diffrence in shia and sunni quran

Ibn Sadique,

Your first answer is something I wouldnt mind admitting, if you could provde me a reference for the dialects you speak of, apart from an article specifically geared towards rebuttal of this allegation. Btw, you seem knowledgable abt this, I'd recommend that you write a rebuttal on the chapter on answering-islam.org on tahrif in the Quran. It (fortunately for me) bases itself exclusively on sunni sources :).

I find your answer to the second hadith intruiging. Can you tell me why an ayat in the Quran would first be revealed and then be cancelled. Did Allah make a mistake when revealing it ? Or did the circumstances of the world change in a way that was beyond His knowledge when He revealed the ayat, causing Him to ordain its correction?

This is just personal musing, not the position of my sect. I was merely unaware of the concept of ayaat being cancelled/taken back.

But my purpose in posting instances from sahih bukhari were not to question Ahl-e-sunnah's belief in the integrity of the Quran. Nor were the two instances I mentioned the only ones I can find, indeed anwering-islam.org and certain shia sites as well make a living out of questionable ahadith that imply or state that the Quran is not in its original form anymore. Just do a google, and be sure to verify Bukhari snippets from USC MSA's online bukhari.

Bottom line, I do not care what you think certain shia minority segments in the past, or certain sunni minority segments in the past may or may not have believed regarding the Quran, gun to their head, ask any sunni or shia if the Quran is Allah's final word, untampered, unadulterated, and the answer would be YES, it is, simply because thats what their sect teaches them. As for your own opinion that mainstream shi'at held belief in a different Quran, I merely cite again, the copies of Quran written in our Imam's hand. It doesnt get ANY more mainstream than the imam, my friend, as far as shias go. But since you believe that thats what 'some' shias used to believe in the past, i'll even let that pass :).

We though, have the advantage that we can get rid of any traditions that go against the core of our faith, by concluding that they're unreliable. You, unfortunately, do not have that liberty.

First of all, :jazak:s go out to Ibn Sadique for a fantastic explanation…That was very informative and wonderfully explained…

Ravage: Every Sunni scholar that ever came including of the four Madhabs said that if whatever they ever write or says goes against the teachings of the Quran and Sunnah, it is to be thrown out, not cancelled, not erased, it is to be thrown out…

As for Ayats and being changed or replaced, Allah :swt: states in His Quran:

‘None of Our revelations do We abrogate or cause it to be forgotten, but We substitute something better or similar: knowest thou that God has power over all things?’ (2: 106).

Why they were done? Maybe to make things easier for us, maybe to be more understandable, we don’t know and we don’t question…Why don’t we question? We don’t question because they are the commands of Allah :swt: and questioning leads one into doubt and doubt leads nowhere…Do you remember what happened with the Jews when they doubted?

As it is, we are already going through tremendous trials which is sifting strong Imaans from the weak Imaans…Due to the Kuffars immense strides in the fields of science and technology, many weak Muslims have begun to question and doubt and a few have even let go of faith altogether…Allah :swt: tries in whichever fashion he wants, and yes, he also tries ones patience by humiliation and ridicule in this world and Muslims today no doubt will face the same ordeal…After all, the Muslim Ummah is that which carries on the works of the Prophets…

No Prophet ever was that walked the earth and was not shamed and ridiculed, but the Prophets were those that persevered and stuck in Allah :swt’s belief and were succesful, if not here then in the Aakhira…Ours is not to reason why, ours is but to do or die…

Lajawab, I've come across this verse in explanation, but the argument doesnt hold water, infact, runs contrary to the hadith.

Firstly, theres a number of issues in which we first recieve one injunction and then that is substituted by another. For instance on eating with the people of the book, or other similar instances.. (right?). That could be an example of substitution with something better or similar.

Now, regarding the hadith we're talking about, the person recollects the verse (he hasnt forgotten it), and says its cancelled. Now you tell me, is cancelled akin to abrogation, or substitution?

Even if you insist that it was infact substituted even though cancellation is tantamount to abrogation, pray, with what was the substitution made? With them not being with the Lord, or with them with the Lord but unhappy? Could you cite a reference to the verse revealed as a substitute to this one?

Thing is, whether this person recollects this or that is inconsequential…The only entity with the power to abrogate or rescind a verse is Allah :swt: and that through the Holy Prophet :saw:, so it really doesn’t matter who remembered or forgot what part of Quran…All we know is that the Quran we have is protected by Allah :swt: and will remain protected, from the time it was received to the time when everything ends…So our argument about whether this or that guy said something is doing no one any good…

What Bao is actually asking is whether Shias believe that the Quran is incomplete waiting to be finished by the last Imam or do Shias accept this Quran as the last and finished word of Allah :swt:…

You’d be surprised at many answers, like I was when Sheraz CT divulged the fact that Shias believe that the Imams are greater than all the Prophets except the Holy Prophet :saw:…

This is turning out to be a very informative discussion thanks to you, Bao and Ibn Sadique, so consider me a spectator who might jump in from time to time to ask or verify something as I too have heard that the ‘Ghaib Imam’ is supposed to bring the final verses…

Here are a few additional things I have heard (not verified):

1. Shias believe that the last few pages of the Quran were eaten by someone’s goat…

2. The ‘Ghaib Imam’ will bring the missing verses…

3. The Quran was supposed to be revealed to Hazrat Ali :razi: but was mistakenly given to the Holy Prophet :saw:…

And some others if I remember them…Nothing sectarian, as I try my best and utmost to stay out of Shia Sunni debates, specially being very ignorant about the subject…

you just missed out on a detailed answer lajawab :grumpy: . stupid site !

anyhoo, since i cant type alllllllll that out again , bear in mind that we believe in the same Quran you do, read the same Quran you do, and believe in that ayat in the Quran where Allah guarantees its integrity.

As for the final three points, I’d really like to see that backed up with any authentic shia reference. The goat thing is ridiculous. The second point, I believe is misunderstood for Imam Mehdi bringing Hazrat Ali’s version of the Quran (content wise the same as the present, but we believe it to be in the correct chronological ordering.. it existed till the 4th century hijri before being lost to the ages). The third point is also something completely new to me, and is immediately rejectable for me, as a Shia muslim.

*Originally posted by ravage: *
Ibn Sadique,

Your first answer is something I wouldnt mind admitting, if you could provde me a reference for the dialects you speak of, apart from an article specifically geared towards rebuttal of this allegation. Btw, you seem knowledgable abt this, I'd recommend that you write a rebuttal on the chapter on answering-islam.org on tahrif in the Quran.** It (fortunately for me) bases itself exclusively on sunni sources :).**

Just a comment......even though the site claims to give sunni refrences...kindly double check those refrences from sunni sources.....i have found many of these refrences misleading...(misquotatations i mean )

agreed. i always make a point of the wonderful resources at USC MSA, and would recommend everyone else do the same.

thats what i m gonna try to do too..ppl dont get the point anyway and i dont wanna offend anyone..i m gonna try to be more tolerant :flower2:

you’re one of the more intelligent shia/sunni debaters IMO sheraz. twould be a dent in our side and for the collective to lose you.

i guess i shouldnt be too worried :). i made a similar vow and here i am knocking heads with the best of em.

:eek:

There’s so much I don’t know :bummer:

*Originally posted by ravage: *
Ibn Sadique,

Your first answer is something I wouldnt mind admitting, if you could provde me a reference for the dialects you speak of, apart from an article specifically geared towards rebuttal of this allegation. Btw, you seem knowledgable abt this, I'd recommend that you write a rebuttal on the chapter on answering-islam.org on tahrif in the Quran. It (fortunately for me) bases itself exclusively on sunni sources :).

I find your answer to the second hadith intruiging. Can you tell me why an ayat in the Quran would first be revealed and then be cancelled. Did Allah make a mistake when revealing it ? Or did the circumstances of the world change in a way that was beyond His knowledge when He revealed the ayat, causing Him to ordain its correction?

This is just personal musing, not the position of my sect. I was merely unaware of the concept of ayaat being cancelled/taken back.

But my purpose in posting instances from sahih bukhari were not to question Ahl-e-sunnah's belief in the integrity of the Quran. Nor were the two instances I mentioned the only ones I can find, indeed anwering-islam.org and certain shia sites as well make a living out of questionable ahadith that imply or state that the Quran is not in its original form anymore. Just do a google, and be sure to verify Bukhari snippets from USC MSA's online bukhari.

Bottom line, I do not care what you think certain shia minority segments in the past, or certain sunni minority segments in the past may or may not have believed regarding the Quran, gun to their head, ask any sunni or shia if the Quran is Allah's final word, untampered, unadulterated, and the answer would be YES, it is, simply because thats what their sect teaches them. As for your own opinion that mainstream shi'at held belief in a different Quran, I merely cite again, the copies of Quran written in our Imam's hand. It doesnt get ANY more mainstream than the imam, my friend, as far as shias go. But since you believe that thats what 'some' shias used to believe in the past, i'll even let that pass :).

We though, have the advantage that we can get rid of any traditions that go against the core of our faith, by concluding that they're unreliable. You, unfortunately, do not have that liberty.

Ravage - Let me clarify my entry into this was purely accidental and no way to bash Shia beliefs regarding the Status of Quran. Two days ago when paid my daily ‘visit’ to Gupshup, I just clicked on ‘Who’s Online’ and saw thread ‘diffrence in shia and sunni quran’ being read by a guest.

Going through the thread I noticed PA’s erroneous post had been left unchallenged. So to put the record correct I posted here.

You must note that I did defend the Shia position regarding the Completeness of Quran. But the Shia have a historical problem that not only do the have a lot material in their hadith books which categorically states that the Quran has been tampered with or that ‘Real Quran’ does not resemble the present Quran at all but many great Ulemah of Shia have emphatically stated that the Quran has been tampered with!

I could have ‘cut & pasted’ all this from anti-Shia sites with references from the Shia books to fill up 2/3 pages of Gupshup. But I know that the Shia themselves accept the about 60% of hadith in Shia books are unreliable. And that Shia do believe that Quran to be complete in its original form.

My friend did come back to me yesterday and pointed out the all hadiths that islam.org had forwarded ‘as proof of Sunnis belief of tampering’ in the Quran come under the same category of Abrogated Verses. [Nasakh and Mansukh].

The Shias too, believe in Nasakh and Mansukh.

My friend also sent the following which sadly shows that prominent Shia Ulemah endorsing the Shia hadith of incompleteness of the Quran. I am posting it here verbatim.

“Muhammad Baqir Al-Majlissi who wrote in Maraat ul-3uqul fi Sharh Akhbar Aal Al-Rasuul, Vol. 12, P. 525, in his interpretation of the Hadith: “The Quraan which Gabriel came with to Muhammad (saws) contains 17000 verses.” He wrote: “Authenticated, and in some copies narrated through Hashim bin Salem instead of Haroon bin Salem, so the narration is AUTHENTIC. It is obvious that this narration and LOTS OF (OTHER) AUTHENTIC NARRATIONS are expressive concerning the LOSS OF QURAAN and ITS MANIPULATION, and for me the narrations in this regard are MUTAWATIRRA in their meaning (i.e. delivered by many people), AND THE REJECTION OF ALL OF THEM REQUIRES DIRECTLY NOT TO RELY ON (ANY) NARRATIONS, EVEN MORE IT IS MY OPINION THAT THE NARRATIONS IN THIS REGARD ARE NOR INFERIOR TO THE NARRATIONS ABOUT THE IMAAMAT SO HOW DO THEY PROOVE IT (THE IMAAMAT) RELIED ON NARRATIONS?”

“One of the most famous and respected Shi'ite scholars, from Najaf, Mirza Husain bin Muhammad Taqi An-Nawari At-Tabarsi, wrote in 1292 A.H. [1875 AD] the book faslul-Khitaab fee Ithbatti Tahreefi Kitaab Rabbil-Arbaab (The Decisive Say on the Proof of Alteration of the Book of the Lord of Lords). In this book he compiled hundreds of texts written by Shi'ite scholars in different eras alleging that the Qur'an has been tampered with, that there have been both additions to it and omissions from it.

At-Tabarsi's book was printed in Iran, in 1298 A.H., [1880 AD] and its appearance attracted much attention, frustrating the intention of certain Shi'ites that their doubts about the authenticity of the Qur'an should be restricted to the elite of religious scholars and personalities. They preferred that these allegations not be brought together in a single volume, and widely disseminated, as it could be used as a proof against them by their opponents.

When the scholars made public their criticism, At-Tabarsi responded with another book entitled Raddu ba'dush-Shubahaati `an Faslil-Khitaabi fee Ithbatti Tahreefi Kitaabi Rabbil-Arbaab (Refutation of Some Specious Arguments Regarding the Decisive Say on the Proof of Alteration of the Book of the Lord of the Lords). He wrote this defense of his original book two years before his death.”

..and if you need more let me know ;)

if you could provde me a reference for the dialects you speak of

I copied this from the Net. If you search for Seven Qiraats in Google you will find many sites ‘selling’ Seven Qiraat Quran CDs.

Question : ……….Nowadays only to ways of reading are in use, Warsj of Nafi' and Hafs of 'Asim.

Could you tell me more about these different ways of reading? Are there ahadieth about this?.

Answer :

Praise be to Allaah.

Firstly :
You should note, may Allaah bless you that the Qur’aan was revealed in one style at the beginning, but the Messenger of Allaah (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) kept asking Jibreel (as) until he taught him seven styles, all of which were complete. The evidence for that is the hadeeth of Ibn ‘Abbaas who narrated that the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said: “Jibreel taught me one style and I reviewed it until he taught me more, and I kept asking him for more and he gave me more until finally there were seven styles.”
(Narrated by al-Bukhaari, 3047; Muslim, 819)

Secondly, what is meant by styles (ahruf, sing. harf)?

The best of the scholarly opinions concerning what is meant is that there are seven ways of reciting the Qur’aan, where the wording may differ but the meaning is the same; if there is a different meaning then it is by way of variations on a theme, not opposing and contradiction.

Thirdly:
Some of the scholars said that what was meant by ahruf was the dialects of the Arabs, but this is far-fetched, because of the hadeeth of ‘Umar ibn al-Khattaab who said: “I heard Hishaam ibn Hakeem reciting Soorat al-Furqaan in a manner different from that in which I used to recite it and the way in which the Messenger of Allaah (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) taught me to recite it. I was about to argue with him whilst he was praying, but I waited until he finished his prayer, and then I tied his garment around his neck and seized him by it and brought him to the Messenger of Allaah (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) and said, ‘O Messenger of Allaah, I heard this man reciting Soorat-al-Furqaan in a way different to the way you taught it to me.’ The Messenger of Allaah (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said to him, ‘Recite it,’ and he recited it as I had heard him recite it. The Messenger of Allaah (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said, ‘It was revealed like this.’ Then he said to me, ‘Recite it,’ so I recited it and he said, ‘It was revealed like this.’ This Qur'aan has been revealed in seven different ways, so recite it in the way that is easiest for you.’”

(Narrated by al-Bukhaari, 2287; Muslim, 818)
It is known that Hishaam was Asadi Qurashi (i.e., from the clan of Bani Asad in Quraysh) and ‘Umar was ‘Adawi Qurashi (i.e., from the clan of Bani ‘Adiyy in Quraysh). Both of them were from Quraysh and Quraysh had only one dialect. If the difference in ahruf (styles) had been a difference in dialects, why would two men of Quraysh have been different?

The scholars mentioned nearly forty different opinions concerning this matter! Perhaps the most correct is that which we have mentioned above. And Allaah knows best.

Fourthly:
It seems that the seven styles were revealed with different wordings, as indicated by the hadeeth of ‘Umar, because ‘Umar’s objection was to the style, not the meaning. The differences between these styles are not the matter of contradiction and opposition; rather they are synonymous, as Ibn Mas’ood said: “It is like one of you saying halumma, aqbil or ta’aal (all different ways of saying ‘Come here’).”

Fifthly:
With regard to the seven recitations (al-qiraa’aat al-saba’), this number is not based on the Qur’aan and Sunnah, rather it is the ijtihaad of Ibn Mujaahid (may Allaah have mercy on him). People thought that al-ahruf al-saba’ (the seven styles) were al-qiraa’aat al-saba’ (the seven recitations) because they happened to be the same number. But this number may have come about coincidentally, or it may have been done deliberately by Ibn Mujaahid to match what was narrated about the number of styles (ahruf) being seven. Some people thought that the styles (ahruf) were the recitations, but this is a mistake. No such comment is known among the scholars. The seven recitations are one of the seven styles, and this is the style that ‘Uthmaan chose for all the Muslims.

Sixthly:
When ‘Uthmaan made copies of the Qur’aan, he did so according to one style (harf), but he omitted the dots and vowel points so that some other styles could also be accommodated. So the Mus-haf that was copied in his time could be read according to other styles, and whatever styles were accommodated by the Mus-haf of ‘Uthmaan remained in use, and the styles that could not be accommodated fell into disuse. The people had started to criticize one another for reciting differently, so ‘Uthmaan united them by giving them one style of the Qur’aan.

Seventhly:
Your saying that Mujaahid’s different recitations meant the seven styles (ahruf) is not correct, as was said by Shaykh al-Islam ibn Taymiyyah. (Majmoo’ah al-Fatawa, vol. 13, p. 210)
Eighthly:
The seven readers or reciters were:
1) Naafi’ al-Madani
2) Ibn Katheer al-Makki
3) ‘Aasim al-Kufi
4) Hamzah al-Zayaat al-Kufi
5) Al-Kisaa’i al-Kufi
6) Abu ‘Amr ibn al-‘Ala’ al-Basri
7) ‘Abd-Allaah ibn ‘Aamir al-Shaami
The ones who have the strongest isnaad in recitation are Naafi’ and ‘Aasim.
The most eloquent are Abu ‘Amr and al-Kisaa’i.
Warsh and Qaaloon narrated from Naafi’.
Hafs and Shu’bah narrated from ‘Aasim.
And Allaah knows best.

Btw, you seem knowledgable abt this, I'd recommend that you write a rebuttal on the chapter on answering-islam.org on tahrif in the Quran.

I will never do that. If this is the proof that this site is providing against the Sunnis for tampering of Quran in Sunni hadith books; it’s doing a great service to us. :)

It’s in your interest to have that rebuttal off the webpage as soon as possible. As the famous saying goes “to defend yourself badly is to attack the others foolishly.” :)

Shia and Sunni both believe in Nasikh and Mansukh. There was a time that I didn’t know it either! :)

Please don’t mind me saying so as most of Shia agree with that the disadvantage that you have is that your hadith compilers were very *lax * in collecting the hadith. Al Kafi has over 16600 hadith and Shia have declared over 60% of them unreliable.

The advantage that we have is that our hadith compilers were extremely stringent in collecting hadith saving us the task of sorting out good from the bad. :)

Let me qualify that it was a human effort and some unreliable hadith may have crept in. That’s why we call them sahih but not infallible.
Please let’s not start another debate regarding Shia/Sunni hadith books.

Bao, your posts are some of the most irrational posts that I have ever had the misfortune to come across, not to mention the fact that they are highly offensive to anyone with an iota of intelligence, regardless of religion or sect.

Your usual sycophantic rant of 'I'm not against anyone' at the end of your posts more often than not belies these sentiments when you come out with such crap.

Your feverish obsession with taqiyya and other matters (and outright refusal to even understand another's point of view) is not the sign of a person with a healthy mind. If you think that by cutting and pasting very dubious, out of context sources will help you to score brownie points with the dial-a-fatwa brigade, then do carry on but don’t expect anyone else to believe you.

I will say this once and once only, so read this carefully and get some help in understanding what it means:

If anyone, who calls himself a Muslim even remotely considers that another Muslim may have a ‘different’ Quran, (let alone he goes about trying to ‘prove it’ from sketchy and unreliable sources) then there is a massive problem and weakness with his own and only his own faith in the Quran.

The end result is this, don’t put too much faith in those books. We don’t. Take them for what it is: a collection of works by fairly committed people, collected in very hard circumstances and therefore the margin of error is probably greater than the probability of true sayings. Authentic is as authentic does. There’s nothing authentic about being a hypocrite.

Lakum deenukum waliya deen.

Moderators please don't delete the above post. Boa's gone on way too long with his self-proclaimed love for shias, qaidiyanis etc. It was about time he was put out of his misery, hence my very frank post.

*Originally posted by humhaipakistani: *
Bao, your posts are some of the most irrational posts that I have ever had the misfortune to come across, not to mention the fact that they are highly offensive to anyone with an iota of intelligence, regardless of religion or sect.

Your usual sycophantic rant of 'I'm not against anyone' at the end of your posts more often than not belies these sentiments when you come out with such crap.

Your feverish obsession with taqiyya and other matters (and outright refusal to even understand another's point of view) is not the sign of a person with a healthy mind. If you think that by cutting and pasting very dubious, out of context sources will help you to score brownie points with the dial-a-fatwa brigade, then do carry on but don’t expect anyone else to believe you.

I will say this once and once only, so read this carefully and get some help in understanding what it means:

If anyone, who calls himself a Muslim even remotely considers that another Muslim may have a ‘different’ Quran, (let alone he goes about trying to ‘prove it’ from sketchy and unreliable sources) then there is a massive problem and weakness with his own and only his own faith in the Quran.

The end result is this, don’t put too much faith in those books. We don’t. Take them for what it is: a collection of works by fairly committed people, collected in very hard circumstances and therefore the margin of error is probably greater than the probability of true sayings. Authentic is as authentic does. There’s nothing authentic about being a hypocrite.

Lakum deenukum waliya deen.

IS this related to my first post or last post in the thread....?

SHia-sunni quran.......may be we should leave it for now....i take ur word ravage.....jazakallah

i posted this after the revival of the thread.......

However the confusion lies in ur own books......i have and recently brother ibn e siddq have refferd to shia sources for the prove.......if they are wrong then kindly tell us so that the refrences we give are wrong.......or are misquoted .......if not ....then i am just pointing out this to clear the confusion....

HOpe u understand .....insaniyat/hustonkadon/humhainpakistani.....:)

kindly keep the discussion for the very reason ibn siddq revived the post ....

Im refering to the original lame topic.

Im afraid the confusion only lies with yourself here. Countless times youve been told we have the same Quran and the ahadith u mentioned are weak Yet you seem to bring the issue and taqiyyah up over and over. Neither of which are taught to us by our parents or in our madressahs. Nor for that matter, have i met any shias in my whole life that believe in it either.

Jeez, if we had a different quran, you’d think they’d mention it somewhere in our syllabus or upbringing you know, or wait…maybe they’re busy in taqiyah too? :confused:

ok lets get to the point, why even bother asking us questions if supposedly we’re doing Taqiyyah at the same time? Theres no point in asking because anything we do say in reply is frankly ‘taqiya’. :rolleyes:

you can understand the frustration then with ppl insisting on telling us constantly in what we believe in when in reality it has no basis whatsoever in our beliefs. :expressionless:

Try again sherlock. It aint that hard. or better still, instead of assuming, just ask. Its no big secret either. :ahaa:

wow, sherry baba, bari religious knowledge hai terey mey!!! :k:

Unfortunately there are some Shias who would state that their Qur'aan is different to the Sunnis, similar to some Sunnis using the A'Hadeeth as the first source of guidance rather than the Qur'aan.

But can you call these people from both sides scholars or remotely learned and correct. No.

The reality is that the Shia sect and Sunni sect have the one and same Qur'aan. As I stated in this post early last year. The question about different Qur'aans doesn't even arise, as it is personally guarded by Allah SWT:

15:9 We have, without doubt, sent down the Message; and We will assuredly GUARD it (from corruption).

This is not an issue about Catholic and Protestants who have different VERSIONS of their bible where one has approximately 8 more books in it than the other. This is the Qur'aan. The Unchanged WORD of God.

There is only One Qur'aan and there is only One God!

this makes me sick to hear this

I am now of belief that present day shia are not the ones who belive in this …however it still is written in your books and we have the every right to question what is promoted as sources of islam ..khair…
below is what i have found in some prveous post…just to justify why i orginaly started the topic…and plz if u dont mind it aint is the issue of hadiths only…
in asool e kafi a whole chapter is dedicated to this…and some of ur big muffasirs in thier tafseers have mentioned that quran is changed from the original one…

regarding taqiyyah…do you belive it is not your belive to lie/hide ur religion …plz refer to why "in early days imam e ghaib imam mehdi ka nam laina kuffar tha "

I can still prove my point …i have so many other refrences…and can also scan images form ur books if u like…but like i said …i take ur word that u dont belive in this…so why argue…

hum to naik o bad hazoor ko sumjhai daitay hain…