DIY Bridal Makeup?

So I’ve been on a roll doing tons and tons of research and have managed to cut down my wedding budget by almost $8,000! yay me So have any of you done your own makeup for your wedding? I’m seriously considering it, but is there anything I should know first? I’m concerned the most about base makeup, like foundation, concealer, powder.. I don’t normally use primer but would you recommend it for wedding makeup? What would be the biggest problem? Any advice or product suggestions would be very much appreciated, you guys are the best! <3

Re: DIY Bridal Makeup?

Yaaaay you!!!

Primer is good its meant to hold your make up in place !!

Do you know what you could do for a small feeeee its abit of a long shot but after doing ur make up base etc you could go to mac etc and ask them to do your eye make up for you or put ur lashes /eyeliner on or ask them to pop down to ur place for a finish. I know where I work the ladies of the make up counter on their own discretion do this for brides who are doing their own make up and also charge a way more small amount for bridal make up as opposed to the asian bride make up artists and they are good !

My friend did her own make up , she is really good with make up and didn't like any mua as she felt she looked odd. As she said no one knows her face better than her ! I did persuade her to let me use one of my colleagues( make up counter ones!) to do her make up she was adamant on doing it herself!

My friend did go to the hair salon and spent 30 pounds on getting her hair blow dried and put up the hair dresser after hours came to her place and pinned the duppata to her hair and stayed until my friend finished setting herself. Duppata setting was easy !

It can be done !! X

Lol same here i can do all the eye makeup and all .. the only Thing is that when proffesional make up artists do it especially the pakistani ones they make the face base really good and i can neevr figure out how they do that .. like without the cakyness.. Like they totally change the face ... I think they use like krylon foundations and stuff like really heavy bases and stuff Lol.. But i dunnu much about it so yea lol but if you know how to do all the other make up like the eyes and stuff your good to go =D

I did my own engagement makeup ... there is another guppan on here "Stoppit" and she did her own nikkah makeup and it was done beautifully......

I have also done other brides makeup who wanted someone else to do it but were on a budget.

I think it is a great way to save on costs...

And you have all the time in the world to practice practice and practice some more. You can experiment with colors and see what looks best on you. Take pictures of your "looks" ... with different lighting to see what looks best.

Foundation: Definitely use primer. Use a long wearing matte foundation ... I recommend Bobbi Brown. Set it with pressed powder (make sure it matches foundation). Now what sets bridal makeup apart from normal everyday makeup is contouring. I recommend getting a foundation shade that is one or MAX 2 shades darker than your matched color. Tip: get samples and use that rather than getting an entire thing of foundation that u will hardly use.

Contouring is done at the jawline, hollow of cheeks, and side of the nose.

Highlighting is also necessary. Use this on top of your foundation but BEFORE blush... dab and blend upward on your cheekbone.

a Nude/gold Shimmery color is also necessary underneath brow and bottom of inner lower lash line.

Eyes: Fake lashes make a HUGE difference... especially in pictures. You can get them for really cheap and just try them on see and see what style/kind suits your eyes best.

Put fake lashes on after puttting on mascara and eyeliner. It should be your "finishing touch" after all your eyemakeup is completed. To make them look seamless, you may have to put on another coat of liner and another coat of mascara to blend them in with the regular liner and natural lashes you have.

Lips: polish lips lightly with a toothbrush and then put on light chapstick or balm as primer. Let it sit for a while. Then blot your lips with a tissue. Apply lipliner that is either a NUDE or the SAME COLOR as lipstick. Keep the liner sharpened in put it in the freezer.... it will give you a nice crisp clean line when you go to use it. Lightly line lips slightly outside your actual lip line. Make sure the "M" of your upper lips is NOT made pointed... has to be a rounded "M" to look more natural. Fill in the rest of your lips with the liner. Then using a lip brush - apply your lipstick. Avoid matte lipsticks because they can make your lip lines stand out more and look chapped. slightly dab with a clear gloss .. but do not over do this. To give your lips a plumper effect, dab a pearlized clear gloss on the bottom middle of lip.

Hope all of this helped. :) Feel free to contact me if you need more tips.

i think i am in pretty much the same boat as you girls ... but i cant find any descent mua to do my make up for the big day .. that does a perfect base as the pakistani muas doo in paki i got my nikkah make up done by madeehas and i am looking for some one that can do better then that ... but on the other hand i am persuading myself to do it myself

** can anyone guide me if i use macs Nc 20 and napoleans look 2 as everyday foundation then what would i use in kryolan tv stick for my bridal make up .. it should be whiter then my normal foundation right??????**

thanks all of you for your awesome input! I completely agree, standard salon shaadi makeup kind of scares me because they don't seem to really cater to your features or skintype and those are things that I feel are really important if you want to look amazing on your big day! and yeah, I think I'd be okay to handle the eye makeup and all that, it's just the base that I'm worried about because I know they use some crazy things to really transform the bride's skin tone. thank you so much punjabirose for the tips! I will look into the bobbi brown foundation; I've never tried their products but always hear good things about them. :)

check out videos on youtube!! they can show you step by step how to do the contouring!! and will also give you ideas about eyemake up and lips. I love "Miss Chevious"....she is awesome!!!

If you're in Canada, you can get an appointment at any MAC stall/store and they make up artist can do your make up for you. The only catch is that you have to spend $50 in products. So technically, you're spending $50 for the make-up but you're really not because you're getting that much worth of product. I think it's a great option!

u have to be careful with MAC makeup as it can change color as the oils from the your skin come into contact with it throughout the day. People often notice it gets a shade darker!!! That is my only fear with MAC - otherwise it is GREAT ....

^ that is definately true in my case PR. i've actually stopped using my mac foundation cos i noticed that as the day went on it would start to look darker and when i removed it at night my skin underneath looked lighter. i'll try bobbi brown next! :)

ahhhh iv missed you lipstick!!! :hugz: how have you been???

Yaar - for everyday makeup you really need to try NARS sheer glow makeup… it is so freaking fantastic!! Pricey but a little bit goes a long way and lasts forever. If you have oilier skin - then you can tray NARS matte makeup. Iv heard great reviews about that as well!!

Bobbi Brown is the company that Gina always recommends for bridal base makeup!! I tried it out and it seriously is wonderful in regards to coverage, texture, and skin tone matching. But I think it might be too heavy for everyday makeup. But Bobbi Brown is the way to go in regards for party makeup and definitely bridal makeup! and HIGHLY recommend NARS for everyday. I like a million times better than MAC! I still continue to use MAC NC 30 pressed powder with the NARS makeup …it works beautifully together :slight_smile:

Definitely agree with the above! ^ !!! Also check out MAKEUPADIKT .... she is amazing. She has great tutorials for contouring, desi bridal makeup and more. She explains things in a lovely and easy way and really really breaks down exactly what products she is using.

Thanks guys for all these great tips! PunjabiRose, which BB foundation were you talking about? I'm not sure which one to try out, let me know!

Hi all!

Some tips if you’re gonna do makeup yourself:

**Online video tutorials: **ive picked up sooooo many useful tips from these, i highly recommend Makeupadikt, she does our desi kind of makeup: http://www.youtube.com/user/MakeupAdikt

Kryolan TV stick - foundation: all pakistani professional artists use it and it absolutely does not budge, stays matte and gives amazing coverage, I am shade FS38 and FS45, and a MacNC35 if you want to know the shade… my MUA puts this then spritzs water on my face to make it look dewy, their primers are also very good: Kryolan - Professional Make-up

If I think of anymore I’ll let you know! :slight_smile:

A girl recently sent me a PM hope she shows-up here too!

Invest in a good primer (face, eyes, lips)
A good set of make-up brushes.
A face highlighter.(shimmer brick, pearl, cream)
A contouring powder.
Foundation
Concealer
Powder

Look-up video's on contouring and perfecting your foundation!

Gina - could you advise this girl on exactly which Bobbi Brown foundation she should use for bridal makeup???? I remember u saying that you recommend it.....

I hope that Gina can give you better guidance! But for bridal makeup - it is best for one to use a liquid or stick foundation .... it has more pigmentation to it. Also go for a MATTE shade .... it is better for pictures.

BB stick foundation (don't skip your concealer though) Bobbi Brown has recently introduced more colors to match u're skintone. They had a wide spectrum of colors but now you can get perfect matches. Don't forget to try it on and keep your undertone in mind before you purchase products.

Any counter at the mall does makeup application for free if you buy a product. I would go w/MAC or Bobbi Brown. Just be reaady to buy around $40 worth of makeup from them, and they'll do your application for free.

Thanks Gina :hugz: → also needed this information for my own shaadi!!!