Disturbing trend: 'Mujhey urdu parhni nahi aati !'

Among young people specially girls in pakistan. Those trying to act cool or wanabe ABCDs (who have genuine reasons) Or portraying crippled sense of superiority by distancing themselves from urdu literate middle class folks…

Regardless of the reasons, I believe, growing up and getting educated in pakistan you need to do extra ordinary effort to not learn urdu. Because urdu is standard subject in pakistani education system. Even the Elite schools like Aitchison or Beaconhouse do teach standard urdu even if students have to apprear for O/A levels SSE etc.

Re: Disturbing trend: 'Mujhey urdu parhni nahi aati !'

but urdu is a third world country language. why should the elite and wanabe ABCDs learn it? unki shaam main se 1 chand kum hoke 3 chand reh jaain ge. then how will they show their noorani boothi to others and deal with disrespecting taunts like HERE COMES URDU KI MASTERNI or WOH JARAHA HAI URDUDAN...etc...

i personally believe lots of ppl [in or out] of pak have come kind of complex when it comes to speaking urdu infront of others. its as if you'll be ridiculed and isolated by those who either don't speak urdu very well or are not fond of the language. its a shame that urdu is not very popular amongst the youth in pak. also subaiyat is not helping much to up the level of urdu in pak. in punjab urdu is just like another subject where the only thing matters is a passing mark in the end.

You can't completely blame the kids; it has a lot to do with how the language is taught at schools.
When I came back to Pakistan from Middle East, I had a very hard time with writing Urdu. And teachers were no help; instead they made it extremely difficult for me by pretending I am some dumb person. Actually in the first quarter I failed poorly in Urdu, Islamiyat, and Pakistan studies because the language of the book was too difficult and different from what we use at home and I had very limited proficiency in Urdu writing as well. Oh and I had only one month in which I had to make up for the work of 4 months and that included 6 subjects. My teacher instead of understanding the problem and helping me out displayed my papers in front of the class. Obviously I hated her, all the three subjects, and going to school as well.

Teachers also don't make an effort of making it interesting for students instead they drive students away with their attitude and teaching style. I think we have to change our system if we want our language to flourish.

Re: Disturbing trend: ‘Mujhey urdu parhni nahi aati !’

again the downside, you get to learn the language and cant help it but be able to read it :slight_smile:

For instance I never learned farsi (persian) but can read it withour any difficulty, because i was taught to read and write urdu. Similarly i think people who can read arabic in arabic script should be able to read urdu or farsi too ? no ? :confused:

Yours is an isolated case; neglect and time constraint. I am talking about the ones who have spent considerable time here while growing up, childhood studied in school for few years.

I mean it is a part of the package, you cant help learning to read this text. Thats another issue if you are tottally clueless as which ocean is Behr-ul-kaahil and which one is Behr-e-Oqeyanoos. You get to know later in life (like me :bummer: ) that these (and many other rigorously taught urdu names in social studies) are the good for nothing urdu names for Pacific ocean and Atlantic ocean.

When you grow up You realize that those urdu translations in maths, social studies are useless as you never use the terms like Qutab Janubi, Qutab Shimali , Khat-e-Istawa etc. But at the same time you also realize that just knowing the language urdu you are able to read timeless classics by Ghalib, Faiz, Sa’adat Hasan Manto, Ashfaq ahmed and countless other mega literary icons

As far as kids born and raised in that system are concerned, I think at the end the major responsibility goes to the parents and the school, how they portray or value a certain language. I also went to this cambridge school in Karachi where the students were allowed to speak Urdu only during the Urdu period. Rest of the day they had to speak English and if they were caught speaking Urdu except for Urdu period, a fox tail was tapped at their back as a punishment. I think the wannabe culture in Pakistan will keep increasing if the schools don't start valuing Urdu as our national language and feel pride in the language.

i was referring to mindset as in ppl don’t take URDU seriously at any level of life, starting from school to practical life. i myself studied in an urdu medium till grade 6th and then was booted into an all english medium school. not only i had to deal with subjects in eng but also with girls [b4 i was in an all boys school]…to this day…those first 6 years in an urdu medium school have helped me a lot to keep my urdu level [speaking/writing/reading] at par, not to mention with help from ibne safi’s novels and other other digests, novels etc. :smiley: well the point is that sometimes u have to put an extra effort…don’t just limit urself to course books and take it as a just another subject to pass.

well, even the guys are in the same boat with gals :mocking:. i know some guys are exceptionally good in urdu, but majority of them are ratoo totay! :barbie:

kher to me as long as they have tameez-o-tamadun i really care the heck about how much urdu they know. :mocking:

to me more worrying part is the bay-rah-rawi that youngster are adopting these days.
ps. ga-alian to sub ko aisay fur fur yaad hoon ge :asa:

but u r are right about this tread. and so far the only way i find to deal with these gals and guys is to made them realize the importance of Urdu :).

I totally agree with this ^ attitude/practice.

Urdu should be taught as a language only. There Should be and must be only one medium of education in Pakistan, and that is English medium. Urdu medium should be abolished altogether from all over tha country. There should be no muasharti uloom(social studies) or Riazi(maths) and many more subjects which are taught in urdu script. They all must be taught in english script/language.

At the same time urdu (language/literature) should remain the compulsary subject, As it is till graduation

This is a delusion, a myth that urdu medium helps you improve your urdu. It is only the subject urdu: how it is taught to you, how much intereset you had in the subject 'Urdu' (specially class 5 onwards) , how good were your teacher how many digest, novels books you read in urdu.

Remembering translated term in maths , biology , social studies was an aweful waste of memory. specially when you have to study all these terminologies in english few years later during highier studies and can never use or hear urdu terms again in your life.

Or portraying crippled sense of superiority by distancing themselves from urdu literate middle class folks...

code_red aisee koe baat naheen hai.....actually feel proud when talking in URDU....& do talk in urdu cum english to my friends....

Similarly i think people who can read arabic in arabic script should be able to read urdu or farsi too ? no

jee....i actually started reading urdu cause of my daada & naana..who would make me read the urdu newspaper to them..& when i would make mistakes..they would correct me...
it was pretty much ez cause i could read..write & speak arabic fluently...
i still can't write urdu:(its tough......& my reading hasn't got much speed...but i can read....:) & inshaAllah am improving:)

i personally believe lots of ppl [in or out] of pak have come kind of complex when it comes to speaking urdu infront of others.

saeein.. i can proudly speak urdu in front of anyone...*collar uchkaying*

When I came back to Pakistan from Middle East

lusi...where in middle east?

also went to this cambridge school in Karachi where the students were allowed to speak Urdu only during the Urdu period. Rest of the day they had to speak English and if they were caught speaking Urdu except for Urdu period,

yea..even our school we had to speak in english @ all times.....& NO urdu..excpet in its period...though urdu subject was an option..& i had taken arabic instead of urdu..:)

i spoke fluenbt urdu before i went to pakistan, while i was there and after i left.

if the family of someone is not going to bother to teach their kids, then that is a different problem.

the problem with these wanna be's in Pakistan is that there urdu is horrid..but its not that their english is stellar :D

^ bahaha...X2 seeda seeda q nahi khetay, they cant speak anything :biggthumb

hmmm.... I have lived in salalah, muscat, and sana'a.

its true, they mix urdu with english but u canttalk ot them in urdu becuase they refuse to, and then when u start english u realize they cant speak urdu and I amnot talking about mixing v and w and ponunciation in general, they just use words incorrectly, have to throw in urdu words etc etc.

u may want to read a post once written by my good friend Fraudz titled desis , urdu english and the inbetwene stuff. let me see if i can find it

ahh here u go, for reference purposes

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/showthread.php?t=24861&highlight=desis+urdu+english+the

Exactly...

Kawa challa hans ki chaal ... apni chalbhee bhool gaya...

ya

Aadhay teetar, aadhay batair!

Confused qoam.

lolz :D

I love Urdu! :kiss:

bara he aala urdu may jawab likha hai app nahi :mocking:

dont laugh so much, only some of my multiple personalities are my friends, I completely dislike others, take that x factor character for example...what a nutter