So now you can get Shan Masala at Zellers and buy Shalwar Suits at Walmart.
Call it what you may - but niche marketing by retailers makes business sense.
Re: Desi Products... Everywhere!!
Wow, shalwar kameez at walmart.. now thats pushing the envelope.
I was a bit surprised when a few years ago i saw isna certified halal meat products at No Frills etc.
LOL wow :P
shalwar suits at walmart?
post some pics mon
whts the big deal?
If Obama becomes Prez....................Shalwar Kameez and all other African Garb will become popular...........actually The African Muslims and even European converts to Islam are always looking for Shalwar Kameez because seems it is scarce!
TESCO, ASDA and Sainsbury's have been selling lots of desi stuff in the UK since 2000.
In the UK they've had McTandoori Chicken for almost a decade, so no biggie.
Bhai, UK is coconut, half brown half white now. Very close market and big Asian population. It has become Amritsar of Europe. There is no comparission. Nothing surprise us what happens in UK anymore.
However in North America its totally different. Its corporate America, which hardly recognized a huge black population and its taste a quarter century ago. So it is a biggie here and let them celebrate.
i understand what you're saying. I was actually replying to what Mostar95 had said.
before we jump on in US its corporate america and in UK its farishtay, the large retailers will offer things only if there is a certain level of demand for them, shelf space is expensive and retail is a two way street..retailers must be willing to carry the items, and manufacturers must be willing to invest to have their products at retailers. why do u think some products have more facings at a grocery store than others? because mfr has paid for facings, placement etc etc.
demographics in UK are very diff than in US when it comes to asian population concentration. retail in US is not the same as whaty it was a half century ago the tracking of demographiocs and customzed product offerings at stores is a science.
and if numbers dont make sense, then numbers dont make sense. what good would it be to have shan masala packets in some grocery store in hiawataha, Kansas when there are 2 desis in the entire town?
Re: Desi Products… Everywhere!!
you’ll care if u happen to be 1 of the 2 desis ![]()
Desi Niswar kab milney sheroo ho gee walmart main ? I know they sell skool snuff laikin suba a sarhad key niswar key baat hee kuch aur hay.
before we jump on in US its corporate america and in UK its farishtay, the large retailers will offer things only if there is a certain level of demand for them, shelf space is expensive and retail is a two way street..retailers must be willing to carry the items, and manufacturers must be willing to invest to have their products at retailers. why do u think some products have more facings at a grocery store than others? because mfr has paid for facings, placement etc etc.
demographics in UK are very diff than in US when it comes to asian population concentration. retail in US is not the same as whaty it was a half century ago the tracking of demographiocs and customzed product offerings at stores is a science.
and if numbers dont make sense, then numbers dont make sense. what good would it be to have shan masala packets in some grocery store in hiawataha, Kansas when there are 2 desis in the entire town?
dont forget Walmart's presence in india too. atleast Walmart do see and acknowledges potential in/of south asian market.
jab koe pathan usay takeover ker lay ga tab ![]()
and that prolly be promoted by some indian.
not to mention we get a special flyer inside Canadian Super Store flyer....it is one page which has all muslim and indian items like masala, ras malai, new zealand halal meat
o ya…i saw that
10 ras malaieez for $10+tax ![]()
dont forget Walmart's presence in india too. atleast Walmart do see and acknowledges potential in/of south asian market.
Thats an entirely different topic.its not south asian market we are talking about but the lack of minority ethnic products on retailer shelf in any country. If it is not a critical mass in a particular area, you will not see it.