Destroy the Letter 'C'

Hmmm… just came across this:
A study which measured which words people looked up in the dictionary most often revealed that that “83% of the words being looked up are words that contain the letter ‘C’." (Source)

I mean its pretty obvious cuz “C” is kinda useless – it just mimics the sound of not one but two other consonants – S and K!.. how phonetically useless!

Come to think of it, what might be some implications if the letter were to be phased out? everything becomes either a ‘K’ or an ‘S’.
Ideas? :smiley:

Re: Destroy the Letter ‘C’

Umar:smack:get back to your books :hehe:

Re: Destroy the Letter 'C'

hehe nice thought Umar ^ bak :p aur bechari chicken ka kiya ho ga sambha, wiredo name baan jaye ga
and what are they gonna do with C++ language
choice is yours K++ or S++

Hey Hey now, no getting rash…

Just because some of you can’t spell no reason to throw out a letter I love, my name wouldn’t be the same with a stupid ole ‘K’ and it’s ugly, too. :snooty:

takin a break baba… mental chock-a-block right now!

woh mujhay thread dekh k hi andaza ho gya tha :hehe:

im done with my proj yay :rotato: bas report likhna baaki hae jo mein do ghenton se taal rai hoon :smack:

khayr umar i have found a bug in ur logic :smiley:

see

CHICK

over here does the first C mimic either a S or a K?

i dont think so…? and if u do then gimme an example of a word where the letter S is pronounced like the first C in CHICK is

is lyay i have refuted ur claim that C is phoenetically useless

mere lyay taalyaan ho jayen naazreen :rotato:

irem claps for herself :clap:

While I was in Pakistan, I learned that "C" was being replaced with "K". I thought it was a joke until I came across this shop at Tariq Road which had replaced every friggin' C with a K. That was really weird.

^ naah... not that easy chica! :)
I claimed that on its own "C" is useless... why not have a letter that's pronounced "ch" in the first place.

Actually Umar, the C is historically seen very important, it's the 'k' that can be considered redundant if viewed in light of Latin (most european languages are Roman, esp english). The 'c' in Latin is phonetically the 'k' of now. In Latin there were very few words with 'k'.

On the other hand when we go back the Greek the 'kappa' is unclear whether it evolved to the latin 'c' or 'k'

ye cheating hay :smash: i want my water cooler :smiley:

khayr HMMM i guess thats right tho

which brings us to the realisation that our desi tongues r after all more superior than angrayZee coz we foresaw the redundance of C and we therefore invented the alphabet CHAY (chay for chacha ne chachi ko chandni chowk pe chatai talay charpai pe chandi ke chamchay se chatni chatai :rotato: )

I agree with the above…
but something I just remembered… isn’t “k” also pronounced as “ch” in some east europian languages? Problem solved… keep the “K” - dump the “C” :slight_smile: :slight_smile:

“Kappa” ?? no more kappa please… the kappa ratio of my experiment had an inter-coder reliability of 0.98 :slight_smile: yes… too much stats in my head.

I’m gonna get bakk to books.

:k: impressive nescio :mash:

and yep Irem... Urdu is by far the most phonetically rich language that I've come across - but then again, I only know four languages :)

umar 4 languages? you do know that urdu and punjabi count as just 1 language don't you? :p

DimaghHotaToNa yaar desi shops pe boards kee spelling toh khayr bas mashallah hi hoti haen :hehe:

TISTY BIRYANI WALCOME :smiley:

Umar true that Urdu is phonetically rich…Urdu has a couple more alphabets than Arabic even and has all the sounds of English too…
good lukk with studying, Allah Hafiz!

I;d refuse to be KonKita

or Kon$hita

Conchita..yes that's why we need a C

forgot about Punjabi… in that case make it 5 :slight_smile:

Without 'C', how the heck do you plan on pronouncing the surname of 50% of Pakistanis? Choudhary Saahab?