digi cam

yahan par digital cameron ki itni variety hai aur mujhe kuch nahi samaj ata kaunsa wala khareedon.

I want to get a slinky small 5 mp one, which costs about $500 lekin there are so many brands and varieties. I always get confused and walk out of the shop.

Any ideas? Which brands are good? sony, olympus, finepix… ?

I actually prefer the quality and appearance of photos from normal cameras, but id like a digicam for its convenience and storage capacity.

Initially I was going to just get a 3.2 mp one in the $300 range. So 500 is too much? Yes perhaps it is on second thoughts...

If this is your first digicam, then I would recommend a Canon (A-40). Its simple enough for point-and-shoot and has enough manual controls to last you a while. Japan is always far ahead of the curve in consumer electronics, so you should check out the new-replacement models from Canon.

However, if your first and most important priority is the size of the camera, then check out Pentax Optio S. Some new offerings from Canon are also very small. Olympus Digital Stylus is also nice. Don't go for Minolta's Dimage X as the photo quality is not really that great.

Don't worry about 5 megapixels. A 3.2 MP will do just fine for normal use, as long as you have a good camera. The higher megapixels have only two major uses... (1) if you wanna enlarge a pic to more than 8"x10". (2) if you wanna crop a pic.

Cat,

Try the Powershot S500.
Small, 5 mp, steel body.

This camera uses Secure Digital (SD) memory Cards which will be one of the most used mem.cards in the future.

Read the review urself on Steves Digicams

Re: digi cam

*Originally posted by cat-woman: *
yahan par digital cameron ki itni variety hai aur mujhe kuch nahi samaj ata kaunsa wala khareedon.

I want to get a slinky small 5 mp one, which costs about $500 lekin there are so many brands and varieties. I always get confused and walk out of the shop.

Any ideas? Which brands are good? sony, olympus, finepix... ?

I actually prefer the quality and appearance of photos from normal cameras, but id like a digicam for its convenience and storage capacity.

Canon is best. I have Sony, its cool but I would go for Canon next time.

I bought a Canon Powershot S10 almost 4 years ago and still is as good as new.

I never had the need to go for a new one. So I´d say Canon would be a good choice.

It uses CompactFlash cards, just like all the other Canons. Here’s the whole Powershot lineup: http://www.powershot.com/powershot2/home.html

I would vote for Canon too. The s50 is compact, good quality, does video too and, as I mentioned, uses CF cards which is the cheapest /mb cost and they have really huge ones (I think the largest was 4 gb). I’ve been wanting the G5 (you can add different lens attachments on this one), but for now my 4 yr old S100 (2 megapixel) is working great (same design as the s500. I also have the Sony handycam that takes stills, but I like canon for regular photography.

unless u’re bent on enlarging everything to 8x10 you’d be perfectly fine with 4MP.. (3.2MP leaves you little room to crop). It saves you money in buying the camera, and the same capacity of card lasts longer at full resolution.. plus image loading/uploading/reviewing is faster due to smaller image size.

Canon S410 is the best buy at around $350.. it’s identical to the S500 but cheaper.. use the rest of the money for a 256MB CF card.

i like this one… its small and handy

5MP on a tiny cam (aka mediocre optics) = kissing good money goodbye for nothing.

cat you dont need anything more than 2MP on a cam unless you are planning on printing posters. just get a nikon or a canon - they have fab optics - you'll get better pics on a 2MP canon than on a 5MP fujifilm.

Thanks everyone, I will go see if they have this canon s410 in the shops.

thanks guys, the info is good..my husband wants to be the canon rebel but it's HUGe and a 1000 bucks. Since we'll be traveling for 3 months, backpacking thru Europe, i told him i'd rather get a smaller, cheaper camera ....just in case we lose it or b/c of space...but it looks like the rebel is getting loads of great reviews...

i'm forwarding him some of this info for reviewing...

one more question..anyone travel for a long time with a digital camera?

we are thinking of using a usb port thingy to upload our pics everytime we hit a net cafe....since our total trip time will be 2 months..

I just wanted to hear if anyone else did this and any problems u came across?

Keep a spare memory card.

Don't go for the maximum resolution of pics.

A 1600x1200 pic would typically require file size of about 400-500K, so if you get a 256MB memory card, you can easily store about 500-600 pics, which is plenty, and you won't need to find a NetCafe very now and then.

If your camera takes regular AA or AAA batteries, then you are ok. But if you get one that recharges on a cradle, then carry a spare battery along too.

Uploading via NetCafe should work too. I am assuming you have available webspace someplace where you will upload.

Thanks Faisal,

we have a website which we can ftip/upload too so it wouldn't be a problem...

The maximum I've been out is 3 weeks in Africa. I took about 800 pics that trip. But I always travel with my laptop so for me it wasn't really any problem.

What you could do is get one of those multi-gig MP3 players (like the 10-20 gb iPod), so if ur at the net-cafe's u can transfer up to a computer and then download to the mp3 player. Hence u won't even need a internet connection and you'd have music besides.

*Originally posted by amelie: *
thanks guys, the info is good..my husband wants to be the canon rebel but it's HUGe and a 1000 bucks. Since we'll be traveling for 3 months, backpacking thru Europe, i told him i'd rather get a smaller, cheaper camera ....just in case we lose it or b/c of space...but it looks like the rebel is getting loads of great reviews...

i'm forwarding him some of this info for reviewing...

If it's for travel photos he'll like the Canon A80.. it's small, light and best of all it takes AA batteries which are readily available everywhere or you could carry some rechargeable NiMH around with the right travel charger.

Get yourself a 512MB CF card and there will be no need to download stuff anywhere.. it's the best capacity since the contents fit well on a CD you can burn upon your return or even at some photography shop in a major city.

*Originally posted by Baba G: *

If it's for travel photos he'll like the Canon A80.. it's small, light and best of all it takes AA batteries which are readily available everywhere or you could carry some rechargeable NiMH around with the right travel charger.

Get yourself a 512MB CF card and there will be no need to download stuff anywhere.. it's the best capacity since the contents fit well on a CD you can burn upon your return or even at some photography shop in a major city.

So you're not a big fan of the canon rebel? we'll use the camera later on too..after the trip and my husband is fine with the size and it's going to be a graduation gift from his sister so price is fine too...

If size of camera/price aren't a factor, are there any other reason NOT to get the rebel? The reviews online seem to love it...

They also have 1GB Compact Flash cards out now, and its not too expensive either. If planning a longish tour with lots of pics, you should consider it as well. Then you will be covered for 2,000+ pics.

How is the S410 different from the A75/A80 other than its physical appearance?