My brother’s nikkah is to be on March 11th iA! my mom will be arriving in Lahore on Feb 17th…now i knw there isn’t enough time to order a bridal for my SIL once my mom gets there.
So the choices are:
Let my SIL order it (we send her the money) but the problem is my mom really wants to be a part of it, she doesn’t mind SIL picking it but wants to be there.
Pick something off the rack (in Lahore) once she is there (won’t have the best choices.)
Get something copied by an online designer (not sure who to go with…only person i trust is prototype and she is off on a vacation for two weeks.)
Which one do u girls think is the best option? Our budget is 1lac.
i say let your SIL order it herself- your mom can still be involved by getting updates from your SIL- she can narrow down some choices and get your mom's opinions
nothing beats liberty .. there are two three shops right there which cater to this budget
if you want someone online .. i have only found one person in khi to be reliable - xenab ansari at xenab atelier
bahu can totally work picking her own outfit but its best you guys go together and pick something off the rack .. mom ki khuwaaahishaat ka khayaal rakhna chahyea :) and make bahu rani happy too with takin her along .. budget is reasonable!
Congratulations on your brother's wedding! Let your SIL pick the outfit, but have your mom involved in terms of helping pick colours and styles - make it a collaborative process.
You're doing a nikkah now but the ruksati and valima later? If so, then I'd let her do it herself, maybe with some input from you guys (about style, colors, or even just photos sent with possibilities). Your mom can be more involved with the later outfits.
let your sil select her dress. its a big purchase and a big deal and your mom shouldn't stand in the way of it. she can be a part of other wedding preps, or perhaps your sil can send her pics of her top 3 choices and your mom can have some input into helping her choose which outfit to pick in which colour and style.
SIL picking up her own wedding dress is a great idea rabia. There is enough stress at a wedding, let's not add this one and then be pressed for time. Don't go for online designers. No surity of their work. MIL can be involved when she comes over finally. Plus MIL can be involved in other things as other people have said. Let SIL do her own thing, everyone will be happy. MIL can pick out mayun dress or any other dress for any other function off the rack etc.
Rabia, same brother who recovered from cancer na???? :):):) MASHALLAH CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!! :):):)
My brother's nikkah is to be on March 11th iA! my mom will be arriving in Lahore on Feb 17th...now i knw there isn't enough time to order a bridal for my SIL once my mom gets there.
So the choices are:
1. Let my SIL order it (we send her the money) but the problem is my mom really wants to be a part of it, she doesn't mind SIL picking it but wants to be there.
2. Pick something off the rack (in Lahore) once she is there (won’t have the best choices.)
3. Get something copied by an online designer (not sure who to go with...only person i trust is prototype and she is off on a vacation for two weeks.)
Which one do u girls think is the best option? Our budget is 1lac.
The nikkah is now, rukhsati will be once her paper work in complete...and my brother will just go to pakistan and bring her (sil's family will do a big function but none of us will be there) SIL's will get her own outfit for rukhsati. The valima will be here in the US and we will send her the money for the valima outfit.)
SIL to be is in isloo so i told her to visit some places and gave her our budget. she will take pictures, and iA ammi ll pick an outfit :)
thanks agian guys :)
^^^ nahi Demesne, i have three brothers and this is the eldest. Cancer free brother is the youngest ...but iA we ll find some someone as well...i have hope :)
congrats rabia!!!!! very happy for you guys, mashallah!!
i agree, let SIL decide what she wants to do within alloted budget. she can keep your mom in the loop by sending her a pic or details of the dress...there are so many other details your mother will have to arrange...
we're in the same boat with my cousin's wedding...in Hyderabadi families, both shaadi & valima joras come from the in-laws...my cousin's saas has given her consent for the bride to get the shaadi ka jora made herself within their budget, however, she has asked my khala to make sure the jora is red (!) and that we send her pictures of the style, kaam etc. My cousin was a little disheartened about the color request, she wanted a more modern champagne color palette with silver kaam and NO red, but I explained to her it's not a big deal...it's just one day, not worth it to risk ruining her relationship with her inlaws over... so we decided to do a champagne shirt with red dupatta & lehnga....
^^^ nahi Demesne, i have three brothers and this is the eldest. Cancer free brother is the youngest ...but iA we ll find some someone as well...i have hope :)
she wanted a more modern champagne color palette with silver kaam and NO red, but I explained to her it's not a big deal...it's just one day, not worth it to risk ruining her relationship with her inlaws over... so we decided to do a champagne shirt with red dupatta & lehnga....
That is a great color palette that you guys chose. It works really well! Heavy kundan jewellery!