Desi style T-bone steak

Need a tried/tested recipe. never made steak in my life :frowning: i like it well done. no kaccha :stuck_out_tongue:
what side order to go with steak as well, plzzzz.

Re: Desi style T-bone steak

lol you sound just like me.. few weeks ago!

dont go desi on steak.. trust me you wont enjoy that.

I made the well done steak couple of weeks ago and it turned out perfect. I can share the recipe if you want.. its not desi style!

^ yes pls share recipe anyway. I’ve never made steak before either but hubby is a big fan so want to make it. I also like it well done no kachha lol. And I don’t imagine a desi style would be nice anyway - I like the stuff they serve in restaurants. Also do you know any recipes for yummy sauces that go with it?

gtg, actually i wanted touch of little desi, hmmm. ok yea plz do share the recipe. :slight_smile:

^^^ just add garam masala to whatever marinade she posts lol

ok I have never eaten a steak at a restaurant so I cant say what it tastes like!

Here is the recipe and method that I used.. husband loved it and so did his American co workers.. they were surprised at how good it was- tender and juicy!

pics are in aaj kiya khaya/pakaya thread!

http://allrecipes.com/recipe/savory-...inated-steaks/ (minus honey and liquid smoke )

Marinade..

1/2 cup balsamic vinegar

1/4 cup soy sauce

3 tablespoons minced garlic

2 tablespoons olive oil

2 teaspoons ground black pepper

1 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce

1 teaspoon onion powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 pinch cayenne pepper

2 (1/2 pound) rib-eye steaks

Directions

• In a medium bowl, mix the vinegar, soy sauce, garlic, honey, olive oil, ground black pepper, Worcestershire sauce, onion powder, salt, and cayenne pepper.

-Place steaks in a shallow glass dish with the marinade, and turn to coat. For optimum flavor, rub the liquid into the meat. Cover, and marinate in the refrigerator for 1 to 2 days.

I had read somewhere that steak should be taken out at least 30 mins in advance from refrigerator to cook it properly so I did.

-this is what I did

Pre heat oven to 450F. Butter the griddle (i have this one Product - Not Available - Macy’s) and put it in oven for 5 mins, took it out and placed the steak on the griddle..sear for 4 mins on each side.. Then I buttered the foil,placed it on baking tray, transferred the seared steak to the foil and put it in oven for 8 mins each side. (I inserted the thermometer after 4 mins and it was 130F but since I wanted it to be well done, I added 4 more mins and it was the perfect 165F in the thickest part of steak)

and then as khatti had suggested I let it sit for 10 mins..

I had two pieces of rib eye steak and I cooked them both separately.. one at a time!

gtg, i have got 4 pieces t bone steak. so i have to buy Worcestershire sauce…hmm i really don’t use it as we mostly eat desi khanany.
balsamic vinegar ..hmm i have regular white vingegar will that work as well ?

end part is so confusing…u cover the steak with foil? end mein 10 min kya kia? u turned off the oven and let it sit in there for 10 min?

Gracias!

nahi yaar.. i want to make it exact recipe :slight_smile:

hmm, never marinated for so long 1 to 2 days …will not go bad?

I have this one BUT heavy based..is for grilling etc..

the challenge with a t bone or ribeye or just the filet mignon is that for best results you need a thick cut. a thick cut when prepped well done dried out, and hen it tastes like peshawari chap pal, question is do you want the taste of the meat or the spices only..

I would recommend using any approach where yo slow cook it to keep it tender without drying off too much, and then finishing it off on high heat for the caramelization on the outside which adds to it.

X2 bhai, i don’t want to eat chapal..lol so want the taste of the meat. hmm slow cook in a oven or stove.

try a sous-vide approach. google it. you can get sous-vide machines that are a few hundred bucks on the low end but if you make steaks often very well worth it, or you can do it the old style..here is a link. This approach will give you the best balance of level of doneness and flavor and without costing you a whole lot. I would suggest try a few approaches side by side and see results.

You can double the recipe if you like!

Worcestershire sauce is kind of essential.. it’s only $2-3 and has a good shelf/refrigerator life.. you may use it again!

nopse balsamic vinegar is different than white vinegar.. very different… it usually has wine vinegar in it but trader joe’s balsamic vinegar is okay.

nopse I didnt cover the steak with foil.. I pu the foil on cookie baking tray and applied butter on it.. then I transferred the seared steak on to that foil and put it in oven.. hope this helps.

Once it reached the temp of 165F (I used thermometer for that) then I took it out of the oven and let it sit outside for 10 mins to make it juicy!

I marinated it overnight and cooked it in the evening.. and meat wont go bad in 1-2 days but you can do only 12-24 hours, if you prefer!

yep any heavy based pan is fine.. I had that and I used it but I think they recommend cast iron skillet.. there is another steak thread in this forum.. it has lots of information in it.

^thank u so much :hug:

ok, this is the cast iron skillet i have..its very heavy :stuck_out_tongue: so i can use this for steak…

Desi style T-bone steak

Balsamic vinegar is completely different from white vinegar..you won’t get the same taste/effect at all

yep same that should work! let us know how it goes!

acha, i couldn’t find balsamic vinegar and above mentioned sauce in walmart. they are halal na.

Balsamic vinegar from trader joes is.. You can do more research on myhalalkitchen.com. Worcestershire doesn’t have any questionable ingredients, as far as I know, and is readily available at any super market.

Okey, thanks :slight_smile:

I am so hesistate to try this steak :frowning: but i will this coming long weekend :slight_smile: i don’t think we have trader joes here