Desis

Corrupt people are found everywhere agreed. But even to get a genuine death certificate if you have to bribe the babu of municipality that is ridiculous.

Re: Desis

Wow.

Thats the spirit Sumo, thats what we overseas pakistanis have to understand that we have double pressure and responsibility of representing our two motherlands where ever we go ...

When I am here in England , I have to defend Pakistan and secure its reputation in my social circles..... when i visit Pakistan , I hear all kinds of things for England and I try to secure a positive reputation for England in my social circle ...

alot many times people living in Pakistan do not understand what we have to go through overseas to protect our origins, uphold respect for Pakistan , but as long as life allows us , we must , continue to breath in the last drop of hope and betterment into that country and continue to struggle in our own ways and means.

I would say though , even when around our own people we must not use negative words for our motherland , I learnt that lesson from Indians ... an indian friend told me this and i asked why so , he said , coz it will only spread unhappiness and dissatisfaction and hopelessness rather then creating good and positive feelings ... I totally agreed with him Sumo and promised myself that day that I will uphold those very valuable words ...

^good for u! However I see it differently, when discussing Pakistan with my family and paki friends we usually see it realistically to make us clearly understand all the wrongs in that country and how those issues can be addressed. Although I don't see anything wrong with your approach.

P.s. I find Indian patrionism annoying.

LOL. Hahaha, very sad but true.

I have not seen Pakistani bad mouthing Pakistan in the presence of non Pakistani people. We only do that when we are among our own kind and all we bad mouth is corruption which is so rampant in every where in Pakistan.
We talk about corrupt politicians, corrupt judiciary , corrupt police , corrupt Generals , corrupt administration , corrupt educators, corrupt mullas.
The people of Pakistan are hostage at the hands of these corrupt people. All we can do is rant or pray, so we rant and pray.

We also talk about other desies being fob , abcd, paindo and other kind of stereo typing just for fun. What else is there to talk about in desi parties , we do not gamble , we do not go to clubs , we do not worship filmstars, we are not indulged into any kind of mainstream activities of the west even if someone tries to talk about these mainstream the conversation is over in few sentences and we go back to other desi topics.

Anybody disagrees they are free to open a new thread in AV on this topic as to what desi talk about in their parties. :hehe:

I agree with you and should totally detest these social vices you mentioned Mirch jee... Infact its the vices and the people we should be detesting , not the country ...

Pakistan is a very very valuable land , its the Pakistani's that need a leash !

There are some things to keep in mind here that we sometimes forget...

This is a board comprised mainly of Desis. When people post on these forums, they are more likely than not posting about a problem or concern right? So I think we see more negative than positive - I mean really, who starts a thread about their life when all is perfectly honkey-dory, rosey and happy?

No one is here to demean or denigrate Desis and the vast majority here love their country and their heritage - they take the good with the bad. Every country has good and bad yeah? So if people here point out the bad, its not due to lack of respect but most likely out of caring and concern.

^Yes!

I think we went off topic by getting into discussions of patriotism ... infact Abra had started the thread on why we think Pakistani people are backward ...

the fact is that Pakistani nation is still very far behind in development and we who have lived abroad and been brought up in very priviledged and well developed countries , should try our best to translate our knowledge , morals and intellect to our people back home .. rather then forgetting them and classing them as hopeless paindoos...

I hate to butt into this thread again thanks to some utterly annoying and know-it-all replies. With all due respect Mo3, apparently you miss the point where positive criticism turns into bashing and 'ewwww desis' rant. The man is not implying that everybody is bashing desis, he said some people are and damn right some people are. And "This is a board comprised mainly of Desis" makes it even more funny how some people try/wish to change their skin.

I am glad to see your extremely positive perspective though.

Even if they did they will be labeled as a show off. :D

Nice Post

No. of reason of this attitude

1.** All those Identity-Less US-UK-Pako blend** after Diaspora acted totally against what other nations did in that scenario. Indians ,Bangladeshis,Arabs even Jews associate them to Israel; and thier respective countries with pride but these Country-Less after dis-accosiating from it made them something Adha Teetar Adha Batair.Author rightly mentioned Palestini taking pride of thier country despite that it not exist but these Country-Less blend feels its a pride in cutting this connections.

2.Generally , living standard after Dispora significantly raised in terms of economics so sense of Pride of being a step high to thier fellow countrymen economically is depicetd in it which is somewhwre wriiten in another thread " Daisy Bandari tai Walaity Cheeka" means they used to ride 24 no. van while standing now dont talk less than Benz or Porsche.Similar attitude of women even in this forum is seen that these Naudaultiya **used to fight with shopkeeper on 2 2 3 3 Rs . in streets of Pakistan and used to be **Kangli and Tut Poonjia here now talk about Fasion Galleries of top Models and Designers and like they used to wear it pre-born for 9 months or talk about** Cafe and Cuisines** and they used to eat **Alooo Shora **3 days in a week

1. British Raj of 200 years mentally captivated the brains and everlasting image of "Slavery' still splash from these people menatality.They consider themselves Inferior **to Whites of UK and US. So , such act of Slavery is easily be seen in thier matters, dealings or even at personal level. Associating with thier native country strike a big hammer on this **Image of Slavery which they have woven around thier socio-politico circle.They think that pre 47 , British were thier** Masters and still now Uncle Tom and Queen of Britania are **. So in Slavery , they dis-associate from a seperate , sovereign or by large an independent country

2. This resaon is obvious from the mixing cultural phenomenon abroad with south indians whrer they ask questions like why we seperated , we can live happily, few politicians did it , this and that blah blah. Most of them have not even study the history and even not have a grip of all the scenario of Indian Muslims , thier lives , hardships and what the price all muslims have to pay if we were not seperated in 47.

3. Major factor is Fear .Check Pakistan intellectual brain Syed Muwahid Shah new book where he thoroughly described how masses and educated lots specially Doctors particularly in US are living in Miserably Pathetic way .Recent example is of Gaza issue where they refused to even condemn it on thier site even by one or two lines.

And yes , 9/11 played a leading role in it. After that ,even US born Pakistani became Irrelevant or Stranger in the place where they were once born. Feel of shame, sense of insecurity , lack of moral grounds, deprive of social rights , guilty , shameful like all 19 hijackers were thier relatives beacuse of Islam. Then FBI throwing hundreds behind the bars, racial attacks even on Sikhs besides with them, checkings, investigations, insulting behaviour at check points of airports etc etc.9/11 was a turning point for them .After that some came back to thier Real Identity while some became even more Americans bu ommiting Ahmed or Osama as thier part of name , even dont talk about Jihaad , Bush or Iraq , Afghanistan while talking on phones as all phones used to tape for 5 to 6 years after that incident by specuial powers which Senate gave to President to do so.

Last but not the Least , some of the threads you have mentioned people intentionally start to provoke us like Pakistani Girls early Rishtas when I expose those Naudualtiyai of NYC and Canada and thier attitude

So remain calm and cool , these Tut Poonjia and Naudulatiyai whatsoever Bakwas about Pakistan , no one cares about them as they themselves live as 3rd grade citizens , being naked on Airports , thier cell phone history being checked , thier belts of trousers being taken off , shoes being thrown off , hear racial remarks , go paki go home etc etc

We have sympathies with all those who say any negative about thier country as they themselves live as Slaves and 3rd grade citizens

Bye to All

This is not about criticizing Pakistan or Pakistanis. Every Pakistani living in Pakistan or abroad has a right to do so.

I think (I might be wrong) what AbraCadabra was trying to say that there is negative connotation associated with words like 'desi' when they are used in this forum. This implies a sense of superiority in Pakistanis living abroad. Just because they have to follow rules and customs of foreign lands, they cannot claim themselves to be in anyway superior to they fellow countrymen back home.

An example is when I drive on the motorway (Lhr to Rwp), I observe all traffic rules and try and be a very good driver (because I know I would be fined otherwise). As soon as I get off motorway, my driving is pathetic again. While on motorway, I should not claim that 'desis' are bad or my driving skills are superior. I am sure the Pakistanis living abroad are better citizens largely because they are bound by the customs and environment they live in and I am also sure that they would be doing most of the things they criticize 'desis' for if they were born, raised and living in Pakistan.

I thought the meaning of "Desi" was "a person born in Pakistan or India"? I never associated it with anything other than that....There was recently a thread about the term "Paki" which can be fine but also can be very demeaning. I never thought that of the word desi though....

^ I really think it's where ur from. I dont think the words desk or paki have a bad connotation in the US, but I think they do in the UK.

Paki definitely has a bad connotation... no matter where you are....but not desi....

And tbh, i hadn't even heard of the terms 'abcd' and 'fob' till i came to GS :D

Dude!! (who started the thread)

I am FOB and very proud, some(SOME) abcds are very refined ppl. Mostly they are not.
They don't even have respect for their own not so up-to-the-mark parents. Such kids are not going to show respect to any thing in the world.
They have very strong inferiority complex, and they are so deep into it, they don't even know its there.

BUT
We could tell..

So quit worrying about the ppl who spend all their life trying make them self invisible to majority.(British decent)

I mean they are so pathetic they don't even do any thing original. Only engage them self into activities where some other "look alike" is involved.
I feel sorry for them.

I agree with all of the above.

One POV is most people on this forum are Pakistanis…one way or another…by birth or by origin. Most people do identify and consider themselves Pakistani in some way. I dont think people necessarily want to look down on Pakistan…more so identify problems and question reasons behind them. When its a discussion between Pakistanis…its not the same as an outsider coming in and critisizing a nation they know nothing about. They consider themselves Pakistani and therefore feel its okay to bring up topics or issues they find happening in Pakistani society. At least thats how I feel…I dont talk negatively about Pakistan to anyone…sometimes with another Pakistani I may discuss things I find wrong but thats not considered bad mouthing the country.