Digital Camera / Cell Phone with Digital Camera

Aslamalekum guys,

I need to buy either a cell phone with a camera or a digital camera. My foremost concern is picture quality but I can compromise on that a little bit for portability (which is the advantage of a cellphone camera).

Will I get a better digital camera for the same cost if it’s not incorporated into a cell phone? I want to go for a cell phone with a camera instead of just the camera only if there is no/little compromise in picture quality.

If I go for the cellphone, then I don’t need more than the basic features of a cell phone, I mean I am not looking for fancy cell phones with PDA’s etc.

My budget is around 30,000 Rupees (500 US $). If there’s something that’s really good but a little bit over then I could consider it.

If I can get something that also makes short movies that would be super cool but I don’t want to compromise much on picture quality for additional features.

Please give me some suggestions/advice/recommendations about what product I should go for.

Also please tell me what are the things that one looks for when choosing a digital camera? I mean, what is the criteria? Like how in computers there are things like processor speed, Ram etc, what is the main thing in digital cameras that I need to look out for which is THE defining criteria for camera quality?

Thank you very much,

Irem

Re: Digital Camera / Cell Phone with Digital Camera

Cell phone cameras aren't of high/good quality yet. If you already have a cell phone, then I suggest you get a digital camera alone.

I think megapixels and all matter. My sister's quite an expert at it, so I'll ask her, insha'Allah.

She's got a Cannon 4.0 camera, and it works great, masha'Allah. However, according to her, HP digi cams are the easiest to operate.

Thanks Sadiyah. Shukar hae kisi ne to reply kee.

Yaar are you sure Sadiyah k "Cell phone cameras aren't of high/good quality yet" coz someone told me otherwise.

Do ask your sis if you can for more info, and thanks a ton for the reply :)

Up to now, cell phone camera don't have mega pixels or something like that. The latest ones available in the market are at 1 mega pixel, whereas a medium-range digital camera (on its own) is at 4-5 mega pixels.

If you already have a cell phone, then don't bother getting another one with camera. I currently have a cell phone with camera and if you want I can send you the results and perhaps I can take pics from sister's cam and send those as well. That way you will be able to differntiate between the two.

Wow thanks a lot Sadiyah. Thanks for the offer of sending the pics too. I’ma PM you my email address yaar, if you can then that would be a really huge help. Thanks yaar :flower1:
So it looks like I should go for a digital camera by itself basically. Hmmmm.

Irem, np...

I'll try to send you the pics soon, insha'Allah.

My point is if you already have a cell phone then don't waste your money getting another one with a camera. You might as well buy a good quaity digital camera on it's own.

Sadiyah you’re right. Just the portability thing of cell phones seemed like an advantage but its not worth compromising too much of the pic quality over for sure.
Thanks a ton yaar, really :flower1:

Sadiyah is right, cell fone cams are not even close to the pics quality of regular cameras at the moment...

i have a motorola v551, bought it back in umm oct 2004...was the best in terms of quality of pics u could get in a cell fone cams back then...and still is considered as one of the better cell fone camera products out there...

here is a pic that i had taken with it and posted up here in one of the threads in image about a week back...just to give u an idea...

[thumb=H]mydesk118_4401902.JPG[/thumb]

pic quality is ok...but its not print quality...features a 0.3MP camera...so at best, it gives a resolution of 640*480...has 2X zoom...also has the capability to record 30 sec video clips (with full audio) at 30 fps...

all in all, i'd rate the camera in the fone to be the same as a web-cam...nothing special...definitly not as good as quality digi cams...

but yea, if u r like me, and like to take pics on the go, theres nothing more convinent than just flippin open ur fone and snapping a few shots, saving 'em on ur comp when u get home :)

DM thanks a lot for the detailed post :k:

Hmmmm, so I guess the cell phone option is out then.

Maybe I should buy both :d:hehe:

AOA Irem

I recently bought a powerShort G6 and luv it :), but it's over 1000$ so I guess it's out of your range....My bro was looking for a point and shoot so he bought Minolta DiMage G400 for 300$, the pic quality is great it's a 4.0MP digicam, I'm sure you'll like it. If you are just looking for a point and shoot then there is also Olympus stylus 410 and there are lots more.....lemme know if you need any more help....Good luck :)

Allah hafiz

Urgent, walekumsalam and thanks a lot :k:

i checked the phone u have DM…cool phone…does Telus have this phone???

I'd also recommend a good quality digicam (like a Canon, Sony, Nikon, etc.) rather than wasting your money on a phone camera.

Btw, the camera I have bought a few months ago is a Canon Digital Ixus 500 and costs around € 315.-- (approx. PKR 25000.--) at the moment. I don't know the prices in Pakistan though.

what's available in Karachi.. u have to go by that.. some brands would have a larger network of dealers and after sales service and warranty repair.. let usknow the big players present and we can make some recommendations..

and oh.. yeah.. for the moment if pic quality is a concern phone cameras are not there.. yet.

Umer bhai thanks for the advice and info :k:

PakistaniAbroad, I was thinking I can even order it from a website, it doesn’t have to be avlbl in Karachi, though that would be better for warranty & repair issues you’re right, I was thinking that too…These days you can buy most of the cutting edge stuff in karachi…i haven’t been to the shops yet to look though…Prolly should do that as well. Till now I was assuming that they’d have what I decide on.

You have to remember that cellphone cams and regular digital cams serve two different purposes. If quality of pic is your prime concern, then, ofcourse, you will buy a decent 3-5MP digital cam with good optics. However, most people don't carry their digicams all the time.

Cellcams (cellphone with cameras) are always there (cz most ppl usually carry their cellphones all the time), and therefore you can take any whimsical pic at any place and catch any of those I-just-wish-I-had-my-camera-with-me moments. The quality may not be great, but a lot of people capture their lives through their cellcams.

sigh

I think I need both :bummer: seriously :halo:

Aur Faisal bhai mazay kee baat ye hae ke ammi keh rai haen dono mein se kuch bhee na khareedo khamakha kee fazool kharchi hae paise jama kar lo :smiley:
My reply was “meri poori jawani guzar jaye gi without even owning a camera” :hehe:

Oh I see. :halo:

So these are all burhapay ke shoshkay! :k: :hehe: