Why do most desi women not take care of their health? You’ll see many ladies who are overweight and out of shape and do nothing to manage their weight. They don’t eat healthy and by their 40s, start feeling old and tired. They end up with joint issues and gastrointestinal problems and don’t even bother getting physical exams.
I know this generation is better but just one generation before mine has aged so much before their real time.
Why is that?
Is it because they take care of everyone else and don’t consider themselves important?
The reason is genes. Desi men are not fit either. As a nation we are not very healthy. People from Pakistan, India, Bangladesh , Sri Lankan are chubby and over weight and less athletic than Europeans.
Everyone else, I agree with your points, but I have also noticed that after 40, they claim they are getting old now…so what’s the point of taking care
The other thing is that women don’t realize that if they aren’t well and fit, they cannot take care of themselves or anyone else and in fact become a liability as they grow older so all their little little sacrifices become a chunk of big trouble later on.
I've often heard desi women say, "Oh it's okay, I'm not young and I'm already married. You young girls are the one who should be taking care of your looks and figures because of rishtas."
They believe that just because they're married and have managed to get a man....that they don't have to work on their looks anymore. I'm serious, some women feel that way.
And even some men stop going to the gym after getting the girl....because well, they got the girl. So no need to work out to impress anyone.
I'm not saying everyone has this view, but some people do. I personally don't agree with it. Your health is way too precious to let go. And your health is connected to your self-esteem and even various aspects of your marriage. It's essential to take of your physical well being....it correlates to your emotional well-being as well.
Poor eating habits and lack of awareness of women's health issues are BIG factors.
It's not about being skinny or eating less. It's about many factors such as hormones imbalance, osteoprosis, getting exercise into your routine to build muscle.
I personally think that it's important to start taking care of your body in your 30s. It's a lifestyle change that requires a change in thinking.
desi women are just afraid of touching weights (if they go to gym) because they think it'll make them look like men.
their husbands can push them a little and tell them that they're overweight and they need to do something about it. If wife is obedient, she'll listen.
most women dont exercise after marriage because they say that they're not sure when the next baby will be coming, so why bother worrying about the figure when its gonna get out of shape anyway.
I think regardless of how ever much busy a desi woman may be at her house.. taking half an hour or an hour solely for exercising purpose should not be an issue.
Exercising should not mean that once u reach ur desired weight, you stop. Its a lifelong commitment and it requires a lot of dedication regardless of whichever exercise routine you follow.
Most desi women think that after they get married they have be circular. Might be a cultural thing.
Okay I do agree with that completely. In Pakistani Culture...a nice rotund figure is considered a sign that she is "Happily married". I have heard it so many times in converstaions with words like...uski skin itni fresh hai....itni achi sehat hai isi liye....she is very happy at home.The word "healthy" is used for overweight.
I guess culturally the people who had abundant amount of food were the only ones that would be like that.Zamana badal geya hai lekin soch nahi.
Why do most desi women not take care of their health? You'll see many ladies who are overweight and out of shape and do nothing to manage their weight. They don't eat healthy and by their 40s, start feeling old and tired. They end up with joint issues and gastrointestinal problems and don't even bother getting physical exams.
I know this generation is better but just one generation before mine has aged so much before their real time.
Why is that?
Is it because they take care of everyone else and don't consider themselves important?
I guess I agree to that too. Maybe they have given up on themselves by that time. The main focus always has been the kids ...the mian and as the time pass by , so do their expectations of themselves and habits are formed..which are harder to break
Okay I do agree with that completely. In Pakistani Culture...a nice rotund figure is considered a sign that she is "Happily married". I have heard it so many times in converstaions with words like...uski skin itni fresh hai....itni achi sehat hai isi liye....she is very happy at home.*The word "healthy" is used for overweight. *
I guess culturally the people who had abundant amount of food were the only ones that would be like that.Zamana badal geya hai lekin soch nahi.
Bit in bold annoys me soooo much. When I was a younger I was forever being told when I was back home that I was 'underweight' tho in all my years being in the UK not one single non-desi person had ever said that to me. It's like if ur don't have a chubby face and a bit of a tummy they think ur skeletor or something :(
Also, doesn't it seem like every other Auntie and Uncle ends up diabetic and they act like it's normal and still don't change their diet..
ok.. wenever im around/chilling with my desi frinds and wer ordering food or eatin at each others place. i choose to eat the best option for my body n health instead of stuffing my self wid artery clogggin food and i dont eat red meat anyway.... im a veggi girl. love my veggies.... and fruits n eat chikn sumtimes to but wenever im aorund my desi frinds they go like y r u dietin??? omg r u dietin.. n its nt just them its der mothers to.. they go like oh dont tel me ur dieting tooo ocme here and ve some of my greesy food..... its so pissing.... am i at fault if i wanna make the rite choice for my body n health in the long run. i chooose to stay healthy n ve a healthy lifestyle n diet....... but desi women refuse to think of it as a healthy diet.... its so annoying.. i gt alll self conscious eatin around em .......
i think desi women sumtimes just like to feed ppl a bunch of stuff which wil faten em up and keep em all greasy pimpley faced...... desi ppl ve a diff approach to foood.if u dont eat rice or red meats ur on a diet! i think thats one of the causes of desi women bein overweight cuz their thoght by their mothes to eat n eat n eat lots of all sorts of food. n they do the same with their kids to.n not many desi women exercie..... sum say their goin for walks evry mornin n ngiht but its more like a strol around da neighbourhood to catch up on da latest gossip. i just wish all women cared bout their health and made good food choices for their body n health.