Desi Mindset on Shotgun Weddings

Re: Desi Mindset on Shotgun Weddings

I don't know about weddings but yeah pre-marital sex is quite common in Pakistan. You don't hear about it but every guy has friends who are involved in such acts. I have also heard about abortions being arranged and doctors charge quite for high for such discreet services. It is sad and disturbing at the same time to see the level our society has stooped down to.

While I think premarital sex is common, I still believe a baby born out of wedlock isn't.

and how many think that pre-marital sex "just happens" as one thing leads to another.....as compared to those that are prepared for and have some level of expectation that it will happen in their relationship?

Omg, Nomi, let it go please. Bilaa wahay ki bahays shuroo nahi karro. I already said I didn't mean to call you out on anything or sound defensive.

Ab bas. Okies? Thanks.

Premarital sex is very common, but i think both girls and especially boys do it "responsibly", at least back home. Boys also aware of the social, financial and even life threatening consequences of impregnating a girl. And if it happens (I suspected 2 cases in my social circle) then chutt mangni putt biyah also happens.

are kids really that stupid?

you'd be surprised....some of them are not kids at all....

could you elaborate on what demographic are you talking about?? like, is it young adults, or mature adults, educated or uneducated etc etc??

I have heard about honor killings for just having a boyfriend but no shotgun weddings.

NomiCa -- my question was not based on the demographic.....it was originally to understand the mind-set of the people.....I guess the discussion has expanded as usual.

let's say we're talking about the educated, adult, desi population.....

Shotgun weddings are not that rare anymore...

and this is why I am asking the question to find out if the mind-set has changed....I'm finding them more and more common.

I wonder if it has something to do with families beginning to accept that their children have to "date" before they make up their minds about a life partner whereas in the past it was more of an arranged thing.

Why don't I have such friends? And obviously they charge a fortune, their ass is on the line cause abortion is illegal. Legalize abortion in Pakistan and we'd have a lot less deaths due to abortions being done in unhygienic conditions by people who aren't even doctors.

munza aap space station meen rehti heen ?

aap ko ab pata chala hai?

aab yaqeen ho chala hai

Is that because of growing up in middle east ?

Yeh it’s not uncommon at all. As far as the desi mind set… for the most part, i think people dont want to accept it, because of religion not allowing pre-marital sex. sadly, just because religion doesnt allow something usually doesnt stop people from doing something. But to cover up for mistakes made, and to hide the consequences, shot gun weddings are “arranged.”

So they just do it to save face. :bummer:

chalo kissi baat ka tau yaqeen hua aap ko....

is this directed to me?
if yes.....then no.

I only know one example where this happened, one of our old family friend's daughters got knocked up by their student lodger and they got married off very, very quickly. The guy ran away a few months later and was never heard of again, the young girl was left to bring up their child and basically hid away from society for the next 15 years.

I feel sorry for anyone this happens to, I wouldn't judge them cos they have enough. Personally, I'd advise them to do what they think is best for them to cope with, and would never encourage a marriage just for the sake of the baby being 'legitimate'

Just too many problems there.