz. he talks to u in a nice manner, but hey i met nawaz sharif too. he talke dto me in anice manner too. i dont want manners in cricket, iwant performance. he doesnt have any. PERIOD.