Difference between Pakistanis and Indians

THis is the difference between the people of Pakistan and india. people of Pakistan want peace and they are willing to act upon their wants. this article posted in cricinfo demonstrates how a normal Pakistani is willing to play his role in having friendly relations. Unfortunately when Pakistan was in india we didnt read stories such as this. actually we saw window being broken of Pak team, bottles thrown on field. and media personnel being treated like crap by officials, forget the average indian. Mods pleaze let this stay in KK as it has to do with the Pak-ind series.

http://blogs.cricinfo.com/tourdiaries/archives/2006/01/foreign.php#more

Foreign?

Posted by Siddhartha Vaidyanathan 5 hours, 5 minutes ago in India in Pakistan 2005-06

It’s been over 24 hours since IC 845 landed in Lahore. Five days in Delhi, prior to take off, had groomed one for the Lahore experience – a shivering chill, broad roads, Punjabi attires, grassy footpaths, the Pakistan High commission …

Usually, while visiting any country, the contrast immediately splashes on your face the moment one exits the airport. In Lahore, one looks first for the similarities and spots them pretty easily. Then occasionally, often unexpectedly, sometimes overwhelmingly, the difference strikes.

When do you actually realise that you’re in a foreign land? The moment currency notes don’t fit in your wallet; the moment you don’t fit in the auto rickshaws; the moment you act really polite, as you instinctively do while in another country, and get gaping stares from the locals, who have not a clue that you are a foreigner; the moment the locals learn you are an Indian and numb you with their hospitality …

Layer by layer, mostly when you least expect it, the difference begins to unfold. Therein lies a great thrill. The charm is in two-way discovery – when the locals find out that you are Indian before you find out their reaction. Whether it is a security guard outside the Bagh-e-Jinnah, or a shopkeeper at Liberty Market, there is a certain joy in introduction.

Some bits are overwhelming. Like Munna’s gesture. An auto-driver who likes to call himself after Sanjay Dutt’s character in a Bollywood hit, Munna understood my SIM card problem - being a foreigner, I couldn’t get one in the market-place and needed to visit the main office of the cellular provider. But Eid was approaching and all offices were closed; my SIM card would need to wait.

Munna would have none of it. “We will get it easily,” he said. “All we need is my ID card from home.” Driving at a furious speed through the narrowest of lanes, he reached his place in Gawalmandi, collected his ID, went to the nearest store and got a card. Embarrassingly, he refused money, adding, “This is my duty towards a guest sir, please accept it.”

At that point, the freezing weather didn’t make a jot of a difference. Munna had managed what three layers of woollens couldn’t.

Re: Difference between Pakistanis and Indians

^^ I guess we dont need any more stories, **We know who " WE" :dhimpak: are! **:jhanda:

i don't see how this article supports your vitriolic commentary.

maybe YOU didn't read such articles about the Pak tour of India, but I read tons of them in all the major Indian dailies throughout the duration of the tour. naturally, i wouldn't expect Pakistanis to surf through all the major Indian newspaper websites like i do....and i'm sure you don't.

similarly, i wouldn't have read virtually any of these Pakistani hospitality articles if they were not posted on Gupshup by Pakistanis like yourself with a watchful eye and undying eagerness to present such articles to Indians.

perhaps if there was an Indian version of Gupshup Cricketnama, you would be knowledgeable about reciprocated hospitality, but alas.....

Jazba_pk Bhai and acrobi123 Bhai,

I agree with both of you that yes the show of respect and hospitality by the Locals is really awesome, and it is in fact a very very tall order to match, this I can say from my personal experience too.

At the same time I think Nikhil25 Bhai, has a very valid point, you can only only condone or condemn(sp) what you are aware of, and there are many instances where Indians have shown their Hospitality, rahi baat about crowd mis behaviour , you have to understand India is a Cricket Crazy nation,

And just like you cant blame the whole pakistani Nation for a few miscreants for Booing Malik/Younis, same way you cannot club all Indians in a Pack, Again I am saying from experience whenever we had Guests visiting us in India specially from Pakistan, believe me they always got the red carpet treatment.

Just like here we have from Good guppies to the worst scum on the earth, thats exactly how society is built, in bits and peices. there are the Good the Bad and the Ugly.

Having said all that I still wish we thrash your behinds, just like the last dil jeet lou series.

I base what I say upon facts or evidence, please provide me with evidence, or else this is just hear say!

I also i got this from an predominatly indian website, cricinfo and the writer is also indian! I go through, hindustan times, times of india everyday since the 04 series, so ur point is baseless!

At individual guest level I also have read a lot of great kindness and hospitality from both sides, but a few more of Pakistanis extending to visitors from India. But I hope you can understand that there are things Pakistan has done which make it a lot tougher for us to be as favorably disposed towards you. So let's not generalize too much

I agree with everything mentioned in this thread, whether it be for or *against *Pakistan, and as a Pakistani, I am proud to back my own team when needed be, and similarly, rightfully criticize a specific piece of substance at precisely the right time (an example might be “Afridi/crowd behavior” thread from couple of weeks ago)

Aejaz bhai, with all due respect, I personally don’t believe calling India a “cricket crazy nation” would “help you” vindicate a point on behalf of your team/nation.

On another note, if my country’s cricket fans were to throw in household items items at a freelance, I wouldn’t justify their actions, but rather point out the inconsistencies and defects, and hope that next time such factors should not be dealt with.

:hug:

is there an icon for ditto yet .. hmm .. well, i agree whole heartedly.

jazba_pk … u bring a valid point and i was very happy to see the thread.. but think abt the indians who condemn the un ethical behavior shown by indian crowds at places like kolkata… they’d get pretty hurt by this… they can’t help but to hope for a change. While this thread is unfair for those indians, it has some credibility as any one who has followed the india pakistan tours would give the due credit to paki crowds.
Pakistan Zindabad :jhanda:

Dhobi Bhai,

I am one who clearly believes in calling a Spade a Spade, and have conceded that the hospitality shown by the Pakistanis has always been a very very tall order, for us to emulate, now you tell me where am I looking or asking for vindication.

Again Crowd behaviour, I did not want to bring this issue up and spoil the decorum of this thread,lekin Dhobi Bhai, You know that there is a difference between a Law enforced by the Countries Penal Code, and the the law enforced by a Military regime, same offenses will vary greatly in retribution under the two different law systems.

The above statement is not meant to belittle the great people of Pakistan, I am specifically talking about Crowd Mentality.

Aejaz

Mr. Genius vbmenu_register(“postmenu_3793620”, true);

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/images/avatars/image189.gif

Mr Genius Bhai,

Me doing the David Shepard shuffle at your 2222 posts

Thanks for the clarification, Aejaz bhai. Agreed with your post. :)

I'll have to agree that most Indians are still holding a grudge for the creation of Pakistan. They are still having a hard time accepting the fact.

I have been living among Indians for over 20 years and not a single one had anything good to say about Pakistan or Pakistanis. Just the other day I bumped into two aged Indians in the neighborhood, I started the conversation with them and trust me within a couple of minutes after finding out I was from Pakistan, they started bad-mouthing Pak. I mean I can understand they don't like the country but at least have some courtesy and don't say shiit within seconds of introduction.

And that's the same with all Indians, young or old, male or female, born here or in India.

The reason I wrote all that above is because I don't find the warmth in Indians that the writer talked about finding in Pakistan.

Funguy Bhai,

I love you too, with certain reservations though, Nahi yaar dont generalise, yes you met a few bad apples, so what, I have met my share of bad apples too, In fact some that I have met are so Ignorant that they dont know that India Has Muslim Citizens.

So where will this discussion eventually end, you knowing Indians for the last 20 years or me Knowing Pakistanis for the last 25 years:D

:hoonh: ^^ As far as the Series goes Aejaz Bhai, past is only past :stuck_out_tongue: thora say wait karey, Milk shake ka Milk shake aur H2o ka H2o honay wala hai:cb: :jhanda: pata chal jaye ga kis ki behind ziyada hurt karti hai :smiley:

As far as the crowd goes All fingers are not the same… England got the slap in face (making excuses) with such tight security and they were (even english commentators) were “Humbled” when england played ODI in Karachi and over all in Pakistan
P.S: About the crowd well said :k: thora sa rush of blood ho gaya tha.

Aejaz Saheb, aap tau kaheeN sai bhi Indian nahee lagtay! :D

Yeah I may have generalized too much, and I know all Indians are not ignorant people but majority of them still have a hard time accepting Pakistan and Pakistanis as nice people.

yea, just look at the storm that was created in india when advani said “Jinnah was secular” but n e wayz in my interaction with indians and lately i have been having a lot, indians are business oriented people they look for what is in their interest and how this “friendship” will benefit them. still there about 80% people in india who talk about 1 cricket team.

yaaron please calm down.. this is a cricket forum...you can take that is bullcrap to world politics forum where you can vomit out all the hate, bigotry and frustrations. Let this be a sports forum. Fungee for every bad indian you have met i have met hundreds that are very friendly, want to establish good relationships and accept Pakistan for what it is.

Nikhil yaar toh bhi na dil per lay layta hai. Dil pay maat lay yaar... dil pay mat lay. merjainga

Oye Gamay a.k.a Abu al Kalaam Azaad, ziyada Mountbatten ban-nay ki koshish naa ker. What I wrote is fully in context of what the thread initiator said.