http://www.nespak.com.pk/services/viewPic.asp?sector=3&id=23
I couldnt figure how to post the pic, so would someone kindly click on the link and post it themselves.. Thanks…
Re: Design of New Islamabad Airport...
Here it is:
[thumb=H]Islamabad_airport9800_5496869.JPG[/thumb]
MM
Islamabad's wierd.
Supposed to start next month.. Ccant wait..
Hows Islambad weird?
nice...
i wasnt too happy with the design because it was submitted in 1980 by a hired german team. since then the project was shelved and now they are using the same old design with a few modifications e.g to accomodate a380s they increased the width of the tracks. increased the number of gates but essentially the design is the same.
i want government to give us a justification as to why was the design from 1980s used and why wasnt a modern steel/glass structure designed, something that would uniquely say ISLAMABAD?.
^Didnt know that... Hopefully they will make enough modification to give it a newer look...
But still, anythin is better then the current airport..
the greenry in islamabad is amazing!!!
They need to get this done asap, islamabad has to most disgraceful airport for a capitol city.
Looking nice...
I didn't know that Gamma. Weird!!!
The New Islamabad International Airport is going to be totally different than what the NESPAK image is showing, which is almost 20 years old. I think originally Bechtel was the main contractor who did the initial planning assessment and the image is based on that assessment. Since 1986 the passenger volume at Islamabad has grown threefold and now its handles around 2.2 million passengers annually (2003).
Based on the new plans the airport would be designed to handle 6 - 6.5 million passengers per year and would have at least 8-10 gates. The airport would only have one runway (13,000x150) initially and a plan to include another one in the next 10 years. I am in the process of getting some new images and layouts for the new airport and Inshallah I will post them as soon as they are available.
As per my understanding the new Islamabad Airport is not expecting any A380's in the next ten years or so, but in case of charter or emergency the 13,000'x150' runway can easily handle an A380.
Re: Design of New Islamabad Airport…
Thanks yaar…
Any clue on what the new updated design will include???
And where do you get the new plans anyways? Is there an actual source on the net yet?
This is one of the setbacks in our local planning practices, there is no public review or participation in such projects. So the only source left for information is either through the Contractor/Builder or the CDA.
At this time the plans are not available on the net, but I think few people in CDA do know the details about the project.
very nice architecture...
ISB is my home.. :)
this will finaly be the airport for isloo, but dnt worry its not gona look that bad as the picture does.
the architech who done that makes bad drawings, just look at his renderings for lahore and karachi airport they were a mess but the real airports turned out great and this isloo airport picture is actully looking much better then the lahore and karachi airports so it should turn out to be great.
One of the most disturbing and shock provoking things about coming to Pakistan is the horrible Airport that greets you... Your tired, you come out and its cold, and you have to lug your luggage all the way down that steep stair case and then drag your but onto those annoying jerky buses. The Air is filthy, you literally SEE the pollution everywhere, and it smells really bad. The airport itself smells like a sewer, which is probably the source of the smell. And you have security check outside that make you sick...
Outside, the three sided terminal is hell for anyone who has to wait there for an arriving guest, especially in the winter because flight usually arrive late at night and it gets cold.
So, a new airport is needed if for no other reason then for the sake of human decency for all those poor non resident and locals who have to be reminded from the minute the land that Pak is still "developing." Inshallah this will make all the difference..
^ thats just islamabad airport. lahore and karachi airports are amazing