Dhobi Ghaat Version I - Question & Answer Session with Ehsan, Saby and Faisal

Re: Dhobi Ghaat Version I - Question & Answer Session with Ehsan, Saby and Faisal

Oye, tumhara dimaagh theek hai? England mein, you are replacing Yousuf with Iqbal? Khotay :o .

Re: Dhobi Ghaat Version I - Question & Answer Session with Ehsan, Saby and Faisal

After several failures of different opening combinations, I have always hoped that selectors would try something different i.e. bring someone from middle order up the order. Have seen alot of good players switching their positions. From India Ganguly Tendi, Laxman Dravid are middle order batsmen but have tried opening slot, so why can't we try the same.

I would like the lineup to look slightly different from you Dhobi Bhai

Salman Butt should accompany Younis Khan. As I have mentioned earlier this combination will allow Pakistan to put one extra batsman or all rounder in the middle. Not comfortable sending Inzi as an opener.

Also not sure about Kamran Akmal, Afridi and Razzak coming in after top 4. The middle and later order look slightly fragile. Faisal Iqbal coulld be a batsmen replacing Razzak or Afridi.

Why all the trouble with Opening … we all know how long it takes our No. 3 and 4 til they head for the middle in slightly seaming/swinging conditions :hehe:

So i think all they (PCB, Team Managment) need is find a guy who don’t know how to angle his bat and only knows to play with a straight bat + at which ball to play … yes i know at the moment there is no such player in domestic circut or is there such a unknown entity ???

I would support Farty here … but then for this u need someone like King Khan and not Inzi who BTW should know it better than anyone else how and where he started once

Expressed your thoughts very nicely, Guru Sahab. :)

That is what we all are hoping from these two as well. Thinking on the bright side, at least.

I certainly agree with (both of) your positions as well. However, to me, Younis Khan doesn't seem all that "opening" material. The only reason I selected Inzamam in that slot is because, well, his first-hand experience during the early part of his career in that position, and secondly and most important, his natural ability to play late. Younis Khan is best suited, at least from where I see him as, at a one-down position, where his ability to rotate the strike constantly and take singles and doubles at his convenience is more than enough to grant him this slot. Speaking of rotating the strike, Inzamam can easily manage to accomplish both (singles + scoring boundaries) at a fast and lively pace, hence taking full advantage of the early Power-Plays.

Although, yes, one could go either route with Younis or Inzamam (I also fully agree on the comments written with Man with a Plan Bhai above, in relation to the possibility of weakness in our middle order if we lose Inzamam early).

On the subject of selecting Faisal Iqbal, I did think about it long and hard, picked up my pencil and had his name placed in the middle right after Mohammad Yousuf, but then that would make it twelve players, which is impossible. Afridi and Razzaq both hold an unimaginable and respective values in the team which is the main reason why it is hard for either one of them to let go. If Danish ties down the bowling from one end (as most have predicted, given their lack of ability to play spinners), then it would be eventful if we introduce Afridi from the other end (to seal the lid, if you will). Him and Razzaq are both perfect all-rounders for middle/late-order and possess the capabilities of hitting wherever they deem appropriate, and given the concensus, the pitch is likely to support both bowlers quite heavily as well.

Although, yes, I am more than willing to take out Afridi from the two and give Faisal Iqbal a much-needed chance. God knows he has been left out of the team on numerous ocassions for no apparent reason and need all the experience he can get on foreign tours.

Afridi and Razzaq.........bah.