Re: Do semi-working women exist?
You’d need to marry Will in order to be a Kate-like semi-working woman. Oh wait, you might also need a little surgical intervention…or maybe not ![]()
Ouch…
The post wasn’t even meant for you but seems like you got the message before anyone else.
ROFL. No simpleton is now so called ‘bad mannered’ word? WTH?
Or maybe do nothing with your education and waste 10 years ‘chasing’ a prince. No wonder an average self made working Brit woman or woman from any part of the world don’t want any form of association with her.
She’s a bad role model for girls, full stop.
Sehrysh you’re so naive…Harry is still single. :halo:
oh yes, plenty of semi working women exist.
all these home based bakers, chefs, freelance journalists, designers, architects, consultants, hair dressers etc.
even teachers in universities and schools have flexible hours arrangements.
my friend started jewelry designing after her education from her parent's house as she never wanted to do a 9-6 job. and then she continued working from her own place as and when she desires after marriage and kids. two females i know in an event management company my organization deals with, work from project to project with flexi hours.
and if are a doc, you can do your own clinic at your preferred hours.
I want to be a semi-working woman. Before my baby, I was working full-time. Now I am a SAHM. When I decide to go back, I ideally want to go back only part-time but my issue is that I never see part-time jobs in my profession - Communications/Public Relations.
did you always think that you would become a SAHM after teh babay? or the actual experience made you change your mind later on?
Explain that…“so called careers” please. I am sure you have a point but I’d like you to be more specific…
Yes…blood tests usually are pretty accurate.
I think most women re-prioritize after marriage and kids. Things change and they don’t feel the need to be at work all the time.
I love working but I enjoy free time too. I work because I don’t want to sit home, get lazy and turn into a couch potato. That is just yuck.
You also want a working woman because she is less likely to obsess over small issues after marriage. She will have other things to focus on.
^ I learned something new. Question: Is this only for GPs? OR do doctors is other specialties in UK have the same flexibility?
ButtSb: I should've mentioned previously.....take into account which country you plan on living in AFTER the marriage to do research on career details.
My uncles a cardiologist in the states and he has his own practice and only works 9-3 Monday - Thursday. I know my SIL is also planning on working for a private practise and working 3 days a week once she's completed her fellowship. So I think even in the states its doable.
Question: Did you uncle start his practice as soon as he finished fellowship? And has his schedule been like this from day 1 OR was he able to lower his hours once the practice was established? What is your SIL's specialty & has she actually found job offers that will allow her to work 3 days/week?
Oh my lord.
Ok, any job, practically ANY job, has built in measures these days on how to keep women in the work field and allow them to be at home with their kids. Increasingly , even corporate world is incorporating mom-friendly measures to keep women up to date with stuff.
Yes, this mean, you may need to work some days per week, or half days each day of the week, and you may have to drive out a little to work in a company that is willing to work with you so you're home for the baby. You may find offers, where you can take MONTHS off at a time, and still be able to rejoin the work-force, although you may have to stumble back a few steps on the ladder.
This is ESPECIALLY true for professions like physicians/surgeons, other healthcare workers like NP's/PA's/Nursing/Resp therapists/etc, dentists, lawyers, teachers, and various professions in business like accounting/insurance/small business/etc.
There are entire government grants, that people have no idea about, that help women get back into their careers by generating funding for their work. :o
Just get in touch with women's groups in your work field, or local professional chapters for whatever you do, and explore the opportunities. And if they dont exist, then great, start something, and you'll see you will have droves of support!!
One trick is you can always do part-time volunteer work in your field while you're raising kids, to keep up whatever credentials you have. So for example, I know some lawyers who do pro bono work while they're raising their family, and they still get to build a resume!
Key is DO NOT LEAVE THE JOB COMPLETELY for YEARS AT A TIME.
Then you will burn yourself really bad, and once your kids are in school, and your husband has that unforseen car accident, and he can’t work cuz of his disability, you will realize how lucky you were to have a degree/job experience, and if you sat at home for 5 - 10 years being the goody goody amma/DIL doing khidmatein for your inlaws, guess what?? Your family will probably be struggling in a bad situation like that, and you’ll feel pretty crappy then.
ALWAYS get insured :k: You wouldn’t live in Florida without hurricane insurance, would you? Then don’t get into a marriage without your personal insurance - your education and resume.
What’s up with insurance?
Question: Did you uncle start his practice as soon as he finished fellowship? And has his schedule been like this from day 1 OR was he able to lower his hours once the practice was established? What is your SIL's specialty & has she actually found job offers that will allow her to work 3 days/week?
nope not at all, he's about 41 now and started this schedule maybe 4/5 years ago, I think when you're a doctor at the beginning you have to put in a lot of hard work, I mean it takes like 15 years just to finish your education, residency, fellowship, etc. so there's no doubt that at the beginning you will not have a flexible schedule and have to work very hard. But in the long run, once you become specialised I think you can choose your hours.
SIL is a psychiatrist and has not found a job yet but has spoken to other doctors in the same situation about joining once she's done. Of course there are no guarantees but my point was that even for doctors once they get past the initial hard part, they do have options.
did you always think that you would become a SAHM after teh babay? or the actual experience made you change your mind later on?
I got laid off a few months before I went on mat leave (had nothing to do with my pregnancy) because I was one of 20,000 public servants that were laid off. Had I not been laid off, I would have gone back to work when my baby turns 1. But I felt like everything happens for a reason and I just can't see myself applying for jobs right now (she is far too young) and I don't want to miss this time. She is only going to be a baby once. I think I will start looking for work when she is 1.5 to 2 years InshAllah.
Marriage is a liability these days. Hence you need your own insurance policy. Hahaha I wish insurance companies sold marriage insurance
I think technically a performance bond over the roundness of roti can be had ![]()
^ I think that a desi insurance company issuing marriage insurance bonds would be a gold mine. Another idea to add to my list - next to a company to help groom miserable desi nerds on shaadi dot com.
Such a long discussion and while I get what was meant by “Semi-Working Women”, but I could not understand why wasn’t “Part time Working Women” used?
“Semi working” sounds like they either work half-heartedly or they are semi-skilled workers. Those who never get the work right. :no: