So people distribute sweets/mithaii when they hear some good news,or if they arrived safe from a long journey,
It’s common in Sindhi, seen it in Lahore too,what you personally think about this?
Re: distributing sweets
oh even one pass an exam..its common to distribute sweet...
when one buys a car or a bike then also one must distribute sweets
oh even one pass an exam..its common to distribute sweet...
when one buys a car or a bike then also one must distribute sweets
When babies start walking in our family,mithaii is a must :D
When child is born....father distributes sweet
It's a really nice way of sharing your happiness with the people around you. I like it.
Usually we use mithayi after some good news.
My boss told that Jalebi is distributed in Shahi Mahla (Lahore) if baby girl is born. No mithai for baby boy ![]()
The baby girl is very important in those areas, but any where else in the city girl’s birth is looked down upon. Jahalat that is!
The baby girl is very important in those areas, but any where else in the city girl's birth is looked down upon. Jahalat that is!
Lately I have seen people distributing sweets at the time of birth of baby girls. Last week, I had mithai from two of the colleagues who were blessed with daughters.
i read that as 'disturbing sweets'.
seems normal to me....a good way of sharing and celebrating the happiness.
however i dont like it when ppl do fazool kharchi....like baby is born, kid passed the exam, shaadi ki baat pakki hui etc etc tou they will buy tons of mithais so that they can send it to all the relatives.
Agreed. I would really limit this to very special occasions (birth of a child being one) and only distribute to those who you are close to rather than the whole muhalla/family/community, etc.
Life is a celebration. So why not share it with others ?
i read that as 'disturbing sweets'.
seems normal to me....a good way of sharing and celebrating the happiness.
If one can afford, I think there is no harm to share happiness through exchanging mithai unless it is not for show-off
yeah but afford karne ka matlab fazool kharchi tou nahi hota.....
well jab khushi ka moqa aata hai tou sab apne apne tareeqe se usay manana chahte hain.
yeah but afford karne ka matlab fazool kharchi tou nahi hota.....
well jab khushi ka moqa aata hai tou sab apne apne tareeqe se usay manana chahte hain.
Yes affordability doesn't allow you to show-off by extravagance.
But if a person wants to share happiness with a huge group (relatives, friends and neighbors) just for sharing of happiness and not getting publicity, etc, I don't see harm in it. Our cultures do follow exchanging of sweets (halwa, etc) on normal occasions besides occasions like Eid, Shab baraat, birth of baby because its believed that 'Mil baant kar khane main barkat hai'
Lately I have seen people distributing sweets at the time of birth of baby girls. Last week, I had mithai from two of the colleagues who were blessed with daughters.
there shouldn't any difference in the way birth of boys or girls are celebrated, the way some old ladies react on the birth of girls is truly repulsive.
khaskhas is name of sweet and so is khurchan:D
distributing sweets
I think it's a token of gud wishes,love n happiness for others:)
khaskhas is name of sweet and so is khurchan:D
lol at khurchan. normally last child is called khurchan :D
Regarding, Khurchan, KKF aligarhwaale can tell the best:D