Desis

WOW you are pathetic! :k:

Jaanwar,
You have put it rightly. Thank you!

Everyone has had bad experiences in one way or the other but people tend to generalize and spread based on their specific information encounters making it a generalization.

Are you trying to live up to your nick? None of this happens in any other country??? The point, which apparently failed to penetrate through your skull, was that being a desi or a paindoo should not be considered an insult. Perhaps you need to learn a thing or two about patriotism from the Indians.

Abra, I have always believed that Pakistanis are a very intelligent Kaum … only if we use our intelligence in the right places …

All it will take is one generation to build themselves and improve on our standing . and that responsibility hugely lies on the mothers and teachers of this nation … as i said before …

Its not the grades with which i am measuring the education , its the over all knowledge and ability to seek new avenues /careers. the counted few take good grades …it should be majority… where are they going to come from when the mothers are too busy attending marriage ceremonies and planning daughters weddings and building status quo while the kids are left to play in the streets !

**We have been saying it for more then 60 years that it will take time .. i think we should stop saying that defo. and bring that urgency in our motivation and realize we dont have time left to wait and watch , we HAVE to rise , at any cost. **

mind you , i am not criticizing , I am positively bringing to attention the negatives of our society , that we as Pakistani’s need to be aware of .. we cant address an issue if we dont know what the issue is .

The most important thing: all the education and trying to build up perfect impressions will go down the drain if our nation does not improve on morals … we HAVE to respect our morals that Islam taught us … we are letting ourselves down with this one thing , everything else is forgivable but this one aspect is not … we have sidelined morality in our family lives, office lives, interpersonal dealings and what not …

if morals improve inshallah education and the rest will start bearing sweet fruits for us - the nation … inshallah

What have you done to fix anything that gives you a right to pin point? I am sorry we arent blind people either we can see what happens here and what happens abroad as well but we dont follow the trend of "act busy do nothing." We dont just talk, there are a vast majority who strive to make things better risking their life. The 2 recent happenings would have also cleared this up for you.

-> Long march with lacs and lacs of people. In Lahore only, there were 1 lac people out in the long march. They got hit by dandas, they had to bear tear gas, etc. but they did make a move and were successful
-> I am not proud of what happened with the Sri Lankan team in Pakistan.One of the most horrific things to have happened but the 7 policemen who gave their life to save these guests of Pakistan in their duty were in fact Pakistanis. They were soldiers of our nation who gave their lives on duty. The driver risked his life to save those people.

At least they were people who did some thing and did not just talk. What have you done that you are honoured to criticize?

Re: Desis

i truly agree with the sharings and yes ppl abroad easily criticise the pakistani setup. it seems they din't belong to any homeland. infact i have seen many pakistaniz lingering in between east and the west. foreign lands are foreign lands and they are never going to be the motherland. one never knows wen these temperorary shelters are snatched away and i believe that there is no substitute of A HOMELAND. I LOVE MY COUNTRY AND WILL TRY TO AT LEAST PAY BACK THROUGH WELL WISHES.

It is my patriotism that made me leave the country and try to make a difference in the lives of those who I left behind and start a businesses or two there to make some of them be able to earn honest living.
It is my patriotism which made me say what I said , if I did not care I would not pin poin all those things which needs to be taken care of by those who are still living there and pointing fingers to others instead of looking at the realities of what goes in there which makes many to leave that country and try to make a difference some other way.

Thank you!

Abra and jaanwar, I said the country sucks. Even the politicians suck, but I didn't say anything about it's citizens. Secondly, saying desi or Pakistani doesn't mean someone said fob and the first two are negative terms.

And you all must be kidding if you think Pakistan is one of the greatest countries in the world. Maybe u live in your own lil secluded shell and don't open your eyes to see what's going on in your own country. That's the real sad part! That you would close your eyes and pretend everything is hunky dory in that country.

First of all, yes the politicians suck. The country DOES NOT suck. The citizens dont suck. Pakistan may not be one of the greatest countries in the world but there are many things that are way good here that are not anywhere else. You still have not understood the motive of my original post. We do not have our eyes closed. But we dont have our mouths open as well that just keep talking that this is wrong, that is wrong, desis are like this, desis do this, blah blah blah. but give no input what so ever on how to improve things. If Edhi was commenting i would have no complains because he is some one who has worked for the country, if it were the Student association committee people speaking it would be no problem because they went all the way to get things right, if it were YPL people it would be okay, if it were any such people who have done major important stuff on the grass root level to put things right it is okay. But for people who just keep criticising and do nothing i am sorry i dont consider legible enough to comment!

wow ! and you said earlier that you " lived " Pakistan .. what a comouflage !

no one is closing their eyes , we know there are issues and we are taking part in improving and realizing what all we can do to make our country better ..

BTW, you should be complaining about the people of Paksitan , not the country , coz when you say people have let you down , there is still hope that people can be changed and held accountable .... when you blame a country , you are generalizing all of us, unjustly ...

Like I said before , try to remain positive, coz if you are thinking this way , then god help the future generation that individuals like yourself will raise , kids will surely say they are americans and like Jaanwar put it , they will try their very best that the Michael Jackson experiment works !

Also abra, at first you posted a lot of threads which were not criticizing Pakis. The second time you posted only three that did. Please don't exaggerate to make your point. A lot of people come here with real concerns. I have done a lot and my parents have done much for that country. I don't need to give examples to prove anything.

The point is yes there are other countries that are much worse than Pakistan but does that make it ok for Pakistan to not be better? Please grow up. Just because other countries are worse than Pakistan, doesn't make Pakistan an awesome country.

Coming back to your original concern, you are just too sensitive. This website is paklinks, not worldlinks. Obviously we come on here most if the time to discuss Pakistan and it's people.

The reason i put 3 threads was because the poster had written that they were legitimate issues and they from no where were legitimate.

Who so ever said that Pakistan is better because there are countries worse than Pakistan? If i have raised the concern of unnecessary scrutiny i am considered sensitive.

CB I have no idea where you read that I lived in Pakistan. Camouflage?? Im not trting to hide anything. Anyway, I did live in Pakistan for three years. I don't see how any of that is relevant to anything.

As far as abra is concerned, I have done a lot to help out and will continue to. But the fact remains that many many people I have come in contact with in Pakistan from all status levels, primarily the upper class are corrupt.

And don't say that I have come in contact with the bad people only and that the majority of pakistanis are innocent, law abiding citizens. Only a small percentage of the people I have met are actually great moral citizens.

I see nothing wrong with self- deprecating humour...

What makes you think that people on these forums do not do anything for the country and just rant about desi people ?
You want them to post the copies of bank drafts or hundies they use to make much needed remittances of foreign exchange. Edhi gets millions of dollars from overseas Pakistanies.
They rant about things which they think need to be corrented. They have the right to do so . They rent because they want to see a better image of their own kind.
And for your information the terms desi and fob apply more to those who are outside Pakistan not to those who are sill living in Pakistan. So that way your rant is invalid as we are not ranting about Pakistan and people living in Pakistan we rant about the people like us who live abroad.

This is exactly why I stay out of the religious and political forums. My mucking blood starts to boil. I'm done contributing here. Carry on with whatever pathetic excuses you can come up with to talk crap about Pakistan directly and indirectly. Positive criticism is one thing and is indicative of genuine concern, useless bashing is another.

I'm a proud paindoo/desi and Alhamdulillah I am doing whatever I can in my limited capacity to improve the plight of the deprived and underprivilaged people of Pakistan - which is not a great deed but my responsibility.

Sumo, I havnt mentioned you live in Pakistan , refering to your post and the word i highlited "live" Pakistan .. which is a very different term and means ones life is influenced by something/someone ....

by the way, we all have come across corrupt people , should we lose hope, like you have? and like other people start going around telling everyone we are british or american and hide our origin?

and tell everyone , I have had it with Pakistan the corrupt , worse country in the world !

perhaps you havnt yet met the "high class " americans .. wait until you meet them and then learn the hard way , that these Corrupt people are found in every society and country ... they are the leeches ... but then what will you do ? live in that country coz there is nowhere else to go? or start saying america is the worst country in the world , I did so much for it and its still worse !

hope you get the point ...

Peace !

I second that ..well said Jaanwar.

CB, sorry for the typo, I was typing from my iPhone so I usually have a lot of typos. I meant to say I live in the US and love Pakistan. Secondly I haven't lost hope fir Pakistan, and for that reason still do a lot more and plan on and do far more than just send money there.

I have also met upper class Americans and ofciurse America is not a great country. It is not immune from corruption, in fact I would say that volume wise Americans give and receive more bribery than Pakis. I'm not saying America is a great country!

And I don't go around bashing Pakistan in front if Americans because I don't like giving anyone a bad image of Pakistan, unfortunately the media does that already. And yeh I do consider myself an American, an American- Pakistani. I was born and raised here so I love both countries and will do whatever I can to make both better places.