DESIS who think we are snotty lazy westerners?

ok so heres grumble number 1…WE Brits/americans/etc are ON HOLIDAY in pakistan, so we deserve to do WHATEVER WE WISH and WAKE UP whenever we want…so if i want to wake up at shock horror10am and not 6am like they do, i should be allowed because i am ON HOLIDAY…THEY ARE NOT. i paid 90000 pounds ( or so it seems) to go to pakistan ( dont know why, of all the countries in the world) TO SEE THESE RELATIVES ( Oh yeah thats why) and then they make these judgements on us that we are lazy cos we wake up late…EVEN THOUGH THESE GUYS SLEEP TWICE IN A DAY…any pakistani here would know that in pak, people in summer sleep twice in the day…we have no such privelege or time here to sleep twice in day..so forgive us for sleeping in an extra 2 hours during normal sleeping times…

GRUMBLE NUMBER 2…we dont compare our lifestyles to theirs…if they come to the uk, and stya here for a few weeks i would happily oblige in their customs and ways, and if they want to slp twice in the day then they can and i will not say hai hai yeh deko din mein do dafa yeh sote hai..we just let them be…but these desis compare and get rude…i think you guys are lazy for sleeping in the day, and waking up, what seems like the middle of the night.

Next time i really will have to say thats its us relatives abroad that is keeping the shambles of their economy and tourism going, im sure id rather go to australia or somwhere where theres no hassle and its alot cheaper…

Re: DESIS who think we are snotty lazy westerners?

mere dil ki baat keh di tumne nadz..!!!

lol..and whats even more annoying is you pay hundreds of pounds for some ticket to pak you dont even want, but are made to go, and then you come back, 6 weeks later all annoyed and depressed as opposed to my gorey friends who spend less than 200quid to go to a nice place in europe and come back refreshed after a week..

exactly!!

U need a blog

: I KNOW...but who cares...

plus i prefer peoples opinions on it too...not just a rant.

threads like this make me wonder if GS should charge a subscription fee...

I'm too cheap to pay of course... but it is worth exploring.

My sentiments exactly and not to forget, I always come back sick.

i come back sick and bitten (Mosqitos), with 15 suitcases and 15 bags of hand luggage...we need 6 cars to come pick us up. we still manage to leave lots of things behind,even though we are bringing back all that samaannnnn

I don't have a problem with extra sleeping 'cos I'm up early anyways due to 'naha lo,pani band hojaayga', which is a nuisance.Plus,maayo ki chilli pukaar starts in the morning too.

No,my rant is... however much you spend on pressies and what ever you buy,it's never enough.It's always 'falah ka sweater/handbag/perfume zaada acha hai,'.I'm so fed up I say to Mr CO, just throw everything on the bed and tell them to fight it out amongst themselves.Waise bhi we have a money tree in the garden.Literally all our suitcases are empty after dishing out all the tohfas.
Mind you I do manage to fill them again on the way home :).

Oh yeh the mosquitoes! Eww. Usually for me it is stomach problems always, food poisoning, gastroenteritis etc.

for the first time i cud say i cud relate to nadz feelings but in a v v indirect way. MA m lucky my ILs are not that type to talk bad and stuff. hubs on the other hand is crazy... likes to sleep only 5-6 hrs per nite so he is awake and then ofcourse i feel obliged to wake up to cus i hate that his mom shud make his breakfast. but this time around since i was preg and he knew i will wake up if he dus, he tried to stay on bed for extra hours. dunno if this will happen on our next trip.. i guess not cus i will IA have a baby to wake me up :P hehe but yeah i m kinda sure in my khandaan (dad side) they wudnt like(i assume) if i wake up late and stuff.
honestly if i had my way i wud sleep till atleast 12-1pm but then i cn hear my MIL workin in kitchen and i feel guilty just lyin there sleepin. if i cant help her atleast i can just get up and show my face that i was up.... trust me guys u r better off livin independtly than with ILs. too mch hassle!

It is a chance of nature that you were born or married to Pakistani immigrants abroad and can afford to visit Pakistan.

Just because you are living in a country where you have to respect different (supposedly better) laws and etiquettes doesn't make you a better person.

This is something I spoke with hubby about recently...Pakistanis are different when it comes to vacation. They tend to go visiting rather than vacationing and call it a vacation. We take alot of heat for that because we go on true vacations and dont visit as often as we should. We need to do that. Our lives are crazy busy and we need a break - not relatives comparing and measuring our boys, our parenting skills yadayada. To me, a visit is not a vacation. Its a visit. A vacation is where you "get away from it all".

Go to a NASCAR race!! :)

You really do complain a lot. I must say the man you married is either a saint or got screwed. Do you complain this much to him?

Pakistanis and Westerners differ in their idea of a vacation.

Pakistanis go to meet people whereas Westerners go to relax and enjoy whatever atmosphere they're in.

I've never encountered this attitude. Then again, I'm always up by 7am waiting impatiently for everyone else.

If you think you're on holiday you should stay in a hotel rather than staying with your relatives.

Right on, man. I have to say, when I go to Pakistan, I always sleep in. Like every day. Granted, they are my relatives, and they've seen me as a naked 1 year old baby, and they've had to deal with me being sick and vomiting as a kid, etc, so there is a level of comfortability. They have visited here, and they see that I work like a dog. So when I go there, and rest, they totally understand.

Having said that, IT IS truly annoying to have guests who you need to take for shopping trips who are getting up at 10 or 11 in the morning, and by the time they're ready to go out, its already 1 pm and then you have to deal with the sun and the traffic in Karachi to take them out shopping. It is SUPER ANNOYING.

Likewise, when these relatives of mine come here to the States, and if they get up late, I get annoyed because we're at the mall by 2 pm, and honestly, I don't like to be driving out to the mall when it is so hot and sunny. I'd rather get them there at 10 am when the sun is still not that high in the sky.

So, being a guest has its responsibilities. It is rude to get up late and put everyone behind schedule. If your guests did that to you, and you had to drive them around later in the day and this puts behind your scheduled activities, its annoying.

I personally would tell my family members who visit here, that just tell me if you want to sleep in late, and we'll take out in the evening after we have our lunch and in the meantime, I'll get some of my work done in the morning - just have your kids not bother me so I can work.

shrugs

Just try to be courteous of their time.

Dude, I feel sorry for the woman you're gonna marry. Most women do gripe and complain and it is OK to listen once in a while.