Do Bangaldeshis get annoyed/overjoyed/nuetral if people ask them if they are Indian?

The other thread about Pakistanis being asked if they are Indian pretty much settles it that Pakistanis are annoyed by it.

But what about Bangladeshis? Do they get annoyed or overjoyed, or just correct and move on?

There are 90 Millions people in West Bengal (India), and 150 Millions Bangladeshis, so it’s not like a small population being confused for a larger one. They have the same connection with India as Pakistanis do. You can accept or deny that connection with the same set of arguments used for the Pakistan and India connection (same land mass vs different land mass, same gene pool vs different gene pool, same history vs different history and so on).

Re: Do Bangaldeshis get annoyed/overjoyed/nuetral if people ask them if they are Indi

GS par Bangladeshii to bas do chaar hii haiN…yeh thread shaayad popular na ho utnaa jitnaa Pakistan VS India waalaa thread huaa thaa…

…TDW bhai, kuchh aur controversial socheN…maiN bhii sochtaa huN! :hehe:

Re: Do Bangaldeshis get annoyed/overjoyed/nuetral if people ask them if they are Indi

Bangladeshis will be happy to be called Indians.

Let’s ask those with Bengali/Bangladeshi connections. I think @Deeba1234 mentioned she has family from that side. I doubt she will mind since she is open minded. Even if she did just to show that she is a true Pakistani i won’t mind because she has a good heart.

I have 2 Bangladeshi friends who don’t mind being called Indian. They’re like we have indian cultural elements like wearing sari and other elements so they don’t mind. Also they have a connection with Indian Bengalis so i’m guessing they don’t mind as such. Their anthem is also written by Rabindranath Tagore. Then again it could be my influence. My Pakistani friends online, who live in Pakistan, don’t mind being accidentally called Indian either because they notice we have some similarities. Obviously can’t speak for all. I find Pakistanis with Indian friends, or those who know people in India/have family in India, or have had family living in what is India now are more tolerant of such mistakes. Same vice versa as well with Indians.

I think in last decade and especially last 4 yrs GS members have become more open minded and ok with Indians. I did a GS google search and i notice there is quite a difference. Maybe those who were haters on either side left. Who knows but i think the mods have done a great job with this.

You should make a controversial thread. Ask people whether they prefer Indian or Pakistani clothes? That will be as controversial as mangoes thread.

Don’t know if they’ll be happy but they won’t mind. Just correct and move on. To be fair despite what people say on threads here most Pakistanis ive met online would correct and move on. Same with Indians. Obviously on a Pakistani or Indian forum people will try to show others how patriotic they are and sound more affected by it then maybe they would in real life.

They get pissed offf.

I do not understand why people should act differently in both real and online lifde.I do not find any reason to act in my real life(now what is that?Does that mean my online life is something I am undertaking in a virtual world/people I am interacting are robots/robotinis?)anything differently than my the so called`real life’.

Evidence. None of my Bangladeshi friends got pissed off and neither do my Pakistani friends online. These Pakistani friends also live in Pakistan.

^ :smiley:

Some of them might live in places abroad where there are not many Pakistanis. ONline it is easy to form friendship bonds by bonding over something like nationality/race. To fit in people tend to have same views. Being more patriotic will get more likes and more friends.

I am just saying that online gives people avenue to say things they might not say in real life. It is anonymous and easy to say things.

They’re pretty awesome. Most of them are younger generation but i have a religious bhai who is part of Tableeghi Jamaat and he is so gentle and humble. He wouldn’t mind either being mistaken.

Ethan Hunt is also my friend. We had some interesting convos on his blog and i don’t think he would mind that much.

That may be your perception.So you can not generalize it.There are millions or trillions or even more people online who kep their true identity everywhere.

Ok maybe it’s my perspective. I’m not saying people don’t keep their true identity but just that it is easier to say things online then in real life.

REAL LIFE

Real life often gives us opposing examples. Agar dono side ke examples ho to. Some people won’t mind and others will.

Sheikh Hasina won’t mind, she loves India. :hehe:

And also Taslima Nasrin.

I’ve never personally come across a Bangladeshi who’s been bothered about it

Bangladeshis aren’t particularly nationalistic or tribal, they don’t tend to care about that sort of thing.. Obviously if they did they wouldn’t be giving their kids Hindu/Indian first names or nicknames, which many if not most still do nowadays.. They’re not bothered by the fact they had Hindu ancestors..

There are exceptions, especially among people from the region of Sylhet, but the name thing is a good indicator of the general mindset of the average Bangladeshi imo

Yeah, Bengali hote hi bahot ache hain. I know one Bengali girl, woh bhi bahot achhi hai.