Desi larkian need to...

Re: Desi larkian need to…

see sweetie now u r cornered into qualifying yr statements…its all in yr head what u r writing…nothing in what u say is actual statistical data…

the maasis opinion on education does NOT matter…it is again a ‘piece of thinking’…and i dont think u have really talked to any of the maasiis like normally…the way u talk, koi bhi maasi toa bas haan hi mai hilana shuru ho jai…

bhaee, this is the most pathetic arguemnt u can get from anyone “if it helps even a small percentage”…typical way of creating correlations without having any data…

just say “it helps, in a small way”…Lol…

Re: Desi larkian need to...

By the way, ghulail. I shared my personal experience, not as proof to what I'm trying to say. Sarahsplendor was insisting on taking one case example and using that as her proof. That's what I did.

Its an argument by example, which are never good enough to begin with. But she wanted to argue by example, and therefore, I gave her a counterexample.

no, it helps in a BIG way.

You're taking care of a great deal of abuses in that way. And the abuse of one human life is a BIG DEAL. So, no, the effects are not small in anyway.

Now, I'm going to leave ghulail-bashing to other women. Ghulail, I think you're arguing just to try to argue and prove me wrong. And as of yet, you yourself have not made a good enough argument for your own statements. I'd like for you to talk about why you think education is not an answer. I'd like for you to tell me why you think it WOULD NOT help in a majority of abuse cases.

In the majority of abuse cases with pakistanis, if its not lack of education that is hindering a woman from dealing with the situation, then what is?

Are they all just spineless? Are women naturally cowards? Is this what you're trying to say?

I see you are disagreeing with me, but you'renot saying much to argue your case. In fact, I dont have a clear conception as to where you stand.

So argue because you believe in something. Not because of the petty desire to defeat an arguement of the sake of defeating an argument.

Okay, sorry for taking attention from what Sadiyah was talking about (I didn't read what she said), but I'm curious about what is being done about men's attitudes toward women. In highschool, we used to have this class called CALM, I have no idea what the letters stand for, but they taught us sex ed, doing drugs safely, making a resume etc. There was stuff about what women should do when they are alone, such as hold their key in such a way that in a physical confrontation, they could use the pointed end to hurt the person. We were given numbers. In university, we were given whistles. But there was NEVER any attention paid to the men. Nothing was ever said to them. Even in Women's studies classes, all the attention was on how women had been wronged. So even the men were at fault, they were never explicitly talked about. Sad. I think that gives men license to do whatever the heck they want.

And oh, I think you are making a mistake, beating up a woman and respecting women's rights are not mututally exlusive. There are men who are very respectful to other women but beat up their wives and girlfriends. Maybe they are just a convenient outlet for their anger, doesn't necessarily and always mean that they don't respect women.

I disagree with you. If a man beats up his wife, or his girlfriend, then he is NOT respectful towards women. He may act sweet to other women, but he probably did the same to his wife/gf before he started abusing them. The sweetness could be a ploy. The sweetness could be fake. If it was genuine, then that respect would be maintained in thier relationship with their wives/gf's.

Man, sarahsplendor, you've gone from one extreme to another. Somewhere in it, you lost a great deal of common sense.

bye piyari....:)

wasai pcg, how do u explain…the “small percentage” of women getting affected in a “BIG way”…:rotfl:

re-read my statement above - I edited it.

easy ghulail. One of the biggest lessons I've learned from the Quran is that destroying one life is like destroying all of mankind.

I apply that to domestic abuse situations.

So argue because you believe in something. Not because of the petty desire to defeat >>an arguement of the sake of defeating an argument.

thats a nice pre-req u have created...i dont rem hearing it in any manual of debate rules...there is a pro aside sweet and there is an opposition side which just refutes...whats this bull abt "beleive in something" and "petty desire".....hahaha...nice one cutie.

Cutie my ass.

Here you go. Here are some stats. Argue this, baby. :) There is more to come.

**Domestic violence against women--perspective from Pakistan.

Shaikh MA.

OBJECTIVE: Domestic violence is an important public health concern. This study assessed the prevalence and type of domestic violence perpetrated by men on their wives. SETTING: The study was conducted in a public sector hospital among men accompanying patients. METHODS: A cross-sectional survey based on a sample of convenience was conducted by the author, using a pre-tested questionnaire with mostly close-ended questions. RESULTS: All the respondents admitted to ever shouting or yelling at their wives, including while she was pregnant. Twenty-three (32.8%) respondents admitted to ever having slapped their wives and 54 (77.1%) admitted to ever engaging in a non-consensual sex with their wives. CONCLUSION: Population based studies are required to assess the type, frequency, risk factors and sequel of wife abuse, so as to establish practice guidelines.

PMID: 11043022 [PubMed - indexed for MEDLINE] **

chalo sahih hai…nice way to close the discussion off sweet…wasai the whole reason we have an issue of domestic abuse is that it is separate from murders…so that destryoing the whole of mankind , thats kinda a flowery argument…:flower1:

cutie, cutie, cutie..... so thats yr statistical report exploring the "effect" of lack of education on the situation of domestic abuse in a country.....ever heard the word comparative.....:p...haha...aisa karo jao, u r getting cuter by the moment

*wasai the whole reason we have an issue of domestic abuse is that it is separate from murders...so that destryoing the whole of mankind *

Please re-write that statement with proper grammer, so that I can understand what you're saying.

And again, you're not addressing my post in which I'm asking you to argue from your point. Oh wait, I guess you dont have one...

Cute. Very cute. kisses

sticks middle finger up in air

a study from hong kong:

Hello and Welcome to Focus Asia from our studios in Hong Kong. I'm Susan Yu. Domestic violence is one of the most widespread forms of abuse against women in the world. In Pakistan, the NGO Human Rights Watch estimates a staggering 90 percent of women are affected by domestic abuse. On average eight rapes are reported every day. Some of the most horrifying incidents though are disguised as kitchen accidents. Joe Kainz has the story, but a word of warning - you may find some of the images in this report disturbing.

all right…what i meant was that domestic abuse generally doesnt kill the person…the ayat u r quoting on the other hand, is abt killing not just abusing…there is a helluva difference…:flower1:

Could you stop it with the mocking flowers and smilies, etc? Its quite immature.

No there is not a helluva difference. Investigate domestic abuse and rape in Pakistan and you'll find that death often accompanies it.

Stove burnings and honor killings are a few examples that come to mind.

hai Allah ab jaan ki middle finger uth gai…babes getting more cute than i even imagined…another pretty report u got there, i again ask one word from u…do u know what comparative means?..r u sure u had 'ny’education…hahahaha.:rotfl: