Dilemma thats killing me

A/s alll,

I need some serious help. May Allah reward you for reading and any advice that you could give me.

Who am I?

I am a born again muslim who comes from a relatively privelleged family in Pakistan. Studied at one of the best schools in Pak and graduated with a degree in the US. Alhumdulillah, I have a great job and God has been merciful on me all along. He tests us in all ways and I am not immune from that either. Some of you may know me but I cannot share my ID due to privacy reasons. I am a strong believer in Islam being THE code of life and strive to live a life according to it. I have always stayed away from haram things in this country and my life has mostly revolved around Masajids. I consult with Imams when in delimmas and most of my friends are those who frequent the masajids as well. At the same time, I am a fun loving, prankster who loves wearing good brands, latest fashions and watch movies in theatres or with friends at home. A typical weekend for me is praying duhr at masjid or with friends at home, then cranking out a game of PS3, maybe driving down the next zabiha fast food joint and grabbing a bite to eat. At night pray Isha and head out for some good desi food and watch a movie or vice versa. Come back home talk to parents back home and sleep.

Marriage?
My opinion on marriage was always very positive. I was not sure if I was ever ready for it, but it kinda came to me. My parents came accross this family and they wanted me to think about it. I always had an ideal spouse in mind but since I am not perfect, I was willing to be flexible. I thought if my wife was a religious person(note:relgious and not culturally religiou) she could push me to become a better muslim. Ultimate goal? for both of us to help each other attain jannah. Well, this oppurtunity came through, I listened to my parents, spoke to the girls for a few days and basically inquired her about Deen. I thought if one has deen or atleast willing to learn and implement more, life could be easier since Prophet SAW is the best example for us to follow in every aspect of life(marital in this case). The girl didn’t wear hijab but prayed regularly and followed the basic tenets and was chaste alhumdulillah. What she lacked for more knowledge. I knew it was due to her family not being attached to the mosque and all she did was purely because of her own desires. I saw a person in her who would be willing to learn more and become a better muslimah and a good muslim wife. We liked each other, everything went well and then we had nikah. Things didn’t seem all that good after nikah since her family started acting strange. They changed some of their plans and basically took advantage of us in many ways. They had a very struggling and unprivelleged past that had made them bitter in life. Due to this unfortunate past, they had lost the ability to respect relations and honor them. Family was very disfunctional and communication among them was nill. In short, they didn’t seem to love or respect each other or anyone in the extended family. I learnt this later and it was too late to realize that something was gonna be unleashed on me as well. Anyways, things went south and the girl was left on her own to decide if she wanted to keep the marriage or not. I was in the dark for a while because I wasn’t sure what they wanted. My initial idea was that the girl wanted some more time before things got normal before she could move on with life. Time went by and I had to ask. I asked, and she said she wanted divorce. I consulted the scholars and they said given the situations it was okay and probably better to cut if off since despite many of my efforts, the girl wouldn’t wanna move ahead with life. I requested the scholar to once speak with the girl to get her side of story so I dont have to blame myself for not giving her a chance to express her views. Point to note, in the months that this went on, I gave up everything and totally submitted myself to keep the marriage. But it seemed as if she had either decided something or was clueless and wanted to remain the same.

I pity her for not having a family to guide of advise her. She couldn’t share things with anyone due to cultural pressure. She finally spoke with the scholar and she probably realized her mistakes. All along months of tension, I kept on telling her the need for resolution of issues from islamic perspective and social as well but none seem to sink in. All this time I had been planning to give her a beautiful life ahead so she would forget the hard times she had been through, but it seemed like she had become accustomed to living a miserable life. None of the things I wanted to give her seemed good to her.

Now what?

You can call it the wisdom of Allah but something made her change her stance. She is willing to move on and live a life that I had offered her. Although in this period, I learnt things that I couldn’t have otherwise. It turns out she didn’t like my parents loving me as much as they currently do. She felt insecured? I learnt she had certain feministic ideologies in total contradiction with Islam. Despite proving things from Quran and Sunnah, she would not let anything change her feminist ideas and would blame Pakistani culture to be oppressive to women when a lot of things in that culture are what Islam wants a wife to do. I explained her what are the rights of Husband and wife in Islam but she would deem those cultural things and self interpret the verses.

What to do?

Now, I am at a crossroads where I cannot sacrifice my deen or love of my parents for someone who has been so stubborn and unwilling to compromise on issues that were created by her family. At first I though I did not understand females but I need help here.

Dont you think this is extraordinary?

Someone who has not even experienced anything negative from my family and is asking me to eliminate them so she can have a secure future can be a good wife?

Someone who is not accepting the Islamic perspective, can she learn to in the future or is this a lost cause?

Is her immaturity going to stay forever? Do girls mature and grow in marriage?

I know there is way to vague but anything that you guys can chip in will be very helpful.

Regards,

Re: Dilemma thats killing me

Oh, I go to the gym regularly, work out and have a good athletic body. If you were to see me dressed on a weekend, you'd think I was going to the club or something :)

I was a teacher in the Qur'anic study circle at our neighborhood Masjid at the time. I would see this young boy after Maghrib prayers, you might say he was about fifteen years old. He held a pocket Qur'an and sat alone reading from it - no, he wasn't actually reading from it, he was just trying to make it seem as if he was. Now and again, he would shyly steal a few glances at us, curious to know what we were doing. Once in awhile, you might see him straining to make out what we were talking about.
Every time I caught his eye, he would avert his head and continue with his recitation, as if he had not intended to look this way.
Day after day, he sat in the same reserved manner, revealing the same timid glance. Finally after Isha Salah one day, I resolved to confront him.
"As Salamu 'Alaykum, my name is Salman, I teach the Qur'anic study circle in this Masjid."
'And my name is Khalid.'
Strange, he replied so fast, as if he had been waiting to share this piece of information for such a long time and expected to be asked.
"Where do you study Khalid?"
'In the Eighth grade...and I...I love the Qur'an a lot.'
Strange indeed, why did he add that last sentence?
Confidently, I asked him, "Listen Khalid, have you got any free time after Maghrib? We would be honored to have you join us in the class."
'What? The Qur'an? The Halaqah? Yes...why, yes of course (happiness overcame him). I'll be there, Insha'Allah.'
That night, I couldn't think of anything other than this young boy and the haze that surrounded his behavior. Sleep would just not come.
I attempted to interpret an answer for what I saw and heard, but there was none. A verse of poetry came to mind: 'the coming days shall unravel the mystery / and the news may appear from where you could never see.'
I turned on my right side and slipped my right hand under my cheek. O Allah, I have surrendered myself to You and to You I turn over my affairs.
*** Subhan Allah, how the calendar was jogging by. Khalid was now a regular in our Qur'anic circle, energetic and successful in memorization. He was friends with everyone and everyone was friends with him. You could never catch him without a Qur'an in his hand, or find him in any other line in Salah other than the first. There was nothing wrong with him except for his occasional long lapses of attention. There were times when his stoned eyes would reflect the fathomless thought going on in his mind. Sometimes we knew his body was with us, but his soul was somewhere else, suffocating in another world. Occasionally, I would startle him. All he had was a mumble to reply with, he would have been the first to admit its fabrication.
One night, I walked with him after class to the beach shore. Maybe his big secret might meet something equally large, relax somewhat, and release its distress and pain.
We arrived at the beach and traced the waves. The full moon was out.
A strange sight. The darkness of the night found the darkness of the sea, with a lit moon in-between them.
It sat somewhat embarrassed at its intrusion, similar to my shyness towards Khalid right then.
The rays of the silent moon rested on the silent waves of the sea. I stood behind the silent boy. The scene was silence.
Just then! It all shattered and crushed to the ground as the young boy fell to the bottom, bleeding his heart with tears. I chose not to interrupt Khalid's emotional release, perhaps the saltiness of his tears might help him relax and cleanse his distress.
After a few moments he said from behind his tears, 'I love you all...I love the Qur'an...and those who love it. I love pious brothers, moral, pure brothers.'
'But...my father...it's my father.'
"Your father? What is wrong with your father Khalid?"
'My father always warned me not to hang around with you people. He's afraid. He hates you all. And he always tries to convince me that I should hate you too. At any chance he gets, he'll try to prove his point with stories and tales.'
'But...when I saw you people in the Halaqah reciting Qur'an, I saw something entirely different. I saw the light in your faces, the light in your clothes, the light in your words, even when you were silent I could see the light even then.'
'I doubted my father's tales and that's why I would sit after Maghrib, watching you, pretending that I was part of the circle, trying to share in the light.'
'I...I remember Ustadh Salman...I remember the time you approached me after 'Isha prayer. I'd been waiting for that moment for such a long time. When I began the classes, my soul locked itself into a world of purity with your souls. I began the circle and was persistent. I wouldn't sleep, my days and nights became Qur'an. My father noticed the change in my routine. He found out, one way or another, that I had joined the circle and that I was now hanging out with "terrorists."
'Then, on a dark night...
'We were waiting for father to come home from the coffee shop, his daily ritual, so that we could all have dinner together.'
'He entered the house with his hardened face and slaps of anger.'
'We all sat together at the dinner mat. Silence settled on the gathering as usual, all of us were afraid to speak in his presence.'
'He knifed the silence with his roaring and immediate voice. "I heard you' re hanging out with the fundamentalists."
'I was caught red. My tongue looped and failed. All the words in my mouth attempted to come out at the same time. But, he didn't wait for the answer...
'He snatched the teakettle and threw it maliciously at my face.'
'The room spun and the colors united before my eyes. I stopped distinguishing the ceiling from the walls from the floor, and fell.'
'My mother held me.'
'A damp cloth on my forehead reminded me of where I was. The vicious voice turned on my mother, "Leave him alone, or you'll be in the same lot."
'I crawled out of my mother's lap and whimpered away to my room. He followed me down the corridor with the cruelest curses.'
'There was not a day that he didn't beat me in some way. Curses, kicks, throwing whatever was nearest to his hand. My body had finally become a shiver of fear, grotesque colors formed all over. I hated him.'
'One day while we were sitting at the dinner mat, he said, "Get up, don't eat with us."
'Before I could get up though, he pounced immediately and kicked me in the back, making me slam into the pots.'
'At that moment, lying there on there on the ground, I pretended to stand taller than him and shout back in his face...'
'One day, I'll pay you back. I'll beat you just like you beat me, and curse you just like you cursed me.'
'I'll grow up and become strong. And you'll get old and become feeble.'
'And then...I'll treat you just like you treated me. I'll pay you back.'
'After that, I left home and ran away. I just ran, anywhere, it didn't matter anymore.'
'I found my way to this beach. It helped me wash away some of the sadness. I held my pocket Qur'an and began reciting until I could continue no longer because of my excessive crying.'
And here, a few of those innocent tears descended again, tears that sparkled under the moon like pearls under a lamp. I couldn't say anything, the surprise had arrested my tongue. Should I be aghast at this beast of a father, whose heart knew nothing about mercy? Or, should I be amazed at this patient young lad, whom Allah had wished guidance for and inspired with faith. Or, should I be shocked at them both, at the father-son bond that had broken, causing their relationship to transform into that of a lion and a tiger, or a wolf and a fox.
I held his warm hand and wiped away a tear from his cheek. I reassured him, prayed for him, and advised him to remain obedient to his father. I told him to remain patient and that he was not alone. I promised that I would meet his father, speak to him, and try to evoke his mercy.
*** That incident slipped further away with each passing day. I tried thinking of ways to open Khalid's case with his father. How should I speak to him? How was I going to be convincing? To be frank, how was I even going to knock on his door? Then finally, I collected my courage, rehearsed my plan, and resolved that the confrontation...uh, meeting...would be that day at five o'clock.
When the time arrived, I left for Khalid's house with all my ideas and questions for his father dangling from my pockets.
I rang the doorbell. My fingers trembled and my knees were melting. The door opened. There it was, standing in the shadow with it's frowned lips and veins beating with anger.
I tried beginning with a candid smile. Maybe it might smooth out some of the wrinkles before we even started.
He snatched my collar and jerked me towards him. 'You're that fundamentalist that teaches Khalid at the Masjid, aren't you?'
"Well...uh...yes."
'God help me, if I ever see you walking with him again, I'll break your legs. Khalid won't be coming to your class anymore.'
And then, he mustered all the saliva in his mouth and spit on my face. The door slammed behind it.
Slowly, I unfolded a tissue that was in my pocket, wiped what he had honored me with, and retreated down the stairs consoling myself. Allah's Messenger - sal Allahu alayhi wa sallam - suffered more than this. They called him a liar, cursed him, stoned him with rocks and caused his feet to bleed. They broke his teeth and placed dung on his back and expelled him from his house.
*** Day after day. Month after month. No sign of Khalid. His father forbade him from leaving the house, even for the congregational prayer. He even forbade us from seeing or meeting him. We prayed for Khalid...Until we forgot about him. Years passed away. One night, after the 'Ish' prayer, a shadow walked behind me in the Masjid and rested a familiar harsh hand on my shoulder. The same hand that held me years ago. The same face, the same wrinkles and the same mouth that honored me with what I was not deserving of.
But ... something had changed. The savage face had shattered. The angry veins had subsided, belittled and still. The body looked tired of all the pain and conflict, weakened by sadness and grief.
"How are you?" I kissed his forehead and welcomed him. We took a corner of the Masjid. He collapsed on my lap sobbing.
Subhan Allah, I never thought that that lion would one day become a kitten.
Speak up. What's wrong? How is Khalid?
'Khalid!' The name was like a dagger piercing his heart, twisting inside, and breaking off. His head slumped.
'Khalid is no longer the same boy that you used to know. Khalid is no longer the generous, calm and humble young lad.
'After he left your circle he befriended a pack of evil boys, ever since he was little he loved to socialize. They caught him at that time of life when a youth wants to leave the house. Vanity, jokes.'
'He began with cigarettes. I cursed him, beat him. But there was no use, his body had grown accustomed to the beatings, his ears were used to the curses.'
'He grew quickly. He started staying up with them all night, not coming home until dawn. His school expelled him.'
'Some nights he would come home to us speaking abnormally, his face loose, his tongue confused, his hands shivering.'
'That body, which used to be strong, full, and tender, passed away. What remained was a feeble worn frame. That pure frosty face of his transformed. It became dark and filthy. The scum of misguidance and sin clung to it.'
'Those shy and simple eyes of his changed. They shot red like fire as if everything he drank or took showed immediately in his eyes like some sort of punishment, in this life before the next.'
'Hostility and disrespect replaced that shyness and cowardice he once knew. Gone was that soft, respectful young heart. In it's place grew a hardened center, like a rock, if not harder.'
'Seldom a day would pass without incident. He would either curse, kick, or hit me. Imagine it, my own son. I'm his father, yet he still hits me.'
After releasing all that, his eyes returned wet and bitter. But, he added quickly, 'I beg you Salman, visit Khalid. Take him with you, you have my blessing, the door is open.'
'Pass by him sometime. He loves you. Register him in the Qur'anic study circle. He could go with you on field trips. I have no objection. In fact, I am even willing to allow him to live in your homes and sleep over.'
'The important thing, Salman...the important thing is that Khalid returns to the way he was.'
'I beg you lad, I'll kiss your hands, warm your feet, I beg you and beg you...'
He collapsed, crying and wheezing, into the memories of the grief and pain. I allowed him to complete everything he had to say.
Then I addressed him...
"Despite what has passed, let me try. Brother, you planted this seed. And this is your harvest."

Its just what we harvest............................................

Hi, so is she basically telling you to leave your family for her?

I am not married, but the way i see it, girls do and can change after marriage, but it all depends on the girl. Is she willing to compromise? As there are girls out there, who are lets say 'not kind hearted or even not very nice' not willing to listen, not willing to accept her husbands side of family no matter how they are. While others do all they can do make her in laws happy.

Basically my point is, from however long you have known her, in your heart, can you accept her they way she is? Do you think she can change? If you don't mind me asking how old is she?

For months your life was at standstill as was hers. Then she says she wants a divorce, and then she changes her mind. Then she tells you to leave your family? Do you think her family are have any influence on her decision?

I think its either she is jealous of the r/ship you have with your family something maybe she has never experienced and maybe longs for?, however is that not a good thing on her behalf? she is lucky enough to have a family like yours as her in laws. She should thank allah, and do what she can to make her new family happy. Or she can be one of those girls who doesnt like her in laws and will not change.

I think it really is up to you to think about what kind of person she is, and then see if you can accept her or not.

I hope that made sense!

This married single character is a faker!

I don't think anyone would spend that much time writing such a long post about a 'non existent problem/issue

That story was amazing!! i wish it had a happier ending.. reminds me of a similar story i read not so long ago but he boy went from bad to good... I suppose its made me think though, do to others as u wud like to be treated.. Good luck brother in ur predicament

honestly sum ppl think any person with a problem looking for advice is a faker gosh

Random girl,

Despite a lot of insults, false accusations and threats from her dad while he was having a fit(he is mentally unstable), me and my family were willing to accept the girl because we thought that she should not be held responsible for her dad's actions. For that matter, I remained patient for months in order to convince her to move on but she kept sowing more hatred for my family in her heartand never discussed things in order to clear doubts or concerns.How can one live with such an attitude? I can't even sleep well if I have such things in my heart?

Her major issue is that she cannot overcome negative perceptions she has built for other people. She will never confirm if or check what the other persons intentions were but simply accuse them in her heart until it comes to a point that no explainations or clarifications have any effect. I wish she appreciated the family and love of parents and others she had not experienced, but from her actions, it almost feels like she has lost trust in the world and might also believe that love does not exist. I have never heard from her if she likes any single person in her circle of life, not even her own siblings.

I was in denial for the longest time that she will be delighted to be part of a well knit, happy and loving family where people are there for you at all times.

I cannot tell if she will ever change. I wish I knew her that well.

I cannot accept her the way she is. My jannah are my parents and how can I even distance myself from them when they are innocent like a new born in this whole affair.

She is barely 24, very protected throughout life and has no real life experience of the world. One other reason I did not want to divorce because I felt bad for her. It might be too late when she realizes what shes been asking for. Unfortunately, she lost her mom at a young age and does not even remember her as much. Dad came from a different mindset and couldn't give that motherly love to her so she almost never learnt some essential lessons of life from anyone.

What shall I do? I pray to Allah in every Salah to show me right path and take away whats not good for me.

Thank you for reading.

Here Dad will indeed harvest what he sow. Although it hurts me to even think like that, I pray to Allah for justice since it not only affects them, it effects me as well.

I think maybe her attitude to life does stem from the fact that she lost her mother at an early age, She has no motherly figure in her life. Someone to show her from right from wrong. It also sounds like she herself is confused and does not know what she wants.

I think all you can do is continue to be patient, and allah will show you the right path. talk to her if necessary and explain though im sure you have done; that you can give her the love that will make her happy and that marriage is life long. There is no point in being angry at your family for no reason.

though she is 24, like you say maybe she is yet to learn the lessons life has in store for us, however give her time and once she knows in her heart you are good for her, she will come to you inshallah after all yo her husband. Unfortunately if she continues to say silly things, maybe just maybe give her what she wants only if there is no other way as you ahve tried all you can, sometimes we have to let go of people no matter how bad the situation may become.

Thank you for your great advice. I have come to that conclusion as well and I am thinking about giving her a chance.

Being a human, I have another fear. I fear if she is one of those who won't change which is something no one can guarantee, should I leave it now when no Rukhsati has taken place?

Isn't that going to be better for both of us?

Or should I be willing to take on the responsibility to maybe infuse that change in her inshallah. I know Allah will reward me for that but ....

just confused.

marriedsingle? - Can you please explain WHY she has issues with your family and what type of condition is she putting on you? Is she saying you have to cut all ties with your family or just that she wants to live separately from your family? And please explain what incident occured for her to form this hatred towards your family? I still don't understand what your family did to make her act this way.

Unless I know WHY I have no explanation for her very strange behaviour. One thing I can tell you however, is that she seems to be VERY CONFUSED if one minute she wants a divorce and the next minute changes her mind. You mentioned her dad in mentally unstabe and by the sounds of it, she doesn't exactly seem like she has her head on right herself.

From everything you described about yourself in your first post, you seem to be a very good person. My honest opinion is that you deserve better than her. Sometimes situations can be rectified, othertimes if you try to rectify them, you end up miserable again a little later. I don't want you to end up in a situation where you regret keeping her (if God forbid she continues to cause problems for you later on).

Candy,

My parents live in Pakistan. After nikah she noticed that my parents call me often especially when we were together. She didn't like the fact I was that close to my parents and she felt they shouldn't interfere in our lives especially when we are together. Honestly, my parents were super excited for us and they were not able to join us for the nikah so they were trying be there for us on the phone. It was very normal and predictable behavior and I did not even notice of it being an issue at all.

She has shown serious unwillingness in having a relationship with my parents. I have not asked her exactly what she wants me to do but it surely sounds like she wants them out of my life.

She is very very confused. Imagine, she has not discussed this divorce thing with anyone whatsoever. Her friends, family no one has a clue. What can you expect from a person who does not consult or take advice from ANYONE not even her own family? She wont trust anyone and feels strongly that her decisions are need to be made by her strictly. You are very right, I have a strong feeling that she is mentally unstable as well to some extent. It could be genetic but I have noticed that several people in her family have that issue.

Honestly, most of my friends and people I know in the religious circle have told me to cut it off since I really don't deserve all this. They know me very well and I have been dying to find a flaw in me or an error I made for which I am getting punished but by listening to both sides, they tell me I haven't done anything to get this relationship where it stands today. That has given me a lot of confidence in deciding if it needs to be done with. One of the Imams actually told me to let her go and Inshallah he will find me someone who I was looking for in her(religious, loving, caring etc). That was after I asked him if it will be hard for me to find a spouse since I would be a divorcee.

I really appreciate your help.

Beleive me, listen to the Imam, you will have no problem getting remarried to a good Muslim girl.

How long did you know her and her family before getting the nikkhah done? The reason I ask, is I have noticed a lot of Pakistani's (especially the more religious or conservative ones) get nikkah done really fast (like after the first meeting or something).

I think its important to take the time to get to know a person really well before even having a nikkah. Pakistani's are too concerned with what other people in the community will think and so always rush into nikkah.

If you do decide to end this marriage, please be more careful the second time around and REALLY take the time to get to know the girl and her family before you sign the contract!

marriedsingle,

she can change with the right approach and the right care

its not an overnight thing, but it can happen, Inshallah

Rather than arguing with her (and i know u have said you have been very patient), just speak with her. Get to know her more, u r nikahfied.. so im sure u guys can talk freely.

Yes, ur parents are ur jannah and u cannot leave them... but this girl will (Inshallah) one day become ur wife, which i think she is considering u have had the nikkah, in that case u need to give her some rights too... Ur parents raised u and loved u and have given u a good upbringing, Mashallah, but now that ur married... u need to be able to distinguish between the love for a wife and the love for parents..

which, a lot of times people have a hard time distinguishing between... this goes for both males and females

Sadzz,

I appreciate you giving me the hope. Inshallah, I did and still have intention to make it work but like I said, I am a human and sometimes I feel "I am not qualified to be that lifelong teacher?".

I try to know her more but she is on the other side of the coast and trust me, its hard to know someone more when they do not communicate that much and are not staying with you.

I totally agree with the rights of Wife and Parents and clearly understand how to distinguish between them. The unfortunate thing is that we have not even come to the point where we need to define them because neither my parents live with me not do they have any intentions to do so. She is freaking out merely by a couple of phone calls I got while I was with her. I am aware of all the rights she has on me and willing to give them to her. My parents are very understanding, they will never put me in a spot where I will have to make a tougher decision between them and my wife. If they knew all this, they would never even bother me. Their happiness is my happiness even if it means them being out of my life. But I will not be able to face myself nor Allah.

^ thats good to hear..

maybe cus is so far away from you, she is having trouble understanding the whole relationship. She may even just be listneing to other people's marriage dilemma's and freaking out... ?

Trust me, i know all about having mixed up ideas and all sorts of things. Also, she does not know ur parents either hence the crazy conditions (if thats what they are).. and u will not know about ur relationship until you're living together..

SERIOUSLY

MarriedSingle, a few observations I have:

firstly, I think the friends that told you to cut it off are not really giving you the best advise. Because divorce is a very very looked down upon thing in the religion.. the right to divorce is granted to the man , for a good reason ... the fact that women act emotionally but a man will always act as a responsible caretaker. She is just 24, experiencing life , yes those who have had a hard life occasionally find it alot harder to accept good things in life.

Whereas her compromise with your family is concerned... your family maybe very loving, towards you and her , you must give this time, the girl might be undergoing the phase where she has a confused family setup and not ready to indulge in any new parental relationships , give her time to grow into this relationship, your parents if they truly love you will understand and encourage you and her to be together and understand each other..

a phase comes when you have to move away from your parents a certain degree in order for your own household to work... you continue to have a loving relationship with your parents , try to leverage the relationship between them and your wife as much as possible.. but dont push her into developing a relationship wth them, step back, first improve your relationship with her , let her respect them on her own and trust me , love begets love, no matter how harsh a person is , when she will get love from your parents and you , she will come to terms and accept them and give the love back.

none of us are always 100% innocent.. we think we are , but whether we have a negative influence on a certain situation can only be decided by a third person. We only know your side of the story, we dont know what she might have to say about this all... Allah will not forgive a man who divorced his wife because his wife couldnt love his parents back ... yes your Jannah lies in serving your parents but remember , you are also comiting the worst of actions with a divorce...

time , patience, Allah's help and your intentions will be able to give you the best possible solution to your issues... unless it gets extreme, you should try to maintain your relationship with your parents and your wife on different boats... Allah has given a man the capacity to manage two households .. so have faith.. and inshallah the good will come your way.

May Allah guide us all.

... forgot to mention ... as far as her deviation from faith is concerned ...
It can take years before she get influenced with your way of thinking.... let her mature on her own.. right now , with a shaky relationship the last thing that will matter to her is wht you think of religion...

as the head of your family, you must try to influence her through your behaviour, with love.. arguments dont always win the best of the lot... hence lay a strong foundation with a singleminded approach to get the marriage to work, with time inshallah she will mature , so will you and once love comes back into the relationship, you will be in a much better situation to influence her.