I am “engaged” (no formal engagement, just a baat pakki) with a very attractive and nice guy, Mashallah. Anyways, ever since his family sent a rishta I have been obsessed with him. I check his Facebook every single day to see if he updates anything (no we’re not friends on FB), listen to love songs and think about him, and even make collages of our pictures. Every single day I wake up thinking about him and go to sleep dreaming about him. He is literally consuming my life! I cannot wait to get married to him, but it won’t happen for at least 5 years Anyways, I was wondering if other girls to this or no haha? And if girls do this, do you think guys do this? Like stalk their future wife on social media?
How old are you? That will probably explain your "excitement".
there is nothing wrong with being happy, excited, planning, looking forward to it, etc as long as it doesn't turn into into an obsession. You seem to be at borderline so time to cool down! A balanced approach is the best way; realistic expectations= less chances of heart break.
^^ Exactly the same question I would ask, why wait for so long after engagement or baat-pakki. The longer the wait, the more chances of something bad happening.
Get yourself involved in some other activity, perhaps some community work or help out mum in the kitchen more
Aww bless seems like ur quite young full of that excitment bubbling inside you ready to pop out :) just relax and breathe 5 years lots of time to get to knw one another so dont rush enjoy :)
I can't like Reha's comment enough. She is ABSOLUTELY right. What is this nonsense of 5 year long engagements? People change completely in 5 years. If you two can't grow together then what's the point? Either he or you will be different people in 5 years.
I don't mean to be negative only, I think it's cute that you're so into him, I wish you well. But I still say, if you're so into him, why the wait?
I am only 18 right now and I want to at least get a bachelors degree before I get married, which will take 4 years and then I need 1 year to learn how to do all the desi cooking.
And the only reason I have a baat pakki so early is because before this I had another really good rishta. So of course, my dad got opinions from his family back home and everyone was okay with it except my phuppi. She wanted me to get married to her son. He is even better than the previous guy if I must say myself :) Anyways, my parents said they agree to the rishta but they have to hold it off until I finish school and get a stable career, as that was the plan even with the other rishta. I don't know why the guys family don't wait till the girl finishes school but my parents didn't say no because you know how hard it is to find good rishtas. In our family, the girls family never ever asks the boys fam for rishta so my parents agreed as some of my cousins are 28 and still not married.
^^ Exactly the same question I would ask, why wait for so long after engagement or baat-pakki. The longer the wait, the more chances of something bad happening.
Get yourself involved in some other activity, perhaps some community work or help out mum in the kitchen more
I help mom out from time to time, especially on the weekends. And I do so many hobbies on a regular basis: photography, makeup, reading. But still, I am so obsessed with him :/
You are too young. You havent seen life... 28years unmarried girls are very normal due to them earning higher degree.
I am only 18 right now and I want to at least get a bachelors degree before I get married, which will take 4 years and then I need 1 year to learn how to do all the desi cooking.
And the only reason I have a baat pakki so early is because before this I had another really good rishta. So of course, my dad got opinions from his family back home and everyone was okay with it except my phuppi. She wanted me to get married to her son. He is even better than the previous guy if I must say myself :) Anyways, my parents said they agree to the rishta but they have to hold it off until I finish school and get a stable career, as that was the plan even with the other rishta. I don't know why the guys family don't wait till the girl finishes school but my parents didn't say no because you know how hard it is to find good rishtas. In our family, the girls family never ever asks the boys fam for rishta so my parents agreed as some of my cousins are 28 and still not married.
Aww bless seems like ur quite young full of that excitment bubbling inside you ready to pop out :) just relax and breathe 5 years lots of time to get to knw one another so dont rush enjoy :)
I wish I could get to know him during this 5 yr period but mom strictly told me not to contact him on FB/ viber or even his older sister.She just doesn't understand :(
^BB, woh kaunsa abhi shadi kar rahi hai? She's only engaged and maybe 18 is too young for an engagement to some people, but it's still not a marriage. So, she has the next several years to focus on herself, her studies, work, etc.