Re: Disposable plates and glasses …
I am never going to accept your invitation for a dawat. ![]()
Re: Disposable plates and glasses ...
what about those folks that use disposables even when they have a small gathering (15 or 20 people) at home? my pet peeve....... sheesh.....roll your sleeves up and wash a few dishes will ya?
My thoughts exactly. However, I also think disposables shouldn't be used in larger gatherings either. If you've gone to all the effort of cooking then washing up is hardly the most difficult task of the day.
Just curious, if you guys go to a davat where you're being served in paper plates....do you turn down future invitations?
Now that will be pretty rude and upsetting..who are we to determine how the host serves us??? What if they don't have enough plates for everyone?? Early days of my marriage, we had only one four people set so for davats etc we served in paper plates because we couldn't afford!!! I will not want to be friends wroth people who judge you based on what you can or cannot afford!!
We loved getting together even when we had just one dinner set :p
Just curious, if you guys go to a davat where you're being served in paper plates....do you turn down future invitations?
I was wondering the same thing too. I didn't realize this was such a big deal.
So do you guys tell your hosts off? Or badmouth 'em once you get home? Do you guys avoid visiting them again?
We all don't have enough dinner sets to feed a large number of families.
So do you guys tell your hosts off? Or badmouth 'em once you get home? Do you guys avoid visiting them again?
i wud swipe them with a nasty remark..."can i do the dishes for u aunty ji?" [wash all the dirty dishes (paper plates and plastic cutlery)] :D
I've learnt about so many desi faux-paus since joining GS. :)
I guess I should clarify, I wasn't being sarcastic when I asked this...genuinely curious :)
We all don't have enough dinner sets to feed a large number of families.
and for those saying cleaning up is hardly difficult after cooking--maybe the host enjoys cooking and detests cleaning? Or maybe they just don't have a dishwasher?
The way I see it, after the guests go home, whose going to be the one doing dishes all night long....not the guests right (well I would never let a guest do the dishes even if they offered) :)
Those of you who think that its just rolling ur sleeves n washing the dishes after a dawat of 15-20 ppl ,i request u to please experiment it for urself ,try washing all the dishes ,spoons ,bowls ,glasses,tea pot and tea cups n saucers n dont forget to add a whining toddler or a cranky child to the scenario.....n all this around mid night after all day of cooking n cleaning.
In the start of our married life ,we didnt have much plates etc just a 4 serving one n my husband invited so many ppl n insisted that i have to use proper dinner set so we went out n bought the heaviest weighing dinner plates n it was so difficult to wash them ,literally my arms n shoulder were weeping.
i dont have any problem with ppl serving food in disposables (although i still cant use them coz the IN LAWS dont like it ),its so much easier to clean up.
rosetta.....I make a point of never advising someone to do something that I've not done.
I grew up in a household where disposable dishes were a serious no-no.
Ammi made sure that we always had service for 100 in our home......and yes, we lived in a joint family system where there were always at least two women in the household for any major dawat.
We had a portable stove that was put in the garage with huge pateeliyan for cooking massive amounts of food. Everything was done in-house.....including the washing up afterwards.
Perhaps this is why a dawat of 15-20 people does not phase me a bit.
rosetta.....I make a point of never advising someone to do something that I've not done.
I grew up in a household where disposable dishes were a serious no-no. Ammi made sure that we always had service for 100 in our home......and yes, we lived in a joint family system where there were always at least two women in the household for any major dawat. We had a portable stove that was put in the garage with huge pateeliyan for cooking massive amounts of food. Everything was done in-house.....including the washing up afterwards.
Perhaps this is why a dawat of 15-20 people does not phase me a bit.
oh yes in such an arrangement 15-20 ppl are nothing ......my ammi also has dozens of dinner sets n arranged parties for 100+ ppl n never in disposables but she also had help for washing n leaning afterwards.......n i apologize i didnt attack u personally i was just reading all the comments n asked all those who are against disposables coz my husband is also one of them no matter how many ppl i invite i have to wash all the dishes ,thank god i ve a dishwasher now but for first 4 years ,the apartment we lived in didint allow one n i used to pass away by washing everythign afterwards....cooking is easy for me n cleaning up too as compared to washing all those dishes
no.....let me clarify......because I grew up in that environment, I find it easy to have such dawats myself......even though now I am not in a joint family system.
paper plates for dawats AND for personal daily use are a big NO in my family.
for me paper plates = picnic
in my opinion, number of guests invited should never exceed the hosts dinnerware supplies or seats
i thought "dill main jagah honi chaiyay" was the desi philosophy.. good thing i only invited very close friends n family for davats when we didnt have much but still wanted to spend some time together. :-(
plashtic ki plates and glassses wese hi use nae krni chahyey … agr kr b li to once bs…phr phenkdo desi kanjooooooso ![]()
GTG , you know you are right , dil mai jaga honi chaiye … I dont think its fair to judge the host in a negative manner , there could be dozens of reasons why they chose to present something a certain way .. so I would consider it an absolute rudeness to criticize the host …
The only thing I would feel is the thing that Muzna already mentioned , itni mehnat ki , but khana ka maza nai aya … but then again I normally dont make a big deal out of it ..![]()
Plastic plates spoons and glasses are only for picnics or while travelling…
Food tastes better in normal dishes…
Daavat of 20-30 ppl is a regular thing at home…and even for a davat of around 60(max we have had) mum doesnt use plastic plates…spoon or glasses…once upon a time i had tried to talk mum into it:hehe: but she didnt agree…now I too prefer serving in normal dishes and not plastic ones…
When at a daavat..i dont mind eating in plastic plates … if thts wht the host wishes to serve in..its her wish…who am I to comment and put her down…
Rosetta , see that is whre the problem is , when you buy crockery , one of the important things to look out for is the weight .. heavy plates are very hard to handle and a totally wrong choice for large gatherings ... I have a heavy set , which is good for 12 people ... and I have got myself a simple, plain white set which is not heavy at all , not expensive at all and that caters to all my large dawats ... so much easy to handle the cleaning afterwards ...
Those of you who think that its just rolling ur sleeves n washing the dishes after a dawat of 15-20 ppl ,i request u to please experiment it for urself ,try washing all the dishes ,spoons ,bowls ,glasses,tea pot and tea cups n saucers n dont forget to add a whining toddler or a cranky child to the scenario.....n all this around mid night after all day of cooking n cleaning. In the start of our married life ,we didnt have much plates etc just a 4 serving one n my husband invited so many ppl n insisted that i have to use proper dinner set so we went out n bought the heaviest weighing dinner plates n it was so difficult to wash them ,literally my arms n shoulder were weeping. i dont have any problem with ppl serving food in disposables (although i still cant use them coz the IN LAWS dont like it ),its so much easier to clean up.
kisi ne ye sb u se aska tha ![]()