Desis

I am not a very old member of GupShup but i do read the threads on and off. Masha Allah what amazing negativity i have seen from these threads. In every other threads there is a mention of “Desis”, “FOBs”, “Cheap People”, “Paindoo”, “Esp Pakistanis” etc. Why are you guys so allergic to Pakistan and Pakistanis? Why do you need to specially mention “Pakistan” “Desis” “Pakistanis” in every thread?

GS is equally everyones, you people dont have special privileges to have a right to continuously criticise Pakistan & the desis. its not like you all are full of purity and so much of superitiority. If desis are paindoo, then you all are extra modern and a vast majority has way forgotten their origins and lets not even bring up the topic of dressings. Lets not forget, your parents are Pakistani too and many of your family members too.

We are Pakistanis and we live in a country struggling for survival. At least we put in efforts on our grass root level to improve the condition. Many of us have participated in the long march, different protests, Project Roti, Project support our schools, project help the poor etc. Or at least some of us have made our own companies, our own schools etc. We have some input in improving the country. But really what right do people living abroad have to criticize and continuously comment on our lifestyles and well beings? What has any one done to help Pakistan come out of the circumstances .. what most have done is run abroad for a better living selfishly.

I am sorry but i am very hurt after reading your views. If you are so allergic to us stay away and mind your own businesses instead of criticising the minutest of things. The least you could do is stand up for Pakistan when you yourselves are ambassadors of this nation in another country. If you dont want a Pakistani brought up for marriage, fine no problem but dont come announcing everywhere. We dont want UK-US brought ups as well but we dont come publicising it.

I know the way i have explained is harsh for many of you and the all so famous Character Assassinations will start in just in a while. I am waiting. But really do look at yourselves once that what really gives you all a right to criticise us, our life styles, our brought ups, our dressings, our everything. ??? I am a DESI and very proud of it!

Me too!

Good points....keep it up!

***This also reminds me of the British Lord Macaulay at India (mid-1800) who, I read, prepared/drafted the PENAL CODE which still persists in INDIA & PAKISTAN.

The term Macaulay's Children is used to refer to people born of Indian ancestry who adopt Western culture as a lifestyle. The term is usually used in a derogatory fashion, and the connotation is one of disloyalty to one's country and one's heritage. The passage to which the term refers is from his Minute on Indian Education , delivered in 1835. It reads, "It is impossible for us, with our limited means, to attempt to educate the body of the people. We must at present do our best to form a class who may be interpreters between us and the millions whom we govern; a class of persons, Indian in blood and colour, but English in taste, in opinions, in morals, and in intellect. To that class we may leave it to refine the vernacular dialects of the country, to enrich those dialects with terms of science borrowed from the Western nomenclature, and to render them by degrees fit vehicles for conveying knowledge to the great mass of the population.".

Lord Macaulay's infamous Minute on Indian Education, a treatise on imposing English-language education on India, anticipated many of the same arguments.

Regards***

Good way of explaining it! :)

Re: Desis

Here are just a few of the one million references of topics on GS that will give you an insight to what i am mentioning!

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/life-relationships/314815-pakistani-girls-shouldnt-b-beautiful.html

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/life-relationships/315038-new-generations-marriage-issues.html#post6398581

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/life-relationships/295909-moving-pakistan.html

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/life-relationships/313812-pakistani-husband-move-abroad.html

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/life-relationships/312386-children-molested-family-members.html

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/life-relationships/310366-motives-leaving-pakistan-split-proud-pakistani.html

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/life-relationships/309240-rishtas-pakistan.html

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/life-relationships/214527-why-do-pakistani-guys-act-gangsta.html

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/life-relationships/305413-desi-females-have-unrealistic-expectations-love.html

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/life-relationships/304960-marrying-back-home.html

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/health-fitness/309863-desi-men.html

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/life-relationships/301267-dissapointed-desi-girls.html

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/life-relationships/298918-when-will-desi-girls-realize.html

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/life-relationships/272011-approaching-desi-girls.html

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/life-relationships/258066-why-do-desi-girls-have-no-figure.html

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/fashion-beauty/252232-desi-fashion-style-faux-pas.html

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/life-relationships/245678-desi-married-women-politics.html

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/life-relationships/201194-desi-men.html

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/life-relationships/229795-hate-desi-aunties-what-do.html

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/life-relationships/201742-creature-called-desi-uncle.html

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/life-relationships/199951-desi-airheads.html

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/life-relationships/186484-desi-gals.html

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/life-relationships/183926-desi-larkian-need.html

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/life-relationships/302185-pakistani-women-more-possessive.html

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/life-relationships/222045-pakistani-women.html

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/life-relationships/219602-pakistani-culture-pakistan-todays-perspective.html

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/life-relationships/212033-have-you-gone-out-non-desi-pakistani-guys-girls.html

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/life-relationships/210879-pakistani-society-looks-other-way-gay-men-party.html

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/life-relationships/173845-pakistani-men-disgrace.html

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/life-relationships/191735-pakistani-girls.html

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/life-relationships/166954-pakistani-fobs.html

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/life-relationships/165551-pakistani-women-tight-clothes.html

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/life-relationships/146866-pakistani-guys-n-their-mentalities.html

Abra,

We are all Pakistani's weather we live in the country or not ... and irrespective what one says , Inshallah we are and will remain united as one nation .

.. but you got one thing wrong ...

we overseas pakistanis , work very very hard to earn money , and send it back home to have our country enjoy the benefits of Foreign exchange... we try to think of putting up industries there , convince others that Pakistan is a rght investment goldmine .... we represent Pakistan through our behaviour coz every minute we are judged not individually but as a Pakistani...

yes we didnt take part in the long march , but we are doing equally much for our country my dear...

I have lots to say on how Pakistani people are letting us overseas Pakistani's down .. but i will reserve the matter for some other time ...

for now , we are are united nation and together in this fight for survival.

Very well put! I myself have noticed this way too much. I have posted about this sometimes too that people here criticize Pakistan & desis way too much. Most of them think Pakistan is an under developed village where people are completely selfish, possessive, not caring, paindoo type of people. Many believe that desis are FOBS, Paindoo and 'no their type' .. very sad that Pakistanis themselves say such things.

Great thread and I agree.

But I personally don't like something about Pakistan...what is up with the men who stare? Why do they do it? It is so annoying! Lol! You just cannot go out and enjoy yourself at all because of them. They ruin everything. Have they never seen women before? I am always covered but they still stare!

Otherwise I love Pakistan and always stick up for it. But those men have got to be sorted out! Hehe! :)

The irony has left me speechless.

I forsee a new thread title ' Why do Desi's complain so much?'

Lovely.

CB, your post was so positive. Thats so encouraging if you people do try to improve the situation with what ever way you do. I just dont like it when people sit in gatherings with goray goriyan or just pakistani gatherings and just discuss how bad pakistan is, Pakistanis are. I myself have been to US-UK and lived there a while too. I noticed this trend more in Pakistanis than the goras there. If here some one says anything about Pakistan, i dont listen to a word because this only increases pessimism, and lesser hope, and just bad impressions about us. The impression should be improved instead of ruining it. If people start reading and become aware there are still so many things we can be proud of.

I am sure its on its way. ;)

Abra, I dont think its the impression that needs working on ... its the actual nation , its moral , its education that seriously needs to be worked on.

*we are not living in a little world of our own, where our traditions are everything ... the world is fast becoming a global village and we HAVE to be prepared to become a part of it or else we will be left behind as a nation. *

so what needs changing?
We have zero morals ... people on the grassroot level , lie, comit fraud, steal, dont work ethically , no respect what so ever for the law, dont pay their taxes until forced , etc ...

Education: most families thnk their child finished BA or MA and are now educated .. while they fail miserably in providing the child a competitive career and enough knowledge to climb up the stairs .. thats why we dont have non-main stream careers or prospects in Paksitan ... people can hardly speak on international levels or present themselves ... the mothers and the teachers have lost the sense of responsiblity to create a generation of youth that will take the nation to another level.

so when individuals like me try to tell my Pakistani brethren , they thnk we hate them and we are too full of ourselves etc ...

We need to change our attitudes as a nation to deserve respect ... respect is commanded through behaviour and knowledge , it cannot be demanded ... no matter how much we say meira Pakistan azeem hai , the people living in Pakistan are making it khokhla in every possible way ...

As for the overseas Pakistani's .. yes I agree , I have seen some who come from Pak-origin but act british or american , think its something to be proud of that they cant speak urdu or punjabi ... they dress like them , they have lost their sense of identity ... its down to their parents , who have created such a confused generation of desi's ...

But I assure you , no matter what happens there will always be people like you and me , who will stand up for our country, give our blood and soul to it , to see it prosper , no matter where we live , in the country or abroad ... will continue to feel the pride ... and continue to help our countrymen ...

PS : the point Iggle mentioned , I totally agree with it .. ! but dont know what to do ... !!!

This thread is ridiculous. Agra, most if the examples you gave above are legitimate concerns and aren't badmouthing Pakistan. And yeh u may live in Pakistan and love it, I live in the US and live Pakistan but the fact that it's one of the worst countries in the world does not change. thank you come again.

These things happen gradually. People who are in education dont leave education by will. The problem here for the poor is that they cannot afford to send their children to school as they hardly get money for food. As for those who do educate their kids, they have an equally good standards of education. Take for example the ‘O’ & ‘A’ levels, every year Lahore Grammar school, Aitchison, Beaconhouse secure distinctions. When i gave my ‘O’ levels my school secured distinctions in 4 subjects including Accounting and chemistry too. These exams are of a world level too. It is common hearing now that some one secured 9 As, 8 As, 7 As, 6 As etc. You must have heard Ali Moeen Nawazish’s name. He is the kiod who secured 22 A grades in A levels which is a world record. Also, in SATs, GMAT, GRE type tests Pakistanis do score very high. It is a matter of time - people are becomign aware here and improving their education. You yourself can see around you that there are so many Pakistani students in US, UK who have gone there for higher studies. Education cannot improve overnight it is taking time. The major thing that lacks is free education schools where the poor can come and study free of cost.

All true. These things should be worked on. The least we can do is spread awareness. Start from writing - writing on blogs, magazines, newspapers. Make yourself presentable enough that people would want to follow people with good morals and presentable mannerisms.

But you know CB, criticism really isnt the solution to anything. I hope you get my point. :blush:

I so totally disagree with this sumorani ... please do not disrespect our motherland using these words ... if anything why not share the reasons why you think its the worst place and provide solutions for the issues ...

just criticizng never really helps , you know ..

Peace !

How does criticising help? We can do that for Pakistanis abroad too and very easily in fact. The point is why not do something to bring a change instead of calling our country the "worst" country containing "FOBs" in it! How in any way does that help?

So what do you want us to call people who live in Pakistan? You obviously have an issue with the terms 'desi', 'Pakistani', etc etc.. which by the way are not offensive terms. Desi is a COMMON term used here to classify Indian, Pakistani, Bengali people.
I don't think the threads here are out to get Pakistani people as you're making it seem to be. Do you really expect every thread to say, ' American girls' or' British girls' or 'Albanian girls'.. this is a Pakistani forum, and considering everyone's background, they will be discussing relevant stuff. Im sure other forums belonging to different countries discuss their own people too.

Also i dont find any LEGITIMATE CONCERNS in such topics:

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/life-relationships/314815-pakistani-girls-shouldnt-b-beautiful.html

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/life-relationships/214527-why-do-pakistani-guys-act-gangsta.html

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/life-relationships/258066-why-do-desi-girls-have-no-figure.html

AbraCadabra - are you Quaid-e-Azam’s multi? :hmmm:

Dude you are right. There are quite many people who are constantly bashing and talking crap about desis esp paindoos. First thing that they need to realize is that their being born and raised abroad doesn’t change the fact that there forefathers were as desi and paindoo as they come. There are many who would want to peel off their skin in the hope of growing a white skin, but heck, brown is brown. Like I said somewhere earlier that if Michael Jackson experiment had worked out well, that would have been really helped this lot.

But then it is not all bad. There are people who have actual complaints, some have had bad experiences. Every place its own pros and cons. We must be proud of our pros and admit and work on our cons. And then there are quite many people who defend Pakistan, Pakistanis, Desis and Paindoos. So it is a mix of positive and negative. Pretty much balanced out.

I actually feel bad for people putting in all their pathetic efforts to rub their identity off of their foreheads.

Yes , yes , yes .
Pakistan is such a paradise, there is no pollution , there is no poverty , there are no slums . People are not being abducted daily for ransom, people are not being held at gun point in their homes and being robbed on a daily basis.
You do not need any kind of sifarish to get a job.
All the judges are so honest, the police is very honest . There is no bribery , all your work is done by government officers without asking you for bribe. The chaprasi of the sahab will let you meet the sahab anytime you want to without making his muth-thee garam.
The judges do not change the decisions in favor of those who bribe them. If you are talented you can get admission into any college and university you want to , to persue your dream.
If you want to set up a factory you can do so easily, without bribing anybody. Electircity Deparment known as Wapda will beg you to let them install that electric poll at your factory without any bribery. The water deparment will beg you to let them provide water to your factory door without any bribe.
The IPB will approve your project without asking you one paisa as bribery.
There are no suicide bombings. There are no drive by shootings.
Pakistan is such a paradise full of pious people like AbrCadabra.
All the desies living abroad are blind , mindless goofs who are in those countries for their own aish o ishrat they did not migrate to make the lives of those they left behind better. They do not go to majids they go to clubs and dance all night.
What a joke and what a gross generalization this thread is.

Oh and I forgot all the politicians of Pakistan are waliullah , they work so hard to keep this country a Jannnat as it is so that the desies abroad are dieing to come back and live hapily ever after.