Discussion on Hinduism

so what happens to such people when they die???

they escape the cycle of birth and re-birth means they r not coming back to this earth…
so they must be going to heaven or hell…
since neither exists, where do they go???

*Originally posted by armughal: *

so what happens to such people when they die????

they escape the cycle of birth and re-birth means they r not coming back to this earth....
so they must be going to heaven or hell....
since neither exists, where do they go????

once we are dead we are dead .

thats it????
so why wud one just wish to bring an end to one's life????

Dear Surya, Where you got the idea that there is no place for hell in Hinduism?
And before you start giving explanations over Hinduism, first you have to decide if any religion such as Hinduism exists?
For your information the word Hindu takes place since the start of middle centuries, whereas the history of India goes back to prehistoric period.

Will it shock you if I tell you that 85% of Hindus are non-vegetarians? That is another thing that Hindus are not very fond of meat, as it is costly and the warm weather is also a reason. Moreover majority of Hindus living abroad, in Europe, do not bar beef.

Sir Galahad, you have opened a good discussion. And let people come with opposite issues. Otherwise the discussion is a fake.

For a start let us say that Hindu religion is a very cast biased religion.

“2. Is the caste system part of the faith or a social construct?”

I think these links can answer you second question.

The problem of caste arose only due to improper understanding of it..

proper understanding of castse system according to Vedas is

right approach towards caste is given here…

Right understanding of Caste system is given here

ultimate purpose of caste system is

Vedas strictly order brahmin to guard the sacred Vedic manthra under any circumstances

brahmins are not previlaged caste.In contrast, the Brahmins who have preserved the dharmasastras have bound themselves to vigorous discipline, roasted themselves, as it were, in the oven of ritual practices. If the Brahmin’s purity is affected by someone he punishes himself by bathing and fasting. Please see this.

Best way of explaining certain traditions and vedic rites in reference to shudhras of hinduism can be found here..

fourth varna or the shudraas have been given previlages by the dharam shaastras.Please see this.

the brahmin according to dharam shaastras DOES NOT PRAY TO GOD FOR HIMSELF..he prays to God for the
soceity..

if brahmins created the dharam shaastras for his selfish purposes
then he would not have made such regorous rules for himself
please see this.

i dont know about the 72 virgins story....
i only hear it from non-muslims....

anyway, so why wud one just want to disappear....
isnt it better to keep coming back....
its atleast better than not existing at all....

may be they dont want to suffer that is getting old fearing death
this cycle of death and birth they want to avoid?

how come very rarly brahmins look like dalits so it is more racial
than religous? in early hinduism god indra was thanked for winning war agianst flat nosed dark skinned native people of india these verses appear in vedas.

“how come very rarly brahmins “LOOK LIKE DALITS” so it is more racial
than religous?”
I can’t answer your question but I can give a question to find answer, why south Brahmins look like North Dalits ?

*Originally posted by gpsy: *
“how come very rarly brahmins “LOOK LIKE DALITS” so it is more racial
than religous?”
I can’t answer your question but I can give a question to find answer, why south Brahmins look like North Dalits ?

it is not true you can tell except in rare cases. you cant say just one day everybody decided to call themselvs dalits and brhamins.

I want to ask a few questions too..
-Which hindu god had 16000(sixteen thousand wives)? coz im not sure if it was krishna or ram?
-Why is Cow holy?
-How many marriages is permissible in hinduism, Im asking hinduism, not what the Govt of India has permitted.

Misty Miss,

1. that would be krishna. he rescued many women from the prisons of evil kings, and gave them abode in his city.

2. the cow is holy because the aryan immigrants relied heavily on their cattle for sustainance. the cow and fire is sacred in all aryan religions, including hinduism and zoroastrianism.

3. hinduism isnt a rigid rulebook. you are trying to find parallels with semitic religions, which dont exist in religions originating outside the middle east.

Iv got a question : How come the idols of Hindu worship have animal features?Usually elephants? I know its an ignorant question, but Im asking anyway.:o

is hinduism believed in as mythology with a spiritual aspect.. stories having token symbolic/spiritual meaning or are the stories believed to have literally happened.

relating to MQ's question, the elephant wala god, (gopi?), is he supposed to actually exist or merely there to highlight the importance of the animal/convey the message that appearances are irrelevant for being worthy of reverance...?

these are all mytholgy

Shiva was in the habit of intruding upon Parvati while she was bathing. This was rather infrequently, only when that god was not under the influence of ganja. Anyway, Parvati found this habit of her forgetful lord rather annoying. One day, when the beautiful goddess was about to get a bath in the water of a pool inside a cave, she took the precaution of positioning Ganesha, her favorite son, at the entrance of the cave. She strictly instructed him not to let anybody in while she was inside. So it was that Ganesha stood guard while his mother bathed inside till he spied his father ambling towards the cave. Coming up to the cave entrance, Shiva demanded admittance but Ganesha stood his ground bravely and refused to allow his father in.

Shiva was astounded at this. He protested that no-one had the right to keep him away from his rightful wife but Ganesha did not budge from his post saying that he would not disobey his mother’s instructions. Shiva, hot-tempered as he was, flew into a terrific rage and attacked his own son. Ganesha parried his father’s attack and both fought for quite some time. All this while Parvati unwittingly went on bathing inside, unaware that her ablutionary precaution was causing unforeseen dissension within her family. Son and father fought till, at last, Shiva hurled his trident, his supreme weapon, at his son. Ganesha would not parry this as, to do so, would be to show great disrespect for his father. So he took the blow from the trident on one tusk, which broke off. At this point in time, Parvati emerged from her bath and, perceiving what has been going on, hastened to bring amity back to her family. Since then Ganesha, benevolent initiator, has had one tusk.

^Thank you.Im just a little bit lost.These Shiva waghera werent humans?I mean what exactly did they look like? partly animals?If so ,how come?

“Iv got a question : How come the idols of Hindu worship have animal features?Usually elephants? I know its an ignorant question, but Im asking anyway. ”

I don’t know how to answer this but I can ask a question what is difference between animal face GOD to face less GOD ?

“is hinduism believed in as mythology with a spiritual aspect.. stories having token symbolic/spiritual meaning or are the stories believed to happen/have literally happened.”

Yes these are true Mythology STORIES spiritually Symbolic

"the elephant wala god, (gopi?)"

I think you know the truth.

god was under influence of gaanja??? :konfused:

and while the two gods were fighting (shiva and ganesha) were they also answering the calls of the people who were praying to them???

and why did shiva have to be inside the house…
he was (is?) a god and shud be able to see thru the walls…

maybe i am confusing the powers of hindu gods…
so, let me ask just this question: how powerful is a god in hinduism???

so what happens to such people when they die????

they escape the cycle of birth and re-birth means they r not coming back to this earth....
so they must be going to heaven or hell....
since neither exists, where do they go????

They become one with God. They are in presence of God, sitting and meditating and in a state of bliss. You can say that is the highest level of heaven.

Anjann, hinduism is the common used term, basically it is the same as Vedantist (a person who follows the Vedas). Hindu is a term coined by Persians, and religion of Hindu has been termed Hinduism. But basically Hinduism = Vedantism.

*Originally posted by Muslim_Queen: *
Iv got a question : How come the idols of Hindu worship have animal features?Usually elephants? I know its an ignorant question, but Im asking anyway.:o

Itney saarey sawaal.?? So sweet... koi kaam-waam nahi hai kya.. I will answer your questions, one by one... Hinduism is same as persianism.. which is shiaism.. which is islam.. so hindus and muslims are bhai bhai.. gotcha.. musalmaan raani ??

you know kaaba was shiva temple. you go around 7 times where
that practise come from . think