Maybe LUC can lend me one of his Bollywood films while I’m in seclusion.
I remember when I thought of cutting my hair once a few years ago, my dad almost threw a fit. He said I am never to cut my hair, but I did it anyway just last year.
Pakistani guys almost always tell me they want their wives to have long hair.
Mehnaz.. short her would look soo cute on u espcially with a side way fringe sorta thing, aah yes that'd look so cute!!
haha laff all u want.. i used to be sent to school in a straw hat.. shukar hai that was in paki and i didnt have much care in the world.. all i remember is a itchy head :( but i looked cute when it grew cus it used to be so blondish haha
What do you mean by short? Some, but very few, of the girls/women I know have the very traditional long, long hair in choti. Most girls I know have their hair at their shoulders, or like halfway down the back. Very few have the sort of "boy" cut -- altho the ones I do know live in Pakistan.
LUC: What does it mean to have a "man's hair cut"? Male and female styles differ from culture to culture. How can you use one culture's traditional characterization of "male" to apply to all? Just because it seems male to you doesn't mean it is male to everyone. As for the Islamic rulings on cutting hair, please provide support before making such claims.
tsk Mehnaz why do you need Bollywood films, when you have me! I can dance and sing for you!
yeah, i’ve heard this too. in fact, i’ve been told my hair is too bold and intimidating.
(when it was shorter and all red)
so now i’m in the mindset … should i grow my hair cause guys like it? but then I think to myself, what the hell … a guy should like me for me … not the length of my hair.
well you do have long flowing hair down to your waist …
…
Actually I like short and red hair, I have a new aunti from Pakistan with this style and it looks cute.
I think you look great with the length it is now. Mash’Allah. You shouldnt grow it just for a guy.
I have come to realize that I prefer long hair on me, but if my future hubby told me that he’d like to see me in short hair, I would consider what he said. Doesnt mean I would go ahead with it, but I would consider it. I would hope that the spouse wants you to do what you feel most comfortable doing.
nah i'm not ... that's why i'll be cutting it shorter soon. :p
You’ll have to be patient Mehnaz I’ll be available after the F.R.I.E.N.D.S episode tonight.![]()
Warning: Mehnaz if you cut it any shorter than it is already, absolutely no entertainment while in seclusion!
I dunno lol Again I have to say whatever you like do it and don't care what anyone else thinks.
The only unattactive short hair style I've seen esp on desi women is that typical desi auntie cut ... You know.. that kinda 80's layered look..
I dunno maybe it's cause those short haired aunties tend to give me the meanest looks when they see my hair lol
Originally posted by saimanyc: *
**It's like a simple 'saadi' girl will have long hair and be submissive. But a girl who wants to claim her independence will go against the grain by cutting hair.*
i beg to differ
because i am very independent and have very long hair.
i don't think hair has anything to do with it, in our culture or in general. there are several women that are very independent and strong, but have long hair. i think it just depends on preference.
i had hair down to my tail bone and cut most of it off because i wanted a change in life, but soon afterwards i realized how much i missed my hair and have begun to grow my hair again.
i've had from long to short to the above ear short hai. now adays its till shoulders n i just got em done like 3 months ago! they grow so fast. am looking into bangs now :D my parents prefer long hair though.. lekin they dont say much.
zideeeeeeeeeeeee!!!
i think ur absolutely lovely.. ur so cute and independant and ur such a strong woman.. i love that bout u! ![]()
hey chica!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
how have you been?
sorry i've been away...work has really kept me BUSY.
now i'm finally getting to that point where i have time to breathe again!
phew!!!
btw, still no luch with a dress :(
thats okay, i think i'll just wear something i already have
oh and my parents came to visit me :))
i was sooooooooooooooooooooooo happy,
except they didn't really see me much because of work.
they got bored and left :(
now i'm planning a driving trip to them, next week InshAllah
awww babe its ok.. i knew u’d be busy… i thought ur graduation was in april.. i must have gotten the month wrong! woops..
oh no so what u gonna wear now? still gonna do the desi thing? that’ll look soo good honestly..
i havent been doing anything at all.. my life is still stuck in the same place
lekin khair.. i dont mind hehe
no silly,
graduation is in June, on a boat on lake michigan!
i'm not sure what i'm going to wear...its always a major dilemma for me.
my mom wanted to buy me a dress as graduation present, but i didn't like anything at all, we went shopping twice.
I had super short hair right upto I was 15 (thanks to Mom - she likes short hair!) but then I decided I wanted long locks. Short hair has nothing to do with independance. I'm fairly independant and I love my crazy, long hair.
I used to b like Mehnaz till i wasnt married ... i mean i had these super short hair n would chop them off even if they grow an inch... any way.. they r long now.. sumwhere around my waist n they r okay i suppose.. i still like them short .. but my mood change is so crazy.. i prefer them that way abhee... :-)