Dhobi Ghaat Version I - Question & Answer Session with Ehsan, Saby and Faisal

Introducing the First Edition of Dhobi Ghaat’s “Question & Answer Session” Thread

At this moment in time, I would like to take this opportunity and present to you, the “Question & Answer Session” thread, where three of the most prestigious and honorable members of this very forum will be bestowed with a wonderful opportunity to answer some of the most frequently-asked questions that have been hovering on the minds of many die-hard fanatics and regular watchers, combined. The actual amount of the questions will vary from one edition to the next, as they will range from those that are controversial to polemical and everything in-between.

In this edition, our three guests that have chosen to participate in this broad and active set of discussion are Ehsan Bhai, Saby Bhai and Faisal Bhai. Each of their answers below are color-coded (Legend key noted above) for your ease of convenience and the cushion of comfort for the user-friendliness aspect. You are more than welcome to answer any/all of the questions yourself as well, as we will try our best to engage in a healthier, friendlier and fruitful discussion throughout, as moments arise. On behalf of the GupShup community of Cricketnama, I would like to extend an envelope of gratitude and a show of mutual appreciation to these three individuals who took the time out from their hectic schedules and consummated the questionnaire.

Question #1) Do you foresee the impact of Jonty Rhodes as a short-term fielding specialist coach in a positive way in that it will help benefit the current state of Pakistan Cricket? How do you weigh in the positives/negatives of this issue? Is it worth throwing away a large briefcase of money to an individual who may or may not produce the “desired” results and live upto the expectations?

** Ehsan: I don’t think any effective gain can be achieved by hiring a fielding specialist on a short term basis. Our fielding is bad and needs long term coaching. The bad habits and lack of commitment int eh fielding is not something which can be fixed by a short term remedy.**

** Saby: Our fielding started to improve and was actually quite good in the initial days of Bob Woolmer but they turned worse and worse of late. I suspect Jonty Rhodes can improve our fielding standards drastically in a fortnight. Maybe he will teach some innovative fielding drills that he himself used to practice. But I am all in support for this gamble. Its not that PCB is a bankrupt organization. They have a good cashflow and if there is a chance that this exercise might improve our fielding standards then take this risk by all means.**

** Faisal: Large suitcases of money are not really the main issue here in my mind. There is way too much money in the game right now for the Board to be nickle-and-diming issues that are important to the national team. A short stint by a good coach can definitely make a difference if the training is structured properly and players approach the issue seriously. Issues with their techniques can be resolved quickly by an expert. However, the consistency in ground fielding comes with practice. It helps to have grounds that are lush green where players are not afraid of diving. Unfortunately thats not the case in Pakistan. The other problem I see is that its not clear what are Jonty’s credentials as a coach. He was a fantastic player and arguably the best fielder the game has seen in recent memory, but does that mean he can transfer his skills to other people? I am not sure. There is no direct relationship. Look at Woolmer, who was a fairly average first class player and turns out to be a great coach. Just because someone was a great player does not mean he will be a great coach as well. So its too early to make any claims on what Jonty can accomplish. My expectations are pretty low. But that is not solely because I don’t know what Jonty can do, but also because our players’ general state of unfitness and lack of application towards fielding.**

Question #** 2) How would you personally fix our opening-batting hardship and affliction? Ever since the combination of Anwar/Sohail has left the scene, the slot has rather appeared to be in shambles and from the looks of it, we only have a handful of specialists to choose from (or who have been selected to appear in the team since then). How would you rectify this topic of concern? Furthermore, if you were to be presented with an opportunity to retain a team of two people for a long-term basis, who would be your primary candidates?**

** Ehsan: Over the years we have enjoyed some very good opening partnerships right form Sadiq/Majid, Mudassar/Mohsin and than Sohail/Anwar. However currently it is the weakest link in our batting and Shoaib malik at best is a stop gap. I personally think that he will not be able to perform the opening role successfully in the seaming conditions which he will face in england. The cupboard is empty at the moment. We have to make do with what we got. Out of the current lot my primary candidates would be Farhat and Butt. Both have weaknesses, especially Butt and that’s where the coach and captain should give these youngsters advice. If Butt can eliminate that annoying shot outside the off stump he would become a world class opener.**

** Saby: I am a big supporter of Bubloo-Inzi combo but I cant understand their impatience when it comes to our openers. Salman Butt for all his faults is the only opener in Pakistan history who succeeded in his first international tour down under with some credit. He has flawed technique but who doesnt? He went on to have a great series against England but after three failures in ODIs he was benched and since then all went downhill for him. I thought Yasir Hameed/Salman butt was a good combo and should have been persisted with but oh well. Right now its Imran Farhat and Shoaib malik 's turn and if they fail, they will once again turn to the likes of Taufeeq Umar (I wish I dont see that day). Shoaib malik is a gutsy cricketer who will always give his best. I just wonder if his best is going to be good enough in English conditions or not.

Ideally on current form and talent I would like to see Salman Butt/Imran Farhat open the innings.**

** Faisal: We did try a bunch of youngsters in the last few years. Most of them bubbled up through their performances in domestic cricket. None of them could stake a permanent position in the national team. Its unfortunate. We have two options. Identify the players with the correct technique, coach them more and then plug them in the team and persist with them. Or go back to the drawing board and identify more talent. Salman Butt definitely showed signs of filling out the position. Too bad he ran into a mental block. Imrat Farhat is perhaps the luckiest player I know. Despite his $hitty technique, he was offered countless chances and that made his scoresheet look remarkably impressive in recent games. May be we should stick with him too, just because he is so damn lucky. Of the bygones, I liked Imran Nazir once upon a time. The kid had courage and could play some daring shots. Not sure what happened to him. I have a personal bias against having two lefty openers too. Its much bettter to have left-right combination, just so the opposing teams have one more thing to worry about. And no, Kamran Akmal is no solution. Neither is Afridi.**

Question #** 3) Ever since Shoaib Akhtar has temporarily left the scene, the phenomena that was widely known as “a nation that produces fast bowlers by the dozen every minute” was diminished to a much lesser degree and is now almost non-existant with the rejection of Mohammad Sami. Besides from the individual performances of Mohammad Asif and Danish Kaneria which, on more than one ocassion, has equaled match-winning presentations, is there any particular reason why are we not leaning towards continuity of fast-bowling? Is there any justification why are we failing to see the successor of Shoaib? Exactly why haven’t we made the major discovery yet? It seems like all Woolmer now has to do, apart from binding the team unity, is to give a few pointers (since we already have a long list of coaches in almost every department) and not anything else. Shouldn’t Woolmer/selectors actively pursue at least a couple more genuine prospects for fast bowlers from domestic cricket and collectively nurture them for the World Cup? What would happen to the state of mind if Shoaib Akhtar gets injured again? Do we have to rely on the mediocre attacks of Rao Iftikhar and Yasir Arafat for backup?**

** Ehsan: I don’t think there is any specific reason. These things do happen. Look at WI, at one time they had more than 6 or 7 really fast bowlers, now they are struggling. We are in the same position. We don’t necessarily have to have super fast bowlers. What we need is effective bowlers, Asif being one of them. It is more important that we have match winning bowlers than just fast ineffective bowlers like Sami. We have won series without Shoaib and Sami and that say s a lot about the depth of bowling we currently have.**

** Saby: Woolmer has personally taken interest in fast bowlers camp held at least twice under his reigs and he has highlighted Mohammad Irshad, Abdur Rauf as talented blokes with good pace although I dont think we need to see successor of Shoaib as yet because he still has some year left in him. I dont bother about the fact that we are running short of bowlers with extreme pace because someone will come along :-)**

** Faisal: These are two things here. Finding fast bowlers and role of Woolmer. First, I disagree that we don’t have good fast bowlers coming up the pike. The constant supply is very encouraging. Looking at the U-19 team tells you how much talent we have. Its just a matter of identifying and grooming the right talent. Asif is definitely one. I am sure there are more, who can use some polish to be viable candidates for the national team. Its true that Rao didn’t impress me (I haven’t seen Yasir bowl). I think it is important to have a tear-away fast bowler in the team in addition to the medium pacers. I don’t think its Woolmer’s role to sift through our domestic talent and identify fast bowlers. For this job, we hire fat @ss jokers like Wasim Bari. They should select the team, and then Woolmer should take over. Despite having a specialist bowling coach, Woolmer’s role is still extremely important. He is there to groom the team in all departments and make strategies with the captain. Having Waqar with the team is definitely a plus.**

Question #** 4) During the recent home series with India, multiple editions of Straight Drive witnessed Imran Khan who consistently proposed his theory that every major batsman should bat up the order whilst making himself take up the responsibility as one of the primary backbones of the team. Now that Inzamam has promoted himself upto number four position with an average of 40, do you agree/disagree with this change?**

** Ehsan: I agree, your best batsmen should bat up the order. There is no point in sending “weaker” batsmen up the order and than when they get out the latter batsmen come under pressure and sometimes cannot perform to their full potential.**

** Saby: I agree with Inzimam coming at four. I did not agree with Inzimam’s continuous obsession with Younis khan batting at three because Shoaib Malik was scoring runs there. Now Malik has been promoted to open so I have no reservations about this as a fan. Inzimam/Yousuf will always swap these places according to situations/form and by no means its a permanent position for either of them.**

** Faisal: Our lack of stable opening pair is by far the biggest problem. Inzi should always bat #4 and Yousif at #5. Thats a no-brainer. The position of #3 is up for grabs. I can see Imran’s argument that sending Younis there will hold the innings together. At the same time, considering the brittleness of our openers, I am not sure if Younis can manage the early new ball as effectively in an ODI game (especially when we are NOT playing India, whom Younis owns). Personally I am very impressed by Shoaib Malik. I think he is not only a multi-faceted player who brings a lot to the table, but also is the future leader of our team. I don’t care much about the experiment of Kamran Akmal as the opener. I like specialist openers.**

Question #** 5) Talking strictly in terms of next year’s World Cup and given the current state of two sub-continental teams while eliminating all the rest of the teams from this equation, what are the chances, in your opinion, of either Pakistan or India taking the World Cup? Does either side rate higher on your scale?**

** Ehsan: I don’t think either will win the world cup. At the moment I rate India higher than Pakistan in ODI’s. Still my heart is always with Pakistan and I will root for them all the way.**

** Saby: India is a more flexible side with the likes of Dhoni and Pathan capable of batting on any position. They have a good bowling line up and exciting young talent in Raina (who I personally think is slightly over-rated). Indians had a really good run in one dayers of late against good one day sides. Pakistan on the other hand are more multidimensional side with three very capable ODI all-rounders which give them real edge in one day arena. Not discounting the recent drubbing our team had against Indians, I would rate Pakistan’s chances higher than the Indians when both teams play to their full potential. This is a key word here though.**

** Faisal: Just between these two, I’d like to rate Pakistan’s chances better. Despite the smack down they got at home by India, Pakistan’s over all team balance and record in recent months is very good. Unfortunately Pakistan bowlers are owned by the likes of Sehwag, Dhoni and Pathan. None of them have any kind of solid technique. However, when I see the larger scheme of things, I don’t see either Pakistan or India with much of a chance to win the cup. Both of them have a pretty good chance of making it to the Finals, though. And thats about it. Ofcourse, as a Pakistani I’d love to see Pakistan lift the cup.**

Question #** 6) Finally, what would be your final squad for the England tour? How would you balance out the team given the seam and swing conditions in the English season?**

** Ehsan:

Farhat
Butt
Yousef
Inzi
Younis
Razzaq
Afridi
Akmal
Asif
Rana
Kaneria**

** Saby: Imran Farhat, Shoaib Malik, Younis Khan, Inzimam, Mohamammad Yousuf, Shahid Afridi, Kamran Akmal, Rana Naveed, Shoaib Akhtar, Danish Kaneria, Mohammad Asif

subs: Salman Butt, Abdul Razzaq, Faisal Iqbal, Umar Gul, Mohammad Sami**

** Faisal: Almost all our seam bowlers can be very successful in the English conditions. Plus Danesh and Malik are there to exploit Englishmen’s discomfort against quality spin. So bowling is not a worry for me. In batting, its the exact opposite. I don’t see any batsman in Pak line up (including Inzi) who gives me any comfort feeling. It will just be a matter of who gets adjusted quickly to play the formidable English attack. The current team that played India and Sri Lanka, for the most part is automatic selection for the English tour, so listing the team isn’t important. May be at the end of the tour we will just conclude that Pakistan batting sucks in England, and the best way to win against England is to invite them to Pakistan and beat the heck out of them. I am sure English fans have the same low expectations about their team going on a tour of the sub-continent. Playing conditions are so vastly different that you pretty much have to be at the level of Australia to win everywhere. Having said that, it is very possible that our current team turns out to be very successful in England. I still remember the '92 tour of England, and there is all the hope the current lot can give the English team a good run for their money.**

Ehsan Bhai, Saby Bhai and Faisal Bhai, thank you greatly once again for doing a comprehensive and detailed write-up on the list of questions provided. As I read through your answers, I had a lovely and splendid time, much to the joy of the rising sun on a Sunday morning, and I am sure our members will go through the same experience as well (perhaps minus the sun).

:slight_smile:

Re: Dhobi Ghaat Version I - Question & Answer Session with Ehsan, Saby and Faisal

itney lambey thread

very nice thread dhobi....i read the 1st sentence then got out of breath i will read it l8r or just type a simalar reply to the others

Re: Dhobi Ghaat Version I - Question & Answer Session with Ehsan, Saby and Faisal

Dho Bhai - excellent questions and answers by all three and have the same views.

However - I would like to pick on few points made by Ehsan.

I also totally agree with the above. However Ehsan don't you think the WI situation may also be due to influence of American sports i.e. Baseball, Athletics, and Boxing etc. The young West Indian sportsmen can make more money in these sports then if they were to play cricket and therefore moving into these sports? Whereas in Pakistan there are no specific reasons like you stated above.

Also having number of good quality and effective bowlers like Asif will do the job for the team, if super fast bowlers are not available. I also agree with you on this.

However don't you think having super fast bowler in the side lie Akhtar or Lee gives the team psychological edge over the opposition? Such bowlers may go for few runs but certainly they can cause the opposition extra problems and bring more variety to the bowling line up.

I know bowlers like Shoiab may be difficult to find and replace especially the speed at which he bowls but definitely attempts should be made by the PCB to find similar bowler. Given the nature of Pakistan cricket someone may come from no where or we may go for a long period without finding any one like Shoiab.

I personally think we need a super fast bowler in the side not only to give the side variety but also to keep the great Pakistan bowling tradition going.

The PCB organised fast bowling talent competion in major cities sometime ago. I am not sure what has happened to the boys which were selected. Any updates or news on them? Maybe the PCB has forgotten all about them.

Dhobi Sahib,
First of all, congratulations on a fine effort, very nicely done. Just two problems, (1) ts too long and (2) all three have identcal views, probably more diverse discourse wud have made discusson more interestng, abhy tho sub he aik ganna garay hein...

(1) Jhonty Rhodes, waste of money, more of a PR exercise. Question that needs to be asked, when u have bowling coach, fieldng coach then what s Bobby doing?

(2) Instead`of trying to clone a opener (Shoaib Malik) team mangement sud have concentrated on the regular openers, ppl forget that Inzi had a bad patch when he cudnt even get into double numbers against teams lke Namibia, opening is not a easy slot anyways, requires mentally and physically strong players. In my opinion, ak has gone with only 2 openers and are short by at least one.

(3) Unfortunately, this management tilts heavly in favor of uniformity, player egos (except for Inzi) are not allowed, this kind of culture does not allow talent to flourish and fast bowlers are talented ppl, they need to be nurtured, treated with soft gloves not the sort seen by Inzi & Co. Having said that, I agree with one of the postees, there is no reason to be despondent, we have plenty of talent in the wings.

(4) Finally, much awaited move. Inzi may have mssed out on some great batting and becose of that Pakistan, at age 36 what sud we expect?

(5) Team selection, would like to see M Yusuf dropped and allow some younger player a chance to play, rest of the team seems balanced.

very gud!

Something really different Dhobi bhai which will surely be appreciated by Guppies :k:
As he mentioned that anyone can reply to those questions so feel free to answer them. Here’s my 2 cents

1- First of all I think one should not compare Rhodes with Woolmer or Waqar. Both of them are coaches whereas Rhodes is more like a consultant who is there for 2 weeks not to coach the team but to give them some helpful tips. It is just like a crash training which alot of us get on our jobs and then it is upto us to practice it more and more for improving our skills. Paying him money is far better then putting money in the pockets of corrupt PCB employees.

2- We all know that opening pair issue has not been dealt in an effective manner and shoaib malik is not an answer to this problem. He should not be there in the test squad. I personally think that emergence of Salman butt as an opener was the best thing which happened to Pakistan Cricket after Saeed Anwar. They need to give him more chances and he should be there in the team with Imran Farhat.

3- I don’t think that Pakistan has got a mediocre bowling attack in absence of AKhtar. Infact Pakistan has performed wonderfully well in his absence as well. It’s just a matter of time and we will see couple of new bowlers in our team around WC time. We still have plenty of talent in the domestic circuit. Asif is already establishing himself as an important member of the squad.

4- I think everyone will agree with the fact that your best batsman should bat up the order. Younis must play at the one down spot. Infact I would think that with the current opening crises, they should have tried experimenting him as an opener. That would have allowed them to accomodate an additional batsman or an allrounder in the middle.

5- Its difficult to predict the chances of these 2 teams for the WC, however it can be predicted that these 2 will qualify for the semi finals. While comparing both of them I would rate Pakistan higher.

6- Playing 11 for the English series should be:
Butt, Farhat, Younis, Inzi, yousuf, Afridi, Razzak, Akmal, Rana, Asif, Kaneria (However Woolmer and Inzi would like to squeeze Malik in the final 11:mad: )

What is this moderators ki ajara daari? Ask everyone these questions you shmuck!

when did Jonty start coaching the fielding? i'm so out of it.

It’s just a two-week assignment Catty.

ah ok, thanks :k:

bhai us baycharay nay sub ko open invitation dya hay.

By the way none of them are moderators here:D

He started his two weeks assignment just today :)

Good interview Dhobi bhai, there are too many points we can argue about but i am too lazy so i agree with EVERYTHING they said :)

I liked the following comments by Saby:

Salman Butt for all his faults is the only opener in Pakistan history who succeeded in his first international tour down under with some credit. He has flawed technique but who doesnt? He went on to have a great series against England but after three failures in ODIs he was benched and since then all went downhill for him. I thought Yasir Hameed/Salman butt was a good combo and should have been persisted with but oh well. Right now its Imran Farhat and Shoaib malik 's turn and if they fail, they will once again turn to the likes of Taufeeq Umar (I wish I dont see that day). Shoaib malik is a gutsy cricketer who will always give his best. I just wonder if his best is going to be good enough in English conditions or not.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I would prefer to see Salman Butt and Imran Farhat opening though.

nice thread Dhobi bhai :clap: :yahoo:

Good initiative Dhobi_bhai

and thanks mysteriuos_guy.

fartguru: I dont think dhobi had an idea that we three will be this equivocal on most issues otherwise he would have chosen differently. Anyhow your ideas presented are different than ours so thats the change. Plus I dont agree with your notion that Mohammad Yousuf should be dropped. ker lo jo kerna hai. :-p

Saby: Mark my words, there is a world beyond the world cup and Pakistan is once agaon playing the age old game of safety in names rather than take risk in the young and restless. Baqee, sub kheir hay yaar.....enjoy..:)

Glad to read the comments, everyone. :)

Reason as to why this session has been expanded into an enormously gigantic thread and have rather came across as a long afternoon read is solely upon my initial request to the participants to write a detailed and comprehensive replies in the first place, considering the nature of this Question & Answer session. Similar to a talk show, but only a better version of an online participation.

Regarding some of the notes highlighted in this thread, I definitely second the notion that PCB should, by all means, engage in a formal step or two approach to search for a genuine quick speedster which is likely to boost the morale and self-esteem while denting the opposing team's drive and confidence. Such an aspect not only provides a different mix of variety and taste (as Rock_Express Bhai mentioned above) but also sides a psychological poise and assurance to the team who is considered to be the lucky ones on their end.

On the note of Jonty Rhodes, mixed reactions are heard and read throughout. Most, if not all, are in favor of throwing away a large briefcase of the sum of money to him, but considering such a short stay of the length of time that he will be managing the drill, it is very hard to predict the forthcomings. If, for instance, the fielding quality is not improved and remains at a rather drastic level (which it is now), then it would be relatively hard to point all fingers at Rhodes and blame him for not transforming our team. If it does improve, he is likely to become a hero overnight. Nevertheless, the "finger pointing" game is less to come in this picture, since this is not a long-term commitment.

I certainly second the thoughts of sending your most experienced batters up the order. Younis Khan or Inzamam in the opening slot is the most feasible option at this point in time, at least from my point of view. Moreso, Inzamam, for his magnificient hand-eye coordination and the ability to make quick judgments and late play. Not forgetting his contributions in the early part of his career (1991-92) where he did open the innings on quite a number of ocassions and have gone to score in a prolific manner, my suggestion would be to drop an inconsistent and weak link in the team, Farhat, all in all while Inzamam is moved alongside Butt.

My final selection of the team for this tour (in order):

Salman Butt
Inzamam-ul-Haq
Younis Khan
Mohammad Yousuf
Kamran Akmal
Shahid Afridi
Abdul Razzaq
Rana Naveed
Mohammad Sami
Mohammad Asif
Danish Kaneria

Left-out: Shoaib Malik, Shahid Nazir, Umar Gul, Faisal Iqbal, Imran Farhat

On a lighter note, Shabbir Ahmed's ban will be lifted by the end of this year. I am wondering if it is possible at all to have a (Akhtar/Ahmed) combination for the World Cup. I suppose we will see how he performs in domestics first, but there is (and should be) a likelihood for his inclusion in the team, I'd reckon.

Also, I would beg to differ from the hypothesis that Mohammad Yousuf should be dropped from the team. Remembering back the equation of "Form is temporary, class is permanent", Yousuf falls under the latter category. It is not the matter of selecting tried-and-tested players who rarely perform in a given and particular scene, but rather a matter of picking out a winning combination, and if Yousuf of all people is left out of the squad in order to bring in the likes of Bazid Khan and/or Shahid Yousuf to try and experiment with things just before the World Cup, it is bound to go either way. It would be ideal to test out for such a change until after the World Cup, while continuing to remain level-headed on a one-way street. :)

Dhobi_Bhai - so who would you send in as the opening partner with Salman Butt? Inzmam reading from your list?

Also regarding Shabbir Ahmed - it may be possible to have Shabbir Ahmed in the World Cup along with Shoaib. However what is the kikelyhood that that Shoaib will be available. You never know what is likely to happen especially the inuries which affect fast bowlers these days.

Any way - I don't think Shabbir will be the same or as effective bowler after his ban - simply because he would have been out of international cricket for such a long time and the domestic cricket may not be be competitive enough to test his ability. Also the ban no doubt has caused him psychological affect as a a bowler and may affect his confidence to make a strong comeback.

Inzamam, as you quoted above. :)

Quite true. Infact, there is no guarantee on Akhtar either as to whether or not he will be available and in full-flowing action, barring free from any injuries. One does have high hopes that he will play next year in West Indies (similar to the scene where we had high hopes of him making it to the England tour, now only partially), but in any case, Shabbir Ahmed could be looked at as another potential prospect. Granted that he has been out of the picture for too long and might have even forgot what his shoe size is, but an eye should be kept on his improvements and achievements in domestics. If he fails to pass a required satisfactory level (which, as you hinted at, could be the case), then we will leave him on the sidelines and move on, since we already possess a (half decent) combination in the bag for ourselves.

Dhobi sahib,
M Yusuf does not qualify as class, yes a good batsman but not the same class as Inzi/Javed/Zaheer/Lara players u cannot ignore. Therefore, with due respect I do not agree with your thesis. This one-way street thinking is all pervasive in our team management and is the main reason why Pakistan has failed to find regular openers and continues to support chuckers like Shabbir instead of giving chance to other players.

When Imran Khan took a unknown quantity to World-Cup Australia in 1992, there was a plenty of criticism, that did not deter the great Khan who made a promise to the young man he will play all the matches. That young lad did play for Pakistan, did very poorly in the warm up matches but still played all the regular games and was instrumental in Pak victory. Ofcourse, that young lad was Inzimam-ul Haq. If Khan had remained 'level-headed' and played the one-way game, Inzi wud hv never gone to Australia and Pakistan wud hv lost to New Zealand.:)

I don't know about Test but in One days, Faisal Iqbal should repalce Mohammad Yousuf. M. Yousuf is not himself lately, the guy that we use to know during '99 WC and after has lost his touch. He has become a liablity with his running between the wickets. Faisal should get more chances.

I really like your line-up Dhobi bhai. Although Afridi is best suited as an opener. Inzamam can play but if we loose his wicket, we are done, second down is great position for Inzi.

I am really looking forward to this series against England. It will be very important especially for Sami and Salman Butt. If they find their form, we will run through the series. I believe they will....