Nice, my dining set is the exact same color, and very similar style. I think my walls are a few shades darker than yours but similar color. That’s odd. hehe
Re: Dining table
There are so many different kind of plastic sheets out there. I have the one that's not tooo thick neither too thin. Like an in between one. Lets say there are 5 different kind based on thickness... 1-5.. 1 being the thinnest. I would go for like 3 or 4.. 5 will stick out I think and 1 is too thin.
CB - we have the same plastic, it's durable enough but not thick that it doesn't fall nicely. Our long table ends are rounded (half a circle) and it falls nicely all the way around.
I will ask my mum where she bought it from. She got one with a huge width.
Personally, I'm not a fan but with desi food and guests, it's the only option. Especially if you have a table runner that was hand made.
Hi CB
I was never very keen on these plastic covers,but having had all my table covers all but ruined,I finally succumbed and bought some.I got mine from Dunelm Mill… they have several stores.Your nearest one may be in St Helen’s.
You can do a search on www.dunelm-mill.com
I don’t care what it looks like…at least my covers are saved.I bought two because I can extend my table.You buy the plastic by the metre,and I just cut to the shape of my table cloths and it hangs fine.
HTH
Wow , thanks so much Charmed , spiral and Stoppit .. this is really really helpful .. I will start doing some research … ![]()
any other table decoration ideas?
I have recently been thinking that perhaps i can do little crochet round sheets , like size of a cushion , with same thread as the one for the table runner and place it on the chair seats … odd idea or a good one? ![]()
If your chairs are padded then make them thin...you don't want to be too high :)..how will you keep them in place ?...perhaps tie them ?...sounds cute though.
What about matching napkins?..you could edge them in crochet...umm....why red/yellow?..is that the colour of your dining room/dinner set?
charmed , I wont be putting the cushions .. its just going to be a single layer of crochet , like a seat decoration .. you know what i mean …![]()
I love the napkin idea .. thats definitely happening inshallah ![]()
About the color choice , the french doors that connect the kitchen and the dining to the garden , are in between the kitchen and the dining … I am going to have red curtains on it for night time coverage … plus thinking of having red splash backs in the kitchen …
so i thought of using the red silk tablecloth and on top of it a yellow crochet table runner … the design i have picked has alot of flowery pattern, so the red will show through the flowery pattern and give the table a bright look… and I have tonns of yellow flowers and decoration pieces that i intend to use in the dining room corners …
I hope i havnt killed the interior designing principles
.. I am so bad at designing , I cant do it for the life of me ![]()
Ahhhh…I see what you mean:smack:…yeah sounds like an idea.Go for it.
For the runner,is there another colour you could pick out from your table cloth?..sounds like you have lots of yellow things already.Just my humble opinion ![]()
BTW…have you thought about red sheer panels…or you definitely want curtains?
sheer panels ? what are they ? got any pics ? … I only decided to go for the curtains , coz i dont know of any other options really …:no: … whose the nalaik designer..CB raises hand
you reckon Yellow is a bit too much?
you know what i will do is pick the base sheet first , post a pic and then based on the recomendation choose the runner thread colour .. what say
.. its gonna take some time but inshallah when i start i will definitely ask you guys for opinion ![]()
Sheer panels are long bits of thin fabric,like organza or muslin that hang without gathers.I have some made into roman blinds,that I can pull up and let down.Will try and post some pics. tomorrow.
If you have already picked out your table cloth,then just work around the colours from it,and make that your focal point.
Don't get me wrong....yellow is a lovely colour....perhaps with white and pale green.But,at the end of the day,it's all down to personal perference.
yeah true , Charmed , please post the pics , i will wait for them … ![]()
I havnt found the table cloth yet coz we are still waiting to move to the new home ..inshallah in a month’s time .. after then we will get busy with decorating .. but right now i am just planning things ![]()
What other colors do you think can go well with red as a base? or neutralize the red shade ? but keep the room bright at the same time .. you know what i mean …
The red splash backs , curtain and the red tablecloth will sort of form a triangle angle in the room … so i will need a color which will sort of blend well with the red without having a life of its own … any ideas?
cut a slit along the folds
Dunelm Mill, or try any large shop that sells curtain fabric, net curtain fabric etc by the metre. They usually have a plastic tablecloth section as well.
ehle , that sounds like a good idea actually
…I might try just that …
Brit thanks so much , i will look in DM inshallah soon … ![]()
CB, some of my relatives in Uk got those Organza type embroided curtains etc from Pak...they said they were much cheaper there. It's their opinion, I have no idea price-wise. You are getting your furniture from Pak so maybe you can check for the curtains too?
Hey CB - My family has never been a fan of plastic on our tables because we feel like it takes away from the khubsurati of the actual dining table. My mom placed a thick piece of glass on top of our dining table. This protects the wood and looks more expensive. It is realllyyyyy easy to clean and is so heavy that it will never move. It is a good investment. We place the table mats and runner on top of the glass when we use them
They are not protected I know but they are also easier to replace and wash as opposed to the actual wood of the table.
I’v already told my fiance that we will also do this …get a glass cover for the dining table to protect it. He was like um… whatever??? lol. hehe.
Here is a pic of my mom’s dining table:
I guess there is a material which doesn't have stain issues... some sort of polyester (spell) mix.
I am with PunjabiRose on this one.. I don't like plastic sheets on tables, my mother and mil both have them but I don't. I'd go for a glass top too.
Masi , Organza I believe isnt really heavy material is it?
the Curtain I need on the windows must be heavy material so that it can stop the cold from the doors … so how does it work , base material can be some heavy stuff and top one can be organza ?
… I am actually gonna get the curtains inshallah from Pakistan too … Just exploring the possibilities at the moment ![]()
I like the glass idea .. Punjabi Rose , your mom’s Dining table looks so awesome mashallah
… the thing is , the table runners are still not protected are they :no:
CB get table runners from Pak too.. they are so cheap there.. and if you can buy material and get them made, even cheaper.
And yes Organza is kind of transparent, sorry missed that requirement of yours…but still if you like you can get them made to serve as ‘lining’ you know the double curtain thingie, you tie back the front curtain in daytime and let the back curtain(lining) cover windows. ![]()
Also I have seen very pretty custom made blinds made out of that material in Pak, they look so gorgeous ![]()