**REMINDER Please don’t post any comments in this thread and use the http://www.paklinks.com/gs/household-affairs-cuisine-corner/310906-comments-recipes.html thread to leave your comments or ask any questions. Thanks -Mod **
Louki Kheer by Shumaisa

- Grated Loki finely
- Milk
- condensed milK
- Sugar
- Khoya
- Rice - 2tbsp
- Cardamom
- Almonds, pistachio, & cashews
Take milk & boil, add cardamom & Crushed Rice. Cook it till the rice becomes soft and the milk becomes half. Add grated Loki and cook it on low heat. Keep stirring every 2-3 mins.. Cook the kheer until the loki, Rice, and milk are mixed well with each other. Then add condesed milk, add the sugar & mix well. Cook it for more 10 to 15 minutes. Add Khoya and let it cook for 2-3 mins more. Now you can add chopped Almonds, pistachio, & cashews…Take out the kheer into a bowl, and garnish it with the almond stripes.
Apple Cake by Chips6
-1 1/2 cups sugar
-1 cup vegetable oil
-3 large eggs
-2 cups all purpose flour
-2 tsp ground cinnamon
-1 tsp baking soda
-1 tsp vanilla
-1/2 tsp salt
-3 cups chopped apples(thats approx 4 medium apples)
-1 cup coarsely chopped nuts(i always use raisins,as i am not a big fan of chopped nuts)
METHOD
1)heat oven to 350 degrees F.grease bottom and sides of either one 13x9-inch pan or two 9-inch round pans.
2)in a large bowl beat sugar,oil and eggs with electric mixer on low speed.Add flour,salt,cinnamon,baking soda,and vanilla.beat on low speed for about a minute.Stir in apples and nuts/raisins.
3)bake for 40-45 mins ( for a 13x9-inch pan) or 30-35 mins (for a 9-inch pan),or until tooth pick inserted in the center comes out clean.Cool for 10 mins,remove and let it cool further on wire racks.
4)if u want to frost it u can use cream cheese frosting or brown sugar frosting.I dont frost mines....
Cinnabuns with Chocolate sauce by Plusha

]¼ cup oil+ ¼ cup icing sugar+ ¼ cup powdered milk+ 1 cup warm water + 1 tsp yeast. Blend all the ingredients
Take 2 ¼ cup plain flour + 1 tsp yeast. Knead the dough with the help of above blended mixture. Keep the dough in a warm place till it raises a bit approx 20 mins. With the help of flour and rolling pin, roll the dough to make a big chapatti. It shouldn’t be too thick or thin. Sprinkle approx 1 cup brown sugar all over the rolled chapatti and then sprinkle generous amount of cinnamon powder approx half cup. Roll it gradually and carefully just like a Swiss roll and then cut the roll into 1 inch pieces and then bake it on a greased baking tray until the buns become light brown. Make sure they don’t turn too dark otherwise it’ll harden.
Sauce: 100 g butter+ ½ cup icing sugar + 200g Philadelphia cream cheese + 1 tsp vanilla essence + 1 tsp lemon essence. Blend!
The sauce which I made is ½ tin condensed milk + 1 ½ packet cream + 100 g butter + 1tsp vanilla essence. Blend and pour over the baked cinnabuns. Sprinkle chopped walnuts and you can pour Hershey’s chocolate sauce over it while serving. Enjoy!
Re: Recipes from Aaj Kiya Pakaya/Khaya
Trifle by Shumaisa
1 litre Milk
4 tbsp custard powder
1 cup Sugar
1 tsp vanilla essence
3 tbsp whipped cream
Method:
Mix the custard powder into 1/4 cup of the milk. Bring the rest of the milk to a boil. Lower the heat and add the sugar, vanilla essence, custard solution. Mix well and let it come to a boil again, stirring all the time so that it does not scorch. After it comes to a boil again, take it off the heat and add whipped cream, mix well and let it cool.
Arrange half of the cake slices at the bottom of your serving dish. Pour the juice or milk and allow to soak for 5 minutes.
Layer half of the fruit (mango), half of the fruit jelly on top of the cake.. Next the custard poured carefully over the contents of the bowl...
When the custard has set.. To garnish the custard - Mixed fruit of choice, cut into small pieces. I have used fresh mango, cherries, fruit jelly, and brownie/cake.. Keep chilled until it is served.
*Gulab jamun by Plusha
2 cups powdered milk + 2 tbsp sooji + 1 tsp baking powder mix all the dry ingredients den add 1 tbsp butter + 1 egg + half cup milk mix evenly..it will form a sticky mixture...keep it in a warm place for 30 mins so that sooji expands...den make balls...keep that in mind tht there size will increase will frying...deep fry them...and add them in sugar syrup
sugar syrup
4 cups sugar + 2 cups water + 3 elaichis...cook till it thickens a bit add 1 tbsp lemon juice ( it helps the syrup to becum thick)
enjoy!!!
Recipe for blueberry Muffins by Shab-e-Hijar

12 tablespoons (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, at room temperature
1 1/2 cups sugar
3 extra-large eggs, at room temperature
1 1/2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
8 ounces (about 1 cup) sour cream
1/4 cup milk
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
2 half-pints fresh blueberries, picked through for stems
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Place 16 paper liners in muffin pans.
In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream the butter and sugar until light and fluffy, about 5 minutes. With the mixer on low speed, add the eggs 1 at a time, then add the vanilla, sour cream, and milk. In a separate bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. With the mixer on low speed add the flour mixture to the batter and beat until just mixed. Fold in the blueberries with a spatula and be sure the batter is completely mixed.
Scoop the batter into the prepared muffin pans, filling each cup just over the top, and bake for 25 to 30 minutes, until the muffins are lightly browned on top and a cake tester comes out clean.
Shahi Tukray by Sheal
ingredients
•
• 6 slices of white bread
• Pistachios (preferred amount)
• Almonds (preferred amount)
• Seeds from 5 Cardamom Pods
• Khoya (preferred amount)
• 5 tbsp. Sugar
• A dash of Yellow Food Color
• Rose Water Essence (Kevera)
• 4 tbsp. Cooking Oil
• 1 liter of Whole Milk
Procedure
1. Heat oil in a frying pan and when oil is well hot, fry the slices of white bread until it is lightly brown on both sides. Remove and set aside.
2. Heat milk in a saucepan until it comes to a boil. Add cardamom seeds, sugar and yellow color into milk and cook until milk thickens well. Add rose water essence, mix and remove from heat.
3. Arrange the fried bread slices in a deep pan or deep tray. Pour milk mixture over the bread slices. Garnish with khoya or ricotta cheese, pistachios and almonds and serve.
Sooji Halwa by Lusi
Sooji 1 cup
Besan 3 tbsp
All Purpose Flour 2 tbsp
Sugar 2 cups (or add less like 1.5 or 1.75 cups if you don't want too metha)
Oil almost half cup
Water 3 cups
Cardamom 4-6
In a pot heat oil, add cardamom (kind of opened) and add sooji. Bhonafy sooji till goldenish brown. keep stirring it while bhonafying it. Then add besan, bhonafy it for couple mins, then add all purpose flour and do the same thing. Then add sugar, slightly incorporate in the sooji besan mixture and quickly add water. Stir the mixture, keep it on medium heat and cover it. After few mins again stir. Reduce the heat to medium low, cover it and keep checking every few mins. When you see that sooji has absorbed all the water, and the halwa is not sticking to the sides of the pan, it means it is almost ready. bring the heat to low and leave it on dum for few mins. When done garnish and enjoy!
Oh and I added food color after adding water to the sooji. If you want yellow halwa then just add food color otherwise your halwa will be beige brownish color....lol
Oh and if you feel that it still needs cooking time and it is burning from the bottom, then reduce the heat and if you have a tawa or that thing you put under the pots for dum, use that. Though I was using a non stick pan but I still ended up putting the tawa under the pot so it doesn't burn. Oh and stir frequently
Chocolate Flan cake by Ira
Sadi here is the recipe i followed. If you have never had this before, make smaller ones on the side to taste before you serve to your guests so you know what it tastes like. The people i made it for thought it was store bought and really really raved about it.
http://www.recipezaar.com/Chocolate-Flan-Cake-48401
Chana Daal Halwa Recipe by Jias
I took two cups(andaz say) of chana daal soak for 2-3 hrs, then boil i nwater till tender not mushy, u can boil it in milk. When cool grind it in food processor.
I use big non stick frying pan to bhoonify it, so thats make me less effort in bhoonify than if I use aluminum pot.
Then put half cup oil in pan heat it put green cardamom nad cinnamon stick in it, and add ground daal mixture in it. Start bhoonifying, till it changes its colour almost 50-60 min, u can add oil if desiire, I have not exactly measurement of oil, its up to requirement.
When u feel smell of complete bhoonify add sugar up to taste and again bhoonify, then when sugar completely melts in halwa and mixed in it bhoonify for 20min then close flame after cooling sprinkle nuts over it, if u want put nuts in the halwa too.
Lab-e-Shireen by Lusi
1 kg milk
½ cup rice, ground
½ cup khoya
1 cup boiled loki
1 ½ cup sugar
Pineapple, thinly sliced
Saffron
Method
Cook rice in milk. After a while add loki and khoya, and keep stirring. When it thickens, add sugar and lastly add saffron and decorate the dish with pineapple.
DAWN - Recipes -
Edit: Ouch... i guess gul-e-firdos is something diffrent from lib-e-shirin...lol
Lab-e-Shireen by Jias
INGREDIENTS:
1Litre milk
1 cup (moti siwayan)
2tab cornflour ya custard powder
chandi kay warq (optional)
sugar (1 cup)
1 pineapplcan,3 banana,1mango (u can use any fruits)
condence milk (1cup)
jelly packet 2 (jelly color red&green)
cream (1 cup)
oil (2 tab)
pista for GARNISH
METHOD:
Sab se pehlay oil lo ..aur siwiyoun ko halka brown karo..phir is mein 1 litre boli milk daal doo ...phir tora sa siwiyoun ko pakao phir sugar add kardo...
is milk mein siwiyoun ko acchi tharah se pakana hai ..matlab milk gharah hojaye aur siwiyoun ka color bhi change ho jaye aur woh moti ho jayein
halki anch per pakao aur spone chalati raho
aur dosre cholay per jelly banaloo aur freeze kardoo
itnay mein aap fruits kaat loo chotay chotay
sirf banana tore se bare kaat na kyun kay spoon chalanay mien woh toot saktay hain
jab siwiyan moti ho jayein tu us mein custard powder ya cornflour daalna ..mein nay tu custrad pwder dala tha...aur us shef nay bhi..
2tabcustad tore se doodh mein mila kay dal do
aur spon chalay raho
phir chola band kardo.aur tori daor kay baad refregerate kardo
jab thanda ho jajaye tu cream add kardo aur condence milk add kardoo mix karoo aur fruits bhi add kardo
halkay haath se upper nechay karoo
and last mein jab serve karo tu jelly daal doo aur pista
lab-e-sheri ready hai
Jalebi by Chips6
INGREDIENTS:
*1 cup flour
*1/2 cup rice flour
*3-4 tablespoons yogurt
*a pinch of baking soda
*the recipe called for 1/4tsp cream of tartar ,but I did not have that so i never used it
*yellow food color
Mix all and put in a plastic bag with a small hole in the corner so that u can pour it in hot oil
SUGAR SYRUP:
*3 cups sugar
*enough water so that when u heat the sugar and water it is very thick in consistency...if it will be thin the jalebis will turn soggy
*add green cardamoms,some rose water and saffron thread to the sugar syrup...
i ruined the first few ones as i let them sit in sugar syrup for too long...just be careful not to oversoak them
Mini Cheesecakes (yields 18 small cupcake size cheesecakes) by Corrupt Angel
For base
12 oz Graham Cracker crumbs
butter
Cake batter:
2(8 oz) Cream cheese
1 cup Sour Cream
1/2 a Lemon freshly squeezed juice
1 cup Sugar
2 Eggs
1 tsp Vanilla extract
For topping: Cherry/mixed berry pie filling, or whatever you like
Also need paper liners for cupcakes.
Method:
1. Make sure all the ingredients are at room temperature(cheese, eggs, sour cream). Turn on oven at 350F.
2. Mix graham cracker crumbs with melted butter in a chopper. Place half a spoon of mixture in each paper cup.
3. Beat cream cheese until liquidy, mix sour cream and beat again. Do the same with sugar and eggs one by one. Mix vanilla extract at the end.
4. Fill each cup with the cheese batter. Bake in the oven for around 12 mins. Turn off oven and leave the door open, please dont take out the cakes immediately, they'll crack in the middle. Take them out when cooled a little and then top them with pie filling or your favorite toppings. Refrigerate for at least 8 hours.
Chocolate covered strawberries by Correupt Angel
Well there's a trick to get it right which is you boil some water in a saucepan and then put a bowl on top, you have to make sure the water in the saucepan does NOT touch the bowl. Put chopped chocolates and keep stirring. Dont leave it by itself or chocolate will get hot and dry instead of melting. Dip strawberries in melted choc and then in coconut or anything else you like and then place on parchment paper. Refrigerate for 2-3 hours or until cooled.
Danish pastry by Shab-e-Hijar
Ingredients
- 1 cup mascarpone cheese
- 1 egg yolk, plus 1 egg beaten with 1 tablespoon water
- 1/4 heaping cup sugar
- 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour, plus extra for rolling out dough
- 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
- 1 sheet store bought frozen puff pastry, thawed
- 1 (6-ounce) jar high quality fruit preserves (recommended: Cherry)
- Special Equipment: rolling pin
Directions
Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.
In a small bowl combine the mascarpone, egg yolk, sugar, flour and vanilla. Stir until just combined and then set aside.
Dust the puff pastry with flour and roll with a rolling pin to flatten and smooth.
Place the puff pastry on a sheet tray lined with parchment paper. Schmear the mascarpone down the middle of the puff pastry lengthwise into a 3-inch wide strip. Spoon the fruit preserves on top of the mascarpone.
Using sharp kitchen shears cut the long sides of the pastry into 1-inch wide strips. Cut towards the cheese filling but stop about 1-inch before you get to the filling. This result will look like fringy pastry. Alternating sides, fold 1 piece of the fringe over the cheese and jelly mixture. The result will look like a braided pastry with fruit preserve peeking through. Brush the dough with the beaten egg yolk mixture. Bake for 25 to 30 minutes until golden brown. Let cool before serving. Cut into strips to serve.
Gulab Jamuns by me

3/4 cup nido
1/4 cup flour
1 egg
1 tsp bakin power
1 tbsp ghee or oil
1 tbsp cream
mix well
make balls
Fry the Jamans at a very low heat until they reach the desired colour…
syrup..3 cups water 2 cups sugar..kewra and elachi also…Just give this mixture one boil and add the jamuns to it…
cover the lid and let them cook for 15 mins on slow heat..and leave them in the syrup afterwards…
This is optional…when the jamuns are trippled in size and cooked well…u can take them out of the syrup in a bowl…you can cook the remaining syrup until it turn a lil golden…and pour it back into the bowl with jamuns…this just makes them look even better…
Sprinkle with Pistachio..
Sooji Kheer by me

Milk- 1 to 1.25 litre…boil it
Sooji- 1/3 cup-
Khopra(crushed coconut)- 3/4 cup
sugar- add it according to your taste
cardomom powder- 1 tsp
khoya-1/2 cup
Pistachio/almonds-to taste
Kewra
Bhoonify the sooji with the cardomom powder. The colour should turn to a slight golden and you can smell the sooji when its cooked. Make sure you dont burn it.
Once the Sooji is cooked, add khopra to it…and cook it for another minute, just so the khopra is heated.
Now, add sugar to it and add the boiling milk to this mixture.
Keep stirring until it reaches the thick consistency. Add kewra.
Sprinkle with chopped nuts.
Chocolate cupcakes by me

I used this recipe for the Chocolate cupcakes…and iced them with Betty Crocker Chocolate icing…Just to add a twist…I added some pecans to the batter…or you can add chocolate chips or white chocolate as well.
Chocolate Cupcakes Recipe - Cakes & Muffins recipes for kids
Gajar ka Halwa by Shumaisa

Ingredients:
Grated Carrots
Milk
Sugar
condensed milk
Dry fruits (sliced almond and Pistachios.)
Khoya
Ghee
Method:
Put milk and grated carrots in a wok and bring it to boil. Cook over medium heat until all the milk gets dried up. Add sugar, cardamom powder, dry fruits and cook on slow fire till dry (for about 15 to 20 mins.)
Add condensed milk and cook for another 5 mins. Now Add ghee. Stir well and fry on low heat until ghee starts separating. Add khoya. Saute for a few mins. Decorate with remaining dry fruits and serve hot.