Recently I was having a discussion with my Muslim friend in India. What he told me that when Prophet Mohammad was in his dying moments he wanted kalam-dawaat (pen and inkpot) and was denied because the then khalifas or whosover was near him during those moments ensured his last wish was not fulfilled because they were worried that HE would write something which could affect those self styled custodians of religion.
Re: Prophet Mohammad wanted to convey a message before he died
There were no khalifas when the prophet was alive.
This is a heavily disputed account. as you may know that hundreds of thousands of hadeeths were rejected and there are still others that are disputed.
Now logically as far as him asking for a pen and paper, he would not have written anything, and would have asked others to write, and they could have written whatever they wanted anyways. there would be no proof that it was infact he who asked for that to be written.
with a number of people present there, all had to be in on it, and if all were in on it they could have changed what was said and written something else, or just tossed the paper.
if all were not in on it, then having or not having a pen and paper is nt a factor because he would have stated it and someone would have remembered it and then written it, just like all of quran was done.
If he wanted to state something important, he would have done so.
This is a heavily disputed account. as you may know that hundreds of thousands of hadeeths were rejected and there are still others that are disputed.
Now logically as far as him asking for a pen and paper, he would not have written anything, and would have asked others to write, and they could have written whatever they wanted anyways. there would be no proof that it was infact he who asked for that to be written.
with a number of people present there, all had to be in on it, and if all were in on it they could have changed what was said and written something else, or just tossed the paper.
if all were not in on it, then having or not having a pen and paper is nt a factor because he would have stated it and someone would have remembered it and then written it, just like all of quran was done.
If he wanted to state something important, he would have done so.
Well said Fraudz…
Also, people seem to forget that the Holy Prophet :saw: was unlettered, meaning he could neither read nor write…
Had he written something, there would gone the authenticity of the Quran (The Quran mentions the ‘unlettered Prophet’ ) and there would have gone the argument that the Holy Prophet :saw: was actually an educated person…
Who is they? Sahaba? Hazrat Umar? Hazrat Abu Bakr? People who gave their lives to the prophet would change what he would write or ask someone else to write?
Agar esi he sooch hum sub ki ho to phir to ye sub islam wislam fraud hai... kion ke jo Prophet ka likhwaya hua badal sakhtey hain un ke leye islam ya quran kya cheez hai.
As far as the question, he was NOT REFUSED anything. Hazrat Umar didn't think it was appropriate to make the prophet write when he was very ill and almost dying. Had he given the requested items, today shias and their friends would be saying Umar was too selffish, all he wanted was power and didn't care about the prophet and made prophet suffer while the prophet was dying/sick....
I mean really guys think about it logically, if u are dying and have a few breaths left and have something important to say, would you ask for a pen and paper and wait for it and then attempt to write or would you just state it?
We are talking about **MEANING **of an **ARABIC **word... which you said that you know the meaning and I said, you think you know more arabic than arabs. No body mentioned hadith.
As far as meaning of "ummi" is concerned: What is opinion of the Prophet Mohammad on it? His sahaba? People after them? Arabs in general? Arab Scholars? Persians to phir baad main atey hain na... aur phirr kaheen neeechey jaa ke tum, by then it doesn't really matter.
it would help tremendously if you had YOURSELF ever in your life.. EVER picked up an Arabic dictionary and tried to find out the truth.. but I have to spoon feed you so..
Here is the clue from the greatest Arabic Dictionary of all times.. the Qur'an which explains itself..
[3:20] ... وَقُل لِّلَّذِينَ أُوْتُواْ الْكِتَابَ وَالأُمِّيِّينَ ... and say to those who have been given the book and the *ummiyyeena *...
[3:75] .. قَالُواْ لَيْسَ عَلَيْنَا فِي الأُمِّيِّينَ ... That is because they say: We have no duty to the *ummiyyeena* ...
PakistaniAbroad: I've only copied the relevant portion of the verses.. read them in their entirety with the context and u'll arrive at the simple and concise explanation that ummi = Gentile
This thread is all over the place in religion affairs… good job guys
BTW: I am still curious about the curiousity of a ‘non-Muslim’ of an incident which possibly/allegedly took place in history (instead of an interest in faith).
003.020 *
**YUSUFALI:* So if they dispute with thee, say: "I have submitted My whole self to Allah and so have those who follow me." And say to the** People of the Book** and to** those who are unlearned*: "Do ye (also) submit yourselves?" If they do, they are in right guidance, but if they turn back, Thy duty is to convey the Message; and in Allah's sight are (all) His servants.
**PICKTHAL:* And if they argue with thee, (O Muhammad), say: I have surrendered my purpose to Allah and (so have) those who follow me. And say unto those who have received the Scripture and those who read not: Have ye (too) surrendered? If they surrender, then truly they are rightly guided, and if they turn away, then it is thy duty only to convey the message (unto them). Allah is Seer of (His) bondmen.
SHAKIR: But if they dispute with you, say: I have submitted myself entirely to Allah and (so) every one who follows me; and say to those who have been given the Book **and **the unlearned people: Do you submit yourselves? So if they submit then indeed they follow the right way; and if they turn back, then upon you is only the delivery of the message and Allah sees the servants.
In 3:75,
75. Among the People of the Book are some who, if entrusted with a hoard of gold, will (readily) pay it back; others, who, if entrusted with a single silver coin, will not repay it unless thou constantly stoodest demanding, because, they say, "there is no call on us (to keep faith) with these ignorant (Pagans)." but they tell a lie against Allah, and (well) they know it.
Umiyeena is refered to as "IGNORANT"
PA, What is Ummi? What is Ummiyeena? Why are you using same word and its different variation as its meaning? LOL!
ever heard of roots while studying the Qur'an.. Oh wait.. that's the job for Mullahs to do first and then feed you whatever they decide you should believe in.
check out Pickthals great 'scholarship' when he translates the same word as "Gentiles" in 3:75..
and for crying out loud.. USE YOUR OWN HEAD!! Read 3:20.. isn't it clear as crystal what the Qur'an is talking about? It's a perfect comparison between "those who were given the scripture" and those who weren't.. just becasue idiot translators are more influenced by their hadith legacy rather be more truthful to the Arabic they are translating doesn't change the true meaning of the word . which has been used as Gentile and nothing else.
Also read the context of 3:75.. it's common knowledge that Jews believe that they only have to be truthful to Jews and not non-Jews or gentiles if you would.. the verse is clear cut explaining what Ummi means but i guess there's a seal over some eyes, ears and minds..
This would interest anyone i guess, including me!. If a person wanted to tell something at the moment of his death that too by some one who admired by many, then it should bring curiosity to many…anyway, nobody would know now what he wanted to say(ifhe really wanted to say or said anything)