Do u guys find it wrong?

Re: Do u guys find it wrong?

Your point is you can't be in a place where alcohol is being served, while you don't go on a plane to drink nevertheless it is a place where alcohol is being served so what do you do, get off the plane? After all you are saying you can't be in a place where alcohol is being served. Plane and train are as much a place where alcohol is served as a bar or pub and you are aware of this fact before you board them.

ok I say lets all pitch in and get the poor guy a parachute.

I am drinking OJ and my point was exactly what you said that ISLAM is lot more than about issues related to Alcohol. Lets not get stuck and waste so much time on this issue while ignoring the real essence of this religion.

Ab kia hijjay kar kar kay samjhaaun?

“You cannot go to an ‘ESTABLISHMENT’ which is created solely for the distribution of alcohol…”

Is this better? Or do you find something else wrong with my semantics here?

sitting in a toilet and eating halal food... will you do that? obviously no then it is also like that!! cant you get another place to do a party rather than pubs and shrubs....

I'm getting annoyed now. I mean, I have NO prob at all when I go "over there" covering all up and all that. Its a matter of respect and of when in Rome etc. I've never felt that I HAD to, but i wanted to ... out of respect. WHen you go visit or live in a culture/society that is very different from yours, then you have to do YOUR things but let them do THEIR things while living amongst each other PEACEFULLY and ENJOY-fully! Like I said before, and as the topic of this thread was created....joining in to wish OTHERS joy on THEIR holiday is fine, whether they have some drinks or not. Its just a NICE thing to do.

^Yeah within limits. You can't go celebrate the birth of the son of god, when ur a muslim. Happy Holidays and c ya! lol.

Afridi, you dont understand....christmas is more about the "spirit of giving", having family and friends together...than it is about the birth of "Christ". And most celebrations are "holiday" as opposed to "christmas" celebrations. Either way, it is not a SIN for a Muslim to wish a Christian happiness on their holiday, yeah? Happy holidays to you too

You are not supposed to sit in the company of those who are drinking, that is forbidden...Going to bars and pubs is forbidden because they explicitly serve alcohol...As for restaurants where alcohol is being served, avoid them much as possible...Avoid eating and drinking with those who are drinking...i agree with mr.lajawaab on this issue.

For plane I try to be on that seat where the person is not drinking and if he is drinking i will definitely change my seat and if is not possible i will try to exchange it with another person or go stand in different side.
I heard a hadees that means like that"achi subat ki misaal aise hai ke jaise ittar ki dukan aur buri subat ki misaal aise hai jaise channay wale ka bhaar" i think so sharabiyoon ki company bhi bari kharab hoti hai jahaan her koii jhool raha hota hai

well technically types of stuff even within marriage is not allowed.

sense of humour bhi aik cheez hoti hai..

sports bar are not created solely for the distribution of alcohol, they have food and games and all.

same goes for restaurants, they are not created solely for distribution of alcohol, you can be in one of these places and eat and not touch alcohol.

yes back behind there are created for watching match while enjoying alcohol,otherwise every one has a plasma or hdtv in their house.

burri suhbat is not just ppl who drink. why do I avoid HT and jamatis like the plague? cuz theya re burri suhbat in diff ways.. rot your mind and screw up your perspectives.

what is the definition of a sharabi btw? someone who is a decent perosn but drinks alcohol in limits because he sees nothing wrong with it, is NOT a bad person..period. While we may think that it is wrong , by his values it is okay, and that can not be held against him to consider him ‘burri suhbat’

offtopic but christmas is not even the birthday of jesus. its a pagan holiday celebrating the winter solstice. or in the case of the babylonians its celebrating the goddess of nature. just enjoy it for the day off.

and what is wrong with celebrating the birthday of a prophet anyways?

as for going to a pub or a bar i dont see what the big deal is? the only reason i'd avoid a bar is because its too damn loud sometimes. what now u wont even buy gas from the gas station becuz the dude sells beer there? how about bread from the convenience store (they sell alchohol). many desi restaurants here have workers that are not muslim and i bet they drink sometimes (they prepare your foods).

just stay in pakistan ok?

not really..
I would rather get a dozen of my pals together at a sports bar to watch it on a big screen. I am too ghareeb to afford a big screen plasma, plus before and after the match u can play pool (too ghareeb to have a pool table), play darts, video games, foosball, ping pong, shuffle board..whatever.

it is not always convenient to have people over. logistics..and knowing some of my pals..wear and tear on my house as they wrestle after showboating when the other guys team screws up..

heck, I go to a local sports bar with my wife and some other couples just to get their wings…forget about sports. they make kick ass buffalo wings.

This is not to say that my humble den can house as many people as are present there, or that the atmosphere would be the same. Its a diff thing being in a sports bar with supporters of rival teams...it simply can not be duplicated at a house. I mean unless you have a huge den which can fit several hundred people and you have enough snacks ..quantity and variety... to keep everyone happy.

perfect answer :k:

I have been to sports bars numerous times. Some of us stay with our soft drinks while some take whatever they want. It doesn't bother me as long as i don't have to smell it.
I've never found any problem. Its fun because of the big screen and a lot of people. Its just like a stadium - actually even better in a way because the view is clear.
Besides playing the games over there are so much fun too.

My friends understand my religious believes and they have never ever done anything that would bother me. They actually makesure that my food doesn't have any pork. or my drink has no alcohol.

i have gone to bars/pubs during the day with my uni friends,
i wasnt even tempted to touch alcohol even though everyone else was drinking up
although one of the girls i studied with said she’d feed me a certain mushroom dish :clown: just to see what would happen to me as i dont drink smoke or take any recreational drugs
she didnt though, and knowing her i wouldnt hav accepted food from her either
n e way
my dad has to go to work do’s and stuff and he will take my mum, he is one of the only muslims/asians in his company and he has the veggie option and socialises with out touching alcohol

it is your strength of mind that is important