Dinner Idea yo!

Whats up ya’all!. I have been given a task at home to cook nice dinner for family. I have been given unlimited access and resources as per my mom and sisters in kitchen..to make something nice for them. So tell me any chicken veggie dish..that i can just boggle their minds. Comon guppans…hit it up!..

Re: Dinner Idea yo!

Desi or non desi? Do you want a separate chicken entree and veggie side dish?

Hey KC!..well non-desi. And separate chicken entree and veggie side dish..

How about a chicken and spinach lasagna?

Yar..pg..my younger sis made lasagna other day. I want to make something different..kuch or bata do..

1. Roast a whole chicken and serve it with ratatouille (eggplant, squash, zucchini, tomato casserole type dish)

2. Chicken enchiladas served with a black bean/corn/avocado relish and spanish rice

3. Chicken parmigiana or Chicken picatta served with angel hair pasta

4. Go middle eastern: shish tawook, baba ghanoush, hummus, vermicelli rice, pita…or if you REALLY want to wow them, I can coach you through Fatet djaj which is a jordanian layered chicken and rice dish

Do the hellman’s mayo wala commerical ka chicken? Since it’s your first time keep it simple and easy. Parmesan Crusted Chicken

Chicken breast+mayo+parmesan cheese+seasoning(salt/pepper and or clubhouse seasoning for chicken)+bread crumbs. Bake at 350 for 45 mins. Chicken is done.

Veggies: Either cut up your own such as (zucchini+sweet potatoes+egg plant) or buy the one’s from the freezer section and follow the baking instructions.

The oven temperature is always higher for roasting veggies (usually 375-400)

If you want something more fancy then I can think of something else too :slight_smile:

^hmmmm…Good ideas! i am debating between 2 and 4. 4 wala zyada tough tu nahi hai cook karnay main?

not at all…I’ll PM you pics/directions and recipes for both…when are you doing this?

Ok..on new years eve. We have apparently other family friends coming too..so i better not mess it up..lol.

You can make sweet & sour chicken:

1. First put some a little oil in the pan and put in the chicken with some ginger & garlic. Cover until cooked, then remove from the pan.
  2. Turn the same pan on high heat and when it’s smoking hot, add veggies, a pinch of salt, and stir fry until almost tender but still crisp. Remove from the pan
  3. Make the sauce in the same pan.

FOR THE SAUCE:
chicken stock (you can leave this out if you don’t have it)
tomato ketchup
sugar 1 1/2 tsp
salt
pepper
vinegar
soy sauce

Mix all sauce ingredients together & add to the pan. Let them cook & add red chili flakes if you have them. Taste the sauce & adjust for the right sweet/sour balance. When the taste is perfect, add cornstarch a little at a time to get your desired consistency.

Serve with white or brown rice.

It’s easy & you can serve it with egg rolls that you can buy from the frozen section.

Italian is always easiest in my opinion…cannot go wrong with pasta, meat and sauces.

Love the ideas so far though…

Thanks muslima for sweet and sour chicken recipe. I will actually make that in the future..for sure. Something that was back of my mind.

@Reha. Yar Italian is too simple..thora spice bhi ho khanay main..

True - it is NYE after all

I like the roast chicken khatti posted…its festive, you can make it spicier and you can have additional sides with it.

I would say go with roasted chicken and roasted vegetables. Very easy and delicious. You can also make soda can chicken, it makes a very moist chicken.

Please post it here so me can try it too:flowers:

Afghani chicken pulao.

Here’s my chicken enchiladas recipe and picture:

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/household-affairs-and-cuisine-corner/633295-mexican-food.html

For the black bean/corn/avocado relish it’s simple…rinse a can of black beans well, mix it with minced jalepeno, corn kernals, diced avocado, lime juice, finely diced red onion, chopped cilantro, salt and pepper to taste…mix it all well and let the flavors meld together..about an hour in the fridge.

Recipe for roast chicken is here:

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/household-affairs-and-cuisine-corner/630980-gobble-gobble-2.html

For the ratatouille, I follow this recipe:

ratatouille’s ratatouille | smitten kitchen

For the Fatet djaj, I have a pic posted somewhere in the aaj kya khaiya pakaiya thread, but I don’t have the himmat to wade through there right now, I’ll grab a pic from my FB later…but here’s the recipe for that and the Shish Tawook:

Fatet DJaj

4 Chicken Breasts

½ cup toasted pine nuts and almonds

1 container of plain yogurt
2 cloves garlic
1 Tbls. Lemon juice
1 Tbls. Vinegar
2 Tbls. Tahini
1 ½ loaves pita bread fried in olive oil
4 cups of basmati rice cooked with turmeric.
1 Tbls. Chopped parsley

• Clean the chicken breast and boil with chicken bouillon cubes. Let cool and then shred the chicken into medium size pieces.
  • Toast the pine nuts and almonds in the oven or sauté them in olive oil.
  • Cook rice with chicken broth and add turmeric to the rice before it starts boiling.
  • Reserve ½ cup of the chicken broth.
  • Cut the bread in squares and toast the bread pieces in the oven until golden or fry them in olive oil until golden and crispy (this is the way I do it)
  • Mix the crushed garlic with the lemon juice, vinegar and tahini and stir in the yogurt.
  • Add salt to taste.
  • Place the bread in the bottom of a casserole dish then sprinkle with the reserved chicken broth.
  • Add the rice over the bread.
  • Top with the yogurt mixture
  • Layer the chicken on top of the yogurt and then add the toasted nuts.
  • Serve immediately.

**Shish Tawook:

**1/4 cup(s) Extra Virgin Olive Oil, The darker the oil the better
3/4 cup(s) Plain Yogurt
1 1/2 teaspoon(s) Garlic Powder
1 1/2 teaspoon(s) Salt
1 teaspoon(s) Dried Oregano
1/4 teaspoon(s) Ground Black Pepper
1/4 teaspoon(s) Ground Cumin
1/4 teaspoon(s) Ground Coriander
1/8 teaspoon(s) Ground Chile Powder, You can add as much or little as you like.
2 tablespoon(s) White Vinegar
2 pound(s) Skinless, boneless chicken breast halves, Cut into 2 inch cubes

Directions
Whisk together the vinegar, olive oil, plain yogurt, garlic, salt, oregano, pepper, cumin, coriander, and chili powder in a large bowl; add the chicken and toss to coat.
Transfer the chicken mixture into a large plastic bag; refrigerate at least 4 hours or overnight.
Preheat an outdoor grill for medium-high heat and lightly oil grate.
Thread the chicken onto metal skewers. Cook on preheated grill until the chicken is golden and no longer pink in the center, about 5 minutes each side.

Khatti, how to present just immidiately as takes sme time to assemble cant it be warmed as my friends tend to not come all together

Do you mean for the Fatet Djaj? No, it’s not something that can be premade in advance and kept warm because the yogurt sauce will get absorbed and make everything soggy…it won’t have the same effect. I suggest having all the components of the dish ready in advance and kept serparate. Just before you’re ready to serve dinner, assemble it an serve. It doesn’t take that long to put together.

Another tip I forget to add…I mash the garlic and salt in mortar and pestle to make a smooth paste before adding to the yogurt