Do semi-working women exist?

Now you got the working/career types…who do anything for their career/job and determined to see it through no matter what…like taking maternity leaves and going back to work soon after leaving kids for others to raise…

Then there are non-working types…who prefer to stay at home and look after the affairs…they wouldn’t do anything productive if they have free time…

Is there any type which works…but not too ‘religously’? Like work just to keep occupied instead of seeing their work as the ultimate objective of their lives or…

Because i have discussed with many people…and they say either you get a working one…or a non-working one… there is no middle ground…

so whats you people’s take on this?

Re: Do semi-working women exist?

Yeah there is no middle ground......For women, its quite difficult to handle both things at the same time...... I would prefer a non-working one though coz I have seen career women getting married & then passing out taunts to their husbands every now & then like we left our career for popping out your kids every other year & bla bla bla... so I would say go for non-working one they are easy going..

hmmm......i knw a lot of ladies who are the semi working kinds....

but yes not many in this generation.... my friends mom has her own handicraft business and manages it pretty well with her household chores...and does hold exhibitions occasionally....

then i knw a lady who's into tailoring.....not a full time one tho... she carries it out from her house and does it as per her convenience...

ever heard of tuition teachers.....i've seen many of thm doing it part time....like for few hrs in a day....

then again i knew some one ...who had taken up teaching in coaching classes....for few hrs a day and for 2-3 days a week....

so maybe these kind do exist.... mainly ladies who want to manage both house as well as keep thm self little occupied chose to take up these kind jobs or activities......

I am talking about this generation lol...not about aunties...... even the working aunties were totally different from the working type of nowadays......

@ messedup
thats cool they are working from home....... at least this way they are not neglecting their husband, kids, home etc for of their "so called careers " .....

m sorry....but i have a different opinion....... i knw some guys who wuld want well educated women...but thn at the same time they expect thm to be house wives....i mean how can u expect tht......
did tht lady spend all those yrs of education and effort jst so tht she cld only take care of the house...and not put her talents to use!!

will u expect ur sister or daughter to do tht!!...and if u do....thn am sorry again....

in this age....men and women are competitive and stand an equal chance to take every opportunity in life!

and who said the husband and kids get neglected...... i've seen so many women doing a fantastic job at handling both their lives pretty well...

Buttsb, you were so raised in pakistan :smiley:

How could you not have word “desi” in the tittle.

“Do full-desi-semi-working women exist”. :omg:

yeh Buttsbji hoti hain. they work part time like 2-3 days a week. Or they might do voluntary work like charity work, fundraising, volunteer work at the kids school etc. There are plenty of women who take time off and stay with their kids when they are young and then go back to working part time when kids are at school and so on.

Before career women or stay at home women, females have all different types of personality- different dreams, wishes and life goals. The key is to find someone who matches your life goals.

Like messed up-some can even work from home. Aur woh koi aunty nahi hain..If you have a business your wife can work jointly with u if she has interest in same area.

exactly. there's plenty of time in the day to do a decent job of everything. Too much idle time and it gets wasted in fazool ki cheezein.
Better to be busy. That's why when you marry one must choose wisely a partner who has similar mindset. before and after marriage. Ask them what they want their daughters to be like? Or what they will let their daughter do..and u know ke kya cheezein kar sakte ho shaadi ke baad

ab habshion ki baat to nahi ho rahi yahaan pe… desi bhi batana parega har baat pe?

I know at least two doctors who work part-time .. one works 8-12 shifts so she can look after household affairs and the other one works full time and quits when she feels she needs to give her family some time. Some women are just not workaholics and work when they feel their family won't be neglected.

and how many doctors you know who work full time....?..you know just for comparison purposes....

:smack:… maybe for some it is difficult… either due to their own shortcoming sor an unsupportive partner/family… but that’s not a fair statement to sweep all women with.

and the second statement…absolutely ridiculous.

Yes. I think I was the non-working type for many years. That got boring after a few months…because honestly, speaking as someone with no kids or any other family obligations, cooking and cleaning takes up only so much time.

Well husband & kids do get neglected if you are doing a job after marriage no matter what, you are giving your time & attention somewhere else on which your husband & kids have a right to. After marriage your first & foremost duty is to take care of your house, husband, kids etc & everything else comes after that. It depends what your priorities are, if you want to give more importance to your career than your family than am sorry for that.

I have seen some girls who are still unmarried just because they spent half of their life building their “so called careers” & now they regret that they don’t even have a family & their biological clock is ticking too. Then again it depends what you think is important & what you want, if you are well educated, want to build your so called “career” & don’t want to become a housewife after being so highly qualified then please don’t crave for a family too.

Men & women & this competition thing is so weird. I don’t get it. Who started this competition seriously.There are some things that women can do & men can’t vice versa……hy women want to do everything that men can just to show men that we are not inferior creatures :rolleyes:

im not disagreeing or agreeing completely with both what you said but
out of curiosity is there religious backing that first and foremost house, husband and kids is number one for wife.

Would you mind elaborating on the bolded part? What exactly is your definition of taking care of house, husband, and kids?

I chose to go to work part-time with kids and made that clear to the guy I was wanting to marry. It's do-able.

Yes, this "middle ground" type does exist. I know quite a few women who fall into this category.

But it also depends on the woman's chosen career. Obviously working part time or having a flexible schedule isn't possible in every career. This is specially hard for doctors. All female doctors I know work at least 40 hours/week.

However, I know plenty of women who adjusted their schedule AFTER having children and work 3 days/week (some 4). These women are in professions such as nursing, dental hygienist, pharmacist etc. I also know 2 female lawyers who left their cushy (but demanding) firm jobs and started their own practice. 1 focuses on contracts and other does wills/probate/trusts etc. Neither has an office and does all their work from home. Due to the nature of their work, all they need is access to the internet. Again, they can do this b/c of their chosen specialties. A female lawyer who is a prosecutor or in litigation for example, can't do this. I should also add that both these lawyers had their children in their mid 30's.....they had been working their behind off for close to 10 YEARS prior to that. Thus, they had already establishment their reputation among their peers/clients which allowed them to obtain/retain new/old clients.

Personally I don't really have a "take" on this. Each couple needs to decide what works for them. Whether a woman chooses to be a housewife, chooses to continue a demanding profession w/ long hours, or chooses to go part-time.....as long as her husband is ok with her choice......there is nothing wrong with it.

I feel the same way, there is no way that with a full time work, commute, office time, travel that a proper attention can be given to kids and spouse and that is critical. After all the foundation of a society is from the home, and we have to be there for our kids and to be role models. I feel that dads get taken for granted and need to stay home with our kids until they are old enough. For that reason I propose that men should be given paid paternity leave of up to 18 years (we may home school)

women are better at giving childbirth, that cant be contested. rest I am not too sure about. I dont think women pursue their interests just to ‘show men’ that they are not inferior creatures. I have a theory that women are smart human beings with an ability to think, to have interests and to further them in whichever way their interests, aptitude and circumstances allow. But thats just me and a theory. They may in fact be doing everything just to show random men that they are not inferior.

yeah I have some semi working types at the company. They are full time but have a output as if they were working part time. guys and girls both.