did your in laws get you anything for the delivery of ur 1st baby?

Apparently its rivaaj to get something for the daughter in law who gives birth, esp the first child from the in laws…is this true? if so, what did you guys get?

my MIL sent a gold ring, havnet seen it yet, but my aunts whose coming next week for a visit is bringing it…i was abit surprised as didnt expect it really, so is this common?

Re: did your in laws get you anything for the delivery of ur 1st baby?

My inlaws are always getting us things, so I don't keep track of whether or not they've given us the required gifts for a specific occasion. They got lots of gifts for the nursery and baby, and I've certainly gotten things from them during the pregnancy and since (like cute tops and things, nothing very fancy).

do they live in the same country? yeh she sent some baby clothes and a baby bag too.

Yeah, they live 10 minutes away.

You and your presents :p

A girl after my own heart :)

heehee, no i mean obv MIL and the world will get you stuff, i meant i was surprised she got me a gold ring, its not as if the babyl wear it......thats why. and also because shes in pakistan and had it sent, thats why.

Was just kidding about. Anyway, it's nice she sent you something. I sent a ring to my SIL when she had a baby girl a couple of years ago and it ended up being misinterpreted into an accidental rishta. So now I stick to the cuddly toys and baby clothes :D

Lol what?

my MIL is doing shopping for the coming baby n some clothes for me............ in my parents home its a rewaj to give some gold to DIL my mum gave gold earings to bhabi...... moreover baby's father also gives some gold gift to phupos of the baby.......... i got gold chain on the birth of my nephew :)

this is wot pisses me off.. my mil bought me ZILCH!!!she came for my delivery and no dress for me and no clothes for my baby. amazing cus in pak mil is supposed to give a joda to the bahu and ofcourse clothes for baby ATLEAST!!! my mom gave my baby gold earrings, my hubs mami gave her a small gold ring and then my MIL gifted a gold braclet for my daughter! i was and am still so hurt someone can b this crazy!! she said my hubs said not to bring anything when she asked wot to bring for baby.. he said we dunno the sex and all. but its silly really.. u shudnt b askin qs.. u shud b gifting. i m the first bahu and this is first baby in their family and i got ****!!!

Now that she knows has she given the baby something?

well my dadi gave me nothing when i was born, and hated my mother (due to love marriage). i have a cousin who is three years my senior, and someone suggested as soon as i was born that now they have a nice girl for my cousin, and my dadi said we have nothing to do with this girl or her mother. now, 20 years later, they are desperately trying to get my father to agree to marry me TO THE SAME cousin. haha. we have a laugh about it.

yeah thaz wot i said she gifted a braclet gold one for her AFTER every1 else did. all this while hubby said oh she had been insisting we (him or bro) tke her to gold souq to buy sumthin for her. bull****!
sorry if i wasnt clear

Ah well, as long as she is loving and caring toward the baby, I would try to forget the other stuff.

So many rivajs :nahi: Sub kangley ho jayen gey dheeray dheeray, aur pagal bhi :smack:

Are you also planning to get "joray" for everyone in your immediate and extended family once the baby is born? that's a rivaj too!

for now, I will have to agree with Niksik.. whats the point for all this? if someone wants to give anything out of the goodness of their heart, well and good.. if not, dun fret over it, you and your baby doesn't need anything from anyone!

oh well…never heard of this trend…
I know of someone who had a baby after years and never even got a cursory ‘congrats’…
:rolleyes:
so lucky are those who get anything as a gift …

Man some of the posts are apalling…

I have no idea waht the riwaj is in my in laws, nor did I ever ask…whenever we’ll be blessed with a child, just duas will be enough… if htey gift something great, if not, well its not the end of the world.

My parents on the other hand… :hehe:

SO WHAT? You got the gold, does it really matter if she gave it before or after she was born or whatever sequence? IF you hate your MIL so much, then stop expecting anything from her. You have a child now, channel your anger into something positive.

Forget it mall, who cares, esp if this is how she has always been why expect and get hurt.